We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning hotel and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aurus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aurus
Ranked #134 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

I stayed here with my Mum for a 21st birthday trip and was very pleased that the hotel lives up to its great reviews! The staff are all very friendly, young and helpful! The hotels decor is very traditional and ornate. We had asked for a room with 2 single beds and although that's what we had, they were pushed together and joined by a bedsheet! This caused no problem however as they were very generously sized single beds. The breakfast is good with lots of variation and the opportunity to order hot cooked items if you so desire. The only complaint I have is that the en suite in our room had no window and a strong, European drains smell when we returned from a day out! This was not a problem if we kept the bathroom door closed and the extractor fan on however. Our room was cleaned immaculately everyday and our pajamas were laid out on the bed in an ornate way! You cannot fault the location of this hotel, even if it cant be a little noisy at night, as its within close walking distance to all the major sights and very easy to locate and find when returning in the dark along the cobbled streets! Overall would definitely recommend this hotel, especially if you want a small, traditional place to rest your head!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    72
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
119
145
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Excellent location in Old Town. Charming old historic building. Convenient to the Charles Bridge, Astronomical clock, Rathaus, Prague Castle and shopping. The staff were friendly, knowledgeable, the rooms were clean, large and comfortable and included a full service breakfast. A winner.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobnflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

What a great find for us, in the middle of all the action. They took care of every need during our 3 nights and we look forward to staying there again. We walked everywhere we wanted to go, the Hard Rock was just around the corner, but great "hole in the wall" restaurants all around us. The restaurant in the hotel is a bit pricey, but was also a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S1bamafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

My wife and I stayed between Christmas and New Years. The staff was great, breakfast was just right, and the location was perfect. The ONLY thing I could maybe complain about was the street noise. the bar crowd got loud one night around 0200. It only lasted a few minutes thoiugh.

All in all I would highly recommend the Aurus and would stay there again if we go back to Prague.

Room Tip: If you get room G, take the lift to the third floor, not the second.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigdoggh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 night. The suites are very large, with a wonderful bathtub! The staff is very helpfull and friendly!
Breakfast is perfect, a great way to start the day. Located near Old town and Chales bridge, we went everywere on foot!
We would certainly stay here again!

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank straffevrouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock Staffs.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

If you like calm and tranquility with personal service this is the place to go. 8 rooms in total (no international chain crap it is family run). The hotel offers bed and breakfast facilities, but who needs any more in Prague. Rooms are very well appointed, staff are very friendly and always keen to be of assistance. They organised transfers to and from the airport at basically the same cost as all other providers. We arrived at 11am and departed at 6pm, they accepted our baggage on arrival (check in was 1pm and kept our baggage after check out (12pm) until our departure. Location is ideal mid-way between the Old Town Square and Charles Bridge and about 10 min. walk to Wenceslas Square (OK if you want to shop at M & S, Debenhams and H&M). As it is on the main pedestrian route between the Square and the Bridge there is the potential for passing noise. We were there Mid. Dec. and after 7pm all was quiet, to be honest when Prague is in full swing I think it would be difficult to find total peace. There are plenty of good restaurants within walking distance where you can eat anything from fast food to fine dining. All in all an excellent experience and If I return to Prague the hotel would be top of the list, I would have no reservations about recommending 'The Aurus' to friends and associates.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocky04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Clementin Old Town
Clementin Old Town
#102 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#87 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#99 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
#176 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#129 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#82 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurus

Property: Aurus
Address: Karlova 175/3 | Main entrance from Seminarska 2, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly U Zlate Studny)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Prague
#84 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#115 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurus 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel "Aurus" (former U Zlate studny), which is one of the most magnificent and protected monuments whose origins date back to the 16th century, is situated in the very heart of Prague in the Old Town district. The hotel is situated on the Kings Road connecting three historic jewels - the Old Town Square, Charles Bridge and the Prague Castle. This four-star hotel offers guests four double-bed rooms and four spacious apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Aurus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Zlate Studny (At The Golden Well) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing