We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best price/quality ratio in town”
Review of Angelis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Angelis
Ranked #99 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Tampere, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“The best price/quality ratio in town”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I frequently visit Prague and this has become my pick of choice. Of course there are those central 4-5 star places in downtown but if you look for a hotel where you mainly come to relax after sightseeing Prague or pub crawl, this is your choice. Safe area and clean hotel away from street noise.

Place is newish, rooms are in excelent condition and clean. The girls in the lobby are cheerful and helpful and ready to give you an advice. Breakfast is just what you can expect. Wifi would be nice add (cable LAN is working but still)

The location is good. Just 100 meters from metro and tram stops and just within 500m from Andel shopping mall. Plus of course Staropramen brewery in the next block. Yeah, it's not right in the city centre but with metro and tram you are in 10mins in any main turist attraction.

And the price. That what makes this my choice. You can get here 3 start newish hotel with the breakfast almost same price as hostel room in downtown. And the area area is not shabby but quite a good Andel area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bathtube, not included to all
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    197
    34
    4
    6
See reviews for
70
190
33
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

A nice hotel in the vicinity of the Angel subway station and with excellent connection to Prags light rail. On the opposite side of the street the Staropramen Visitior Center is situated, a must for beer lovers

The hotel as such is a good tourist hotel with nice rooms, good receptionstaff and an ok breakfast. Everything was in very good order and we enjoyed a four day stay.

Good alternative if you are able to travel by rail or subway, otherwise the walk to the sights might be a little too commanding.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the courtyard are the best in order to keep city noice at bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Just back from Prague - Hotel Angelis is very good - about a 35 min walk from the Old Town Square - nice walk. The area of Andel where the hotel is situated is full of bars & restaurants & a big shopping centre which has a bowling alley, sports bar & plenty of places to eat.

The rooms in the hotel are not air conditioned but our did have a big fan (which we didnt have to use). The TV had a few channels but no English channels (one would have been enough).

Breakfast was good.

Rooms were spacious and very clean. The staff were also helpful. The only thing lacking in the hotel was a bar with a TV or maybe a snack machine but other than that would definately stay there again.

There is a brewery across the road from the hotel which you smell when outside but not on the balconies which I noticed other people have complained about.

Overall very good value for money

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham_Karen_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modiin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Honestly speaking if I would noticed before that there is no air conditioner in rooms I wouldn't booked this hotel. But I liked it after all . Rooms and bathrooms are large and very clean, stuff was helpful. Breakfast not very rich, but good enough for 3 star hotel. Indeed there is a smell from nearside brewery, but not in the hotel itself. And there is a nice visitor center in the brewery. The neighborhood is not central, but not dangerous or something. What I liked a most it's a location. I don't like noisy central hotels, where I can't sleep, so I avoid them. This one is located near Andel metro station, 3 stops from the both Old and New Town. You can also take tram number 12 or 20 to the Malostranska Square near Karlov Bridge, and from there to St. Vitas. There is also big bus station nearby,so it's easy to get Krumlov or other places. There is a safe and mini-bar. WiFi worked most of the time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexa1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cacak, Serbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Very nice hotel! Stuff was very helpful, rooms very great. For this money, you get perfect hotel.
It's not the city center, but it's in the very nice area, with plenty of pubs, restaurants, where you can eat for descent price (in contrary to the center where the prices are doubled).
One small disadvantage is proximity of a beer factory, that gives a little strange air smell.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nemanja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Have stayed at this hotel previously in winter so rebooked it for our summer visit.

On arrival the receptionist was arguing with some other guests - not a very welcoming atmosphere! We were so shocked at how rude the staff were to the other guests.

The rooms are NOT AIRCONDITIONED and no fans are provided. The heat was so bad that we could not sleep all night.
Because of this, we kept our windows open, however the guests in the next room were smokers which meant cigarette smoke wafting...very unpleasant considering that we requested a non smoking room due to allergies.

Breakfast consists of reheated hotdogs and limited choices.

There is NO wifi connection in the rooms, which is very frustrating considering the misleading advertisement of Internet connection being provided.

The shower leaks all over the bathroom tiles, quite a hazard.

We were so unsatisfied with the service provided that we decided to check out early and stay at another hotel. Even though we gave 24 hours notice to reception of this, they demanded that we pay for an extra night. The receptionist (the small lady with glasses) was very rude and gave us a lot of attitude when we tried to provide feedback. Her sass was not appreciated as paying guests.

The location of the hotel is in an unsafe area of Prague. Upon arrival we spotted about 20 drug addicts and homeless people in the space of an hour. We were awoken at 6am by a jackhammer and works at the place next door, construction that had not been notified of.

Don't worry about choosing this place! We have travelled around Europe many times and this hotel was BY FAR the worst. We are not fussy travels, and do not think that our polite requests were unreasonable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ejl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
angelo by Vienna House Prague
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#142 of 649 in Prague
511 reviews
Praha 5
Red & Blue
Red & Blue
#77 of 649 in Prague
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Green Garden Hotel
Green Garden Hotel
#70 of 649 in Prague
1,123 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#81 of 649 in Prague
815 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel  Theatrino
Hotel Theatrino
#108 of 649 in Prague
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angelis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angelis

Property: Angelis
Address: Pivovarska 597/5 | Smíchov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#195 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Angelis 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angelis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angelis Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing