We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Prague Place to Stay”
Review of Aurus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aurus
Ranked #137 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Prague Place to Stay”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Thank you so very much for the wonderful experience that you provided us. Your hospitality and service are absolutely world class! You, your sister and staff have made a lasting impression upon my family!

Our dinner reservations were delicious with a great view and atmosphere.

I can not thank you enough for arranging the pastry and champagne for my parents...it was absolutely delicious and we look forward to enjoying even more of it today.

Your thoughtfulness in preparing our 'to go' bags with breakfast foods was, as we say, 'the icing on top'. You all really went above and beyond in our opinion.

And lastly, not only were we in a perfect location, your hotel was absolutely perfect from comfort to being clean.

We look forward to a return visit in the future!

Room Tip: All rooms are provide the perfect accomodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    75
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
124
147
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This charming little hotel has all the amenities of a B&B and a satisfying and varied breakfast buffet. It is located with blocks of the Charles Bridge and the Old Town Square. The rooms are very homey and comfortable though the a/c was just adequate on the warmer more humid days of August. The staff are lovely and helpful. Despite the a/c, I would recommend this hotel as reasonable, clean, safe, and friendly.

Room Tip: I was in room H on the third floor (fourth for the US) which had less direct view form the adjacent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed in Hotel U Zlate Studny for 5 nights in July and can recommend this hotel for its excellent location between Charles Bridge and the Old Town, its old world charm, the spacious rooms and the competitive pricing. Breakfast was reasonable including eggs made to order. We stayed in Room F which was big and well appointed but found that the noise from the street was intrusive late at night (even with the windows closed). To be fair, the management did offer us rooms on the quiet side of the hotel when we booked. If you are a light sleeper, ask for rooms away from the bustling street. The staff were attentive, pleasant and very helpful from the time we contacted them by email to make our bookings right through to the time we left.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Small but perfectly formed family run hotel.
There are just six rooms (all suites) and everything is within easy walking distance.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the breakfasts were great too.
Not a slick an experience as you would get with one of the bigger chains but if you are looking for a great hotel with history and character, I would highly recommend this. A memorable stay and excellent value for money. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: They are all great and have fantastic views of the royal route
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artdecolou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishers, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This 16th century building is so beautiful, we watched as tour groups stopped and took pictures of it (and had fun, posing in the window...) We stayed in a suite on the 3rd floor (2nd floor by european expression). Everything about the room was stunning, from the view to the tub, and especially the original, 16th century hand painted ceiling. They had a romantic package I surprised my wife with for four nights. The staff was great, the breakfast outstanding. May be the best value in Prague. There couldn't have been a better location. Right between Old Town and Charles Bridge, in the middle of it all, but still quiet and calm. I don't think I would ever stay anywhere else in the city.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Accommodation is an important part of the trip and this hotel is excellent. It's not only the location and rooms, but the personal and feeling - they made us feel comfortable and taken care of.

Rooms are clean and breakfast excellent and service outstanding.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Turist178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stumbled on this hotel on the internet and have no regrets whatsoever. It is very quaint. The location is perfect and centrally located within walking distance of all all the main sights. The room (suite A, on the top floor) was immaculate. The staff are welcoming and friendly and our thanks go to Martina for all her assistance including arranging taxi pick-up and drop-off at the airport which is 650Kr. each way. The room rates are slightly higher than some of the others available....but worth every penny !
It is located in a busy part of the old town and can be lively during the day and into the night. With the room windows closed, there isn't any problem with getting a good nights sleep.
If ever in Prague we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Take some ear plugs if you're a very light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Clementin Old Town
Clementin Old Town
#117 of 649 in Prague
350 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#104 of 649 in Prague
608 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
#200 of 649 in Prague
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#79 of 649 in Prague
1,507 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Liliova Prague Old Town
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#127 of 649 in Prague
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurus

Property: Aurus
Address: Karlova 175/3 | Main entrance from Seminarska 2, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly U Zlate Studny)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Prague
#84 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#119 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurus 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel "Aurus" (former U Zlate studny), which is one of the most magnificent and protected monuments whose origins date back to the 16th century, is situated in the very heart of Prague in the Old Town district. The hotel is situated on the Kings Road connecting three historic jewels - the Old Town Square, Charles Bridge and the Prague Castle. This four-star hotel offers guests four double-bed rooms and four spacious apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Aurus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Zlate Studny (At The Golden Well) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing