We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honestly a very good hotel”
Review of Angelis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Angelis
Ranked #97 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Honestly a very good hotel”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I was in Prague for a few days and stayed in this hotel for the first time. I arrived late, but was still very much welcomed by the staff. The room I got was large, very clean and had all the necessities and more; like a balcony, from which I had a great view over the Vltava river, and several stylish cupboards that just added to the cosy atmosphere. The breakfast was excellent, the cleaning was done thoroughly and when asked the staff will gladly provide information about the city itself. In the rooms there is only internet through a cable (which they provide at the reception), but in the lobby there is free wifi.
The area (Andel) is clean, very modern and you have easy access to metro and tram stations. There are banks, shopping malls, coffee shops, etc. nearby and I found most people speak at least some basic English (not all though).

One minor negative point: you have to let the shower "warm up" for a few minutes (on the top floor).

In short, I think this hotel offers very good value for your money and easy access to everything you need or want to see in Prague!

Room Tip: I booked a double room, but actually go 3 beds! The rooms are very big, you can easily fit 3 people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    190
    32
    4
    6
See reviews for
66
184
32
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We have stayed here several times so it feels like a home from home. Located in the Smichov district, it is far enough away from tourist rip-off joints but has plenty of good value bars and restaurants in the vicinity. Downtown Prague is only a short metro trip away. Or a 45 minute walk if you wear comfortable shoes. We had some lovely walks along the nearby Vlatava river. All rooms are clean and of a good size (huge bathrooms with bath and showerhead) but for something extra special, ask for a room with a balcony.

Only "complaints" that I would make are that breakfast is OK but nothing special and there is no bar or restaurant. I know the area is well served when it comes to bars/restaurants but sometimes it's nice to have a nightcap or an evening in when the weather is adverse. It seems such a wasted opportunity especially as there is a big lounge adjacent to the courtyard. Yes, when you leave the hotel, there is sometimes a pungent smell from the brewery opposite. But it is a working brewery, not a museum piece and twitchers will be pleased to know that it attracts lots of birds. My other moans - the only English language channel is CNN and on our last two trips, we had intermittent hot water in the evenings. Fortunately, all rooms are provided with a kettle (and teabags).

Very peaceful locale and lovely views if you go up a few floors.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. Rooms at the rear have lovely views, otherwise you're facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trnava
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I spend weekend in this hotel, single but got normal double room really nice :-) you can find the hotel very easy, clean and comfortable room, very nice breakfast, only thing i dont like that in my room there was no wifi and the cable bow was broken... i have to check it in the lobby...
good acces to centre

Room Tip: if you need internet in the room it better to write before and ask them check connection...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silwya99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Very good value for money, good location, friendly staff and cleaner than my own home after cleaning.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maartje75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days during our 12 day central European tour. We arrive by car and it was a bit of a challenge to find, especially since we did not have a GPS and the Czechs don't seem to understand the importance of having street names on both sides of the street. If you decide to drive in Prague, I highly recommend either getting a GPS or printing very clear and detailed directions. The hotel is not in the center of things, but we actually liked that. The train (12 or 22) that takes you to the old city is half a block away and all the attractions are only 15-20 minutes away. You could buy train tickets from the front desk, who are pretty helpful and accommodating. So, that is very convenient. The receptionist advised us that we would be safer parking in a guarded parking lot (10 euros/day), rather than leaving the car in front of the hotel, because of the high chance of vandalism. Also she insisted we put all our valuables in the safe provided by the hotel (in room), just in case. That made us a bit paranoid, but we did feel pretty safe both in our travels through the city and during our stay. The room had very outdated decor, and the bedding leaves room for improvement, but it it had a certain charm and we enjoyed it for what it was. The breakfast buffet was very good with lots of options.
All in all, this was a good choice and should we go back, we might stay with them again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bratu2k2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We toot a week long break in Prague this was the ideal hotel it is out of the way yet close to shops and clubs where you can get a drink at any hour. the rooms were clean with fresh towels every day. we stayed on the 4th floor which is converted loft space the rooms were a good size and clean there is a problem with the low ceilings if you are of a tall nature. the food was good with both tea and Coffee on tap. the staff were friendly always had a smile even in the early hours when you creep back in from a night out. over all it was a good stay I would return to this hotel but think I would stay on a lower floor.
Getting around
There is a tram that runs from the top of the road and an underground a little way up the road that will take you into the heart of Prague we found the getting off at MUSTAK station was best as it is a short walk to both the old town square and Wenceslaus square.
Eating out
There are many places to eat and drink in Prague for a good meal I would say a go down a side street or 2 and you will find the true taste of Prague with better prices and in some cases better food. The service we got from the smaller places was great but if you drink TEA I would carry some with you as they seem to like fruit teas here.

Room Tip: Choose a lower room if you want to use the WIFI the 4th floor does not have WIFI but you can get a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter-Smith29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Hi, my boyfriend and I stayed here about two weeks ago for 3 nights. The hotel looks ok but pretty secluded. We're not a picky couple so everything is okay with us as long it is near the tourist areas. However, from the very start, the concierge people were very rude. Their tone was very bad when you ask questions. To set an example, once the hair dryer broke down and we called the reception and asked if they could bring us a new one and they immediately refused and said if we need it, then we should get it.

There are no floor mats to dry water that leaks from the shower so there was a time we had to use the towel to dry the floor (because we almost had accident walking on wet floors) . Also, at that time I had period/menstruation so one towel had some blood stain.

On our check-out, they told us we damaged their 3 towels so we have to pay 30 dollars since they will throw it. Can't they wash it? We were so mad because if they are fair they should have told us from DAY 1 that they charge on these things! It seemed they dont tell people and just charge them so they get more money! Really dissapointed.

THE WORST PART: they told us if we wanna take home the towels because they will throw them anyway in a very INSULTING MANNER! Seriously, THIS HOTEL was the only BAD thing I experienced in my entire Prague trip. Prague is big so look for better accommodation. By the way, the rooms smell quite old, too.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pampi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
angelo by Vienna House Prague
Praha 2
Green Garden Hotel
Green Garden Hotel
#70 of 649 in Prague
1,107 reviews
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#148 of 649 in Prague
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
Hotel  Theatrino
Hotel Theatrino
#111 of 649 in Prague
1,119 reviews
Praha 5
Red & Blue
Red & Blue
#75 of 649 in Prague
1,761 reviews
Praha 5
Akcent
Akcent
#154 of 649 in Prague
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angelis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angelis

Property: Angelis
Address: Pivovarska 597/5 | Smíchov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#195 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Angelis 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Angelis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angelis Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing