We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location.. friendly staff”
Review of Aurus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aurus
Ranked #132 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great location.. friendly staff”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The hotel has a friendly staff and all Engilish speaking. The breakfast is a full european breakfast included in the price of the stay, The rooms have great charm and a lot of space. would come back and stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    73
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
121
147
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Location is perfect between Old Town Square and Charles Bridge....
very clean large rooms staff very friendly and helpful .... One small downside there are no Tea Coffee making facilities in your room !!!! Breakfast was very nice and fresh cooked eggs ,bacon ,sausages . All round very good

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

If you are looking for a hotel in Prague that is very reasonably priced, strategically located, well appointed from the sleeping accommodations, bathroom to the breakfast room and hotel lobby, and has the absolutely friendliest and most professional staff, then Aurus Hotel is for you. Oh, and a very satisfying breakfast table... lots of fresh food, and menu of hot eggs/bacon/sausage.. great coffee! My wife and I totally enjoyed our stay and will definitely return again and again.

Room Tip: Room G was quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigandSusanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The location could not have been more perfect, close to everything! Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. Lots of space in our room, family suite, and very clean. Large bathroom with standup shower and plenty of hot water. Excellent breakfast, even had eggs to order with bacon. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Had a family room, was perfect. Huge bedroom, comfy pull out sofa bed and fold down twin bed wonderf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Therosstwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
187 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Recently I visited Prague with my two adult children and stayed at the Hotel Aurus. We booked a family room that was more like a suite with wonderful, comfortable beds. We were on the third floor in Room A that consisted of two sleeping areas; the main bedroom had a huge bed that actually seemed as big as a king size bed. There was a nice size wardrobe cabinet, desk, and flat screen TV that rested on top of a large cabinet that also had storage. The 3 piece bathroom contained a stand-up shower and double sinks. The other sleeping area had a double sofa bed and a separate single bed that could be set up. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. The location was just what we were looking for when making our booking; it was in the center of Old Town and very close to the Charles Bridge. The location allowed us to visit all the major attractions in Prague on foot from the Prague Castle to Petrin Hill we found Prague to be a very walkable city. The breakfast was a perfect way to start the day and had an ample selection of cereals, fresh fruit, breads, sliced meat, and even made to order eggs, omeletes, and sausage. We cannot rave enough about the service that we received during our stay. The staff was very friendly, helpful, and accomodating. We had problems with our airline reservations and the front desk made several phone calls for me to help with our travel difficulties. We plan on returning to Prague and staying at the Hotel Aurus during our visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teachgz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel with a friend for 2 nights. The location really couldn't be better. If you are after something clean, comfortable and right 'in the heart of things', then stay at Hotel Aurus.

It's only 200m from the Charles Bridge and 3 minutes walk to the main square with the Astronomical clock. There are beautiful restaurants within a short walking distance (although I strongly recommend asking the hotel for suggestions. We ate at amazing place that was much cheaper than the restaurants off the town square).

The hotel is quirky, the stairs wind up the centre of the hotel so I felt like I was staying in a tree house! I say this in a good way, there is something about beautiful old hotels with character and history that make Prague seem even more magical. The rooms were quiet (mine was facing the street at it was fine). The bathrooms are clean and a good size, always plenty of hot water.

Breakfast was very good, lots of breads, fruit salad, cheese, eggs as you like them and made to order. Coffee was from a real coffee machine and very good quality.

If you are coming from the train station, I would recommend the hotel transfer. It cost about $20AUD (350 CZK) which was worth it for piece of mind. The driver meets you on the platform and it is about a 10 minute drive. My driver was very nice and pointed out a lot of buildings on the way to the hotel! Like a mini tour guide.

This really is an exceptional place to stay. I will definitely return here one day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hkj00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

A friend and I recently stayed at the Aurus and would certainly stay there again. The hotel is centrally located which is wonderful, but is on a busy street with the accompanying noise. Our suite (room B) was fairly high up, so the noise was not a major problem once the windows were closed.
The hotel staff were all friendly and helpful, and each day the receptionist patiently marked out routes on our map to our various destinations. We enjoyed some great meals at restaurants they suggested.
We could easily walk everywhere! We were minutes from the Charles Bridge and Old Town Square, and Wenceslas Square was also within easy walking distance. Being so central there were any number of eateries within easy access of the hotel.
The hotel is old and charming with a lovely staircase winding up through the centre. However there is also an elevator for which we were grateful. Despite the charm of our suite, we were glad to see a modern roomy bathroom. I did miss having a stand-up shower, but enjoyed a couple of soaks in the huge tub. The included breakfasts were excellent. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyretiree095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Clementin Old Town
Clementin Old Town
#104 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#81 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#110 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
#184 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#127 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#101 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurus

Property: Aurus
Address: Karlova 175/3 | Main entrance from Seminarska 2, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly U Zlate Studny)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Prague
#84 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#115 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurus 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel "Aurus" (former U Zlate studny), which is one of the most magnificent and protected monuments whose origins date back to the 16th century, is situated in the very heart of Prague in the Old Town district. The hotel is situated on the Kings Road connecting three historic jewels - the Old Town Square, Charles Bridge and the Prague Castle. This four-star hotel offers guests four double-bed rooms and four spacious apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and HRS so you can book your Aurus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Zlate Studny (At The Golden Well) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing