We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Uzlate Studny was a beautiful located...”
Review of Aurus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aurus
Ranked #131 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, California, USA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The Uzlate Studny was a beautiful located...”
Reviewed 17 February 2010

The Uzlate Studny was a beautiful located between the Old Towne Prague and the Charles Bridge. The breakfast exceded our expectations, and the room was very clean and charming. The service was helpful and friendly. They helped to arrange transportation to the hotel from the train station and the airport. I will highly reccomend this hotel to any of my friends traveling to Prague.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAJFJ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    73
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
121
147
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2010

The room was fine and fairly comfortable. However our room kept getting a horrible 'cabbage' smell as if cooking odours or similar were finding there way into our room. It was awful and hit us everytime we returned to the room! However, on saying that the breakfast was fair and the staff overall were friendly. The key feature has to be the location and the quaint feel to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbyLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2010

Pros :
Very nice hotel and service.
Very welcoming and helpfull staff.
We were in the family suite and the price is very interesting (about 100€/night for 4 persons)
Very well located between old town and Charles bridge
Very good looking rooms and sight

Cons :
Maybe a little noisy between the rooms but it's an old building so it can be an explaination.
The bathroom is quite nice but the water of the bath felt dirty as it was a little cloudy :(
The beds are not that comfortable (the big bed is actually a couch...)
Breakfast OK but not much choice
No wireless Internet (only ethernet connexion possible) ! Internet didn't work the last day

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank levincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uzlatestudny, Manager at Aurus, responded to this review, 3 February 2010
Dear Sir,

we are very glad that you found your stay in our hotel and in Prague enjoyable and that you apreciated our service, staff and the other little things you wrote about. However you also mentioned some negative aspects that we would like to explain.

We would like to apologize once again for the lack of Internet on the last day of your stay. We know how important it is for our guests to have high-speed free Internet access during their stay, but on your last day, the problem was unfortunately caused by work being done to some frozen cables in our area (this was also why the water was a different colour for a few hours!). We would like to add that all rooms already have the Ethernet cable required to connect to all laptops and in case our clients do not want to bring their own computer we always have one to lend for free.
We would also like to clarify that the Family suite has one real double bed, one extra bed and one open up couch – all with “health sleep” mattresses.

We hope that this comment helped to clarify the issues you mentioned and we look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel some time in the future.

Petra Masindova
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Fantastic and friendly staff from the moment we arrived until we left - anticipated all our needs including transfers to rail station, assistance with booking rail tickets, tours, and advice about which were genuine prague souveniers etc. Wonderful breakfast with plenty of choice of food. Location right in centre of town and within easy walking distance of tourist attractions, restaurants and shops.
Great value for money, very comfortable rooms. Would definitely return to this hotel. Particularly due to location and service.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrinityAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2010

We booked this hotel thinking it was the luxury hotel of the same name (in the same city- confusing!) that received rave reviews. When we arrived we realised it was the wrong hotel but tried to make the most of it. Do not come here if you have a car. There is no parking and you are unable to park on the streets as it is in the centre of the city. The only option is to park in a car park complex a few kilometres away. Reception staff told us that previous guests cars had been towed for parking in incorrect areas. When we finally sorted out the car, we were told that although we had booked for two nights, the type of room we had booked was unavailable. We could have a smaller room with only 10 euros taken off the price, or swap rooms each night. We weren't impressed. The worst thing about this hotel is the noise!! Despite management saying that they have made an effort to reduce noise, we had to use ear plugs that we had from the plane to keep out the noise- and we still couldn't sleep! We heard drunken yelling all night long on both nights. This runied out stay in Prague. Having said all of that, the restaurant is good and the staff quite friendly but not very accomodating.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlinkyBillQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uzlatestudny, Manager at Aurus, responded to this review, 24 January 2010
Dear Madam,

we are very sorry that you were not happy in our hotel, but from what you have written - “When we arrived we realised it was the wrong hotel “ you clearly intended to book a completely different hotel (a much larger 5 star deluxe hotel with superior facilities and in a completely different location!). It seems that you only arrived at our hotel because of your own unfortunate booking error! Our hotel is a small 4 star family run hotel – so totally different in every way from what you had probably expected.

Unfortunately (but perhaps understandably) you were angry and disappointed from the beginning of your unplanned stay with us. (In your review you did not mention you had a car accident and you were not exactly happy about this either!) Perhaps we didn’t really stand a chance! Also, you stayed with us Dec 29 – 31 – without a doubt the noisiest 2 nights of the year in Prague, and indeed all over the world. Tourists were celebrating the New Year in typical fashion, and the noise levels were significantly higher than usual.

Concerning the other issues, we do not claim anywhere we have our own parking facilities but the garage we recommended to you is located 0.8 km from our hotel (not a few kilometers away as you wrote) and it takes just a few minutes to get there. The problem with your double room deluxe was also explained to you during your stay – you made your booking at the last minute (just a few hours before your arrival) and that is why we were not able to accommodate you in the same room for both nights, for which we apologized and offered you the best possible alternatives – a standard Double room for two nights or switching from one Double room de Luxe to another one after one night. You chose the second option. Please, accept our apologies for this again.

I would like to say that under the circumstances (you did arrive at a hotel you had not planned to stay at!), I know we did our best to help make your stay as pleasant and special as possible.

Petra Masindova
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2010

This hotel is a blast from the past. Old worldly, friendly atmosphere and welcoming. The rooms are spacious and well furnished. The restaurant is very good and staff were very accodomating. Would definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2009

From the start of our visit to the hotel to the finish, we were definately not disappointed in any detail whatsoever. The rooms are stylish, very comfortable, warm, spacious - and full of the charming character you would associate with old Prague. Being centrally situated in the 'old town', all amenities and places of interest to us were within walking distance and the windows of our apartment gave an interesting vantage point over the busy street below. The staff were extremely helpful, friendly and informative; nothing was too much trouble. Our arrangement was for breakfasts at the hotel which were excellent and with service to match. We would highly recommend this hotel and in fact hope to return at some stage with our families.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jobeangood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Clementin Old Town
Clementin Old Town
#111 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#81 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#100 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
#189 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#127 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#105 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurus

Property: Aurus
Address: Karlova 175/3 | Main entrance from Seminarska 2, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly U Zlate Studny)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Prague
#84 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#114 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurus 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel "Aurus" (former U Zlate studny), which is one of the most magnificent and protected monuments whose origins date back to the 16th century, is situated in the very heart of Prague in the Old Town district. The hotel is situated on the Kings Road connecting three historic jewels - the Old Town Square, Charles Bridge and the Prague Castle. This four-star hotel offers guests four double-bed rooms and four spacious apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Aurus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Zlate Studny (At The Golden Well) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing