We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and beautiful”
Review of Aurus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aurus
Ranked #134 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2011

I read some of the previous reviews of this hotel before booking it, and I have to say they were fair and accurate. The hotel is small, beautiful, clean and very well-positioned, being only minutes from Charles Bridge and the Old Town Square. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, the room (a superior double) was very clean, warm and comfortable. Down sides? No bar or room service (no big deal in such a small hotel and with bars/restaurants everywhere); restaurant was unfortunately closed whilst we were there (a burst water pipe the week before had caused serious damage); breakfast a little limited. But overall, excellent expereince, and would certainly consider going back and recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanandBex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2011

This hotel couldn't be better situated - 5 mins from Charles Bridge and the Old Town Square. Friendly reception who went to the trouble each evening to bring us ice up to our room for our nightcap of rum and coke!! Spacious room well fitted out and lovely modern bathroom. Breakfast was delicious with hot and cold buffet. Unfortunately when we went in October the restaurant was being refurbished so we could not sample their delights. A tip for travellers - I booked this hotel nearly 12 months in advance and one of my criteria was a hotel with a restaurant so was quite disappointed to find it closed. I presume it is now open again but in future I won't book a hotel so far in advance.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieQBury_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

First off, don't confuse this Golden Well with the other, 5 star Golden Well Hotel near the Castle. However, this Golden Well has a lot of charm to it as well. The location is fantastic, the rooms are clean, the building is old and historic (some winding stairwases), and the staff friendly. It's a lovely little place with a good price for such a nice location.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buppiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Reading other reviews theres not much else to say. The service was excellent, the induction chat when we arrived was just right and the room was great. The views and location are perfect although people with mobility issues may find it a bit of a chew. The evening meal was pricey, but you get what you pay for, the food was excellent and the atmosphere very relaxed - no batchelor parties here thankfully

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hattieboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Very few exceptional quality places like this hotel exist. The Masindova family run hotel makes each guest feel so special that just to stay there one would go back to Prague. One of the most picturesque location and everything close by.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intl_coordination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

This is a great hotel- and a wonderful value in an expensive city. We were a little worried about the location given what we had read beforehand, but it was perfect. Close enough to the Charles Bridge and the tourist areas, but in a beautiful neighborhood with very easy access to the Palace- which was a real bonus. The rooms were beautiful, and it had the easiest access (free) to wireless of any place we travelled in Germany, Italy, Austria and the CR. The view of the city was magnificent and the restaurant is great. Definitely the best place to stay in Prague!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathyjeangreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

I stayed in Hotel U Zlate Studny during the heat wave of early July 2010. The service was exceptional, and it almost made the heat more bearable: we arrived on a very early flight, so we were at the hotel at 7AM. Not only they let us check in so early, but also offered us breakfast on that day, which should not have been included. We appreciated it very much, and it was delicious. The rooms are huge. Actually huge is an understatement - these are really apartments, furnished with antiques, with medieval painted ceilings and best location in Prague. The double glazed windows do a good job of blocking the street noise. Petra at the front desk did everything to make us feel welcome, and the rest of the staff was amazing, as well. We already booked the hotel for next summer and I look forward to staying at the Golden Well again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SightsAndSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#80 of 648 in Prague
347 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#36 of 648 in Prague
2,514 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Charles Bridge Palace
Charles Bridge Palace
#216 of 648 in Prague
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#58 of 648 in Prague
2,410 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Old Town Square
Old Town Square
#142 of 648 in Prague
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurus

Address: Karlova 175/3 | Main entrance from Seminarska 2, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly U Zlate Studny)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Prague
#83 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#116 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £93 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurus 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel "Aurus" (former U Zlate studny), which is one of the most magnificent and protected monuments whose origins date back to the 16th century, is situated in the very heart of Prague in the Old Town district. The hotel is situated on the Kings Road connecting three historic jewels - the Old Town Square, Charles Bridge and the Prague Castle. This four-star hotel offers guests four double-bed rooms and four spacious apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Aurus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Zlate Studny (At The Golden Well) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing