We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff, fantastic location, clean hotel”
Review of Grand Hotel Praha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Praha
Ranked #120 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in july 2011. very friendly staff, helpful with directions, and parked my car for me. rooms were very clean and beautiful, and air conditioner was working well. location was right across from astronomical clock. couldn't have asked for a better place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myphuong T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

531 - 537 of 877 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2011

Great location, and even greater staff ! would definitely recommend and will obviously come back.

Room Tip: get the room with a view ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abuimad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Do you like Jazz? Do you like good food? Are you going to the Old Town Square in Prague? Then this is the place to go it is utterly superb and the diners are treated royally. There is an added bonus that if you are there close to the hour you can avail yourself of one of their windows and take a really really good photo of the astronomical clock without the million of tourists blocking the view! We did not stay here however so cannot comment on sleep quality etc, we just dined here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia4J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandhotelPrahaLenka, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

Dear Julia,

thank you, for your lovely respond to our Jazz and Dinner evening!!!:)))
And we do hope, that we will have the pleasure, to accommodate you
with as as well next time you are in Prague!:)))

Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This hotel is extremely well situated, perhaps the best in the 'old square'. The rooms are stunning and full of character and charm.
The staff are extremely helpful and the breakfast is everything you need to start the day.
When we arrived there was some renovation work in progress and the hotel was busy so we were given a room effected by the work, however when we pointed this out the staff were extremely efficient accommodating us. we were given a room with a stunning view.
We would be delighted to stay there again.

Room Tip: they are all unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandhotelPrahaLenka, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

To whom this might concern,

thank you so much for your lovely respond to our accommodation and thank you, that you were so great about the construction site, that was taken place at the period of your stay, but let me tell you, the whole building is looking amazing now, so it was definitely worth it!!!

We will be all looking forward to hopefully have the great pleasure to accommodate you again with us in Grand hotel Praha in the near future!

Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Staying in the very heart of Prague's Old Town Square, in an huge apartment facing the square and the famous Astronomical Clock was amazing! Loved to hear the chime, the apostles movement and the trumpeter!
You can reach, walking distance, all the bars, restaurants and historic and cultural attractions of the city.
The staff is nice and polite, the breakfast was a little poor, comparing with another hotels of the same category.
The apartment was okay, if you don't mind sleeping in a very old and antique bed (it creaks if you make some movement!!!) that combines with all the old (authentic) style furniture.
I used the hotel taxi service from and to the airport and it was very comfortable at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Choose the front view. I stayed at the De luxe room facing the Astronomical Clock, huge (101 or 102...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JackmaryRiodeJaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandhotelPrahaLenka, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

Dear Jack/Mary,

thank you for your respond to our accommodation and I am happy to read, that you have loved the position of our hotel and the stunning views.
I am awfully sorry that you did not like our antique furniture that we have in our hotel, but that is the style and look that Grand hotel Praha has, some guests love it some do not.

Ones again, thank you for taken time and writing your review!
Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed in this room in Oct 2011 and got a room in the back away from the square. The room faced a back alley and since the weather was warm we had the windows open. Unfortunately, there were a lot of people hanging out in the alley in the late evening and noise was too much for me. I would have like to shut the window but there wasn't a way to cool down the room. Rooms are nice, but small.
The hotel is in a central location making it easy to walk to many of the main sites though the metro stop is not very close.
The breakfast buffet was very good with lots of choice (eggs, meat, cheese, pastries, cereal, coffee, tea, juice, etc). They did have fresh fruit but when we were there some of the whole fruit was old and rotten.
Service was okay - not very helpful or welcoming but never rude. They can arrange their own car to take you to the airport which was a definite convenience for us.
I'm not sure there is a reason to stay right next to the clock. Next time, I will probably stay in a quieter location, close to a metro stop, save a little money and get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandhotelPrahaLenka, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

Dear Medison,

thank you for your respond to our accommodation even thought, I am not to sure, why you have stated in your review few times, that the Metro stop is to far from our hotel, where it is only 5minutes walk to metro stop A Mustek and other direction 5 minutes walk to other metro stop A Staromestska, I do think, that to find more central accommodation with all the Subways and Trams and everything so close by, that you really do not need to use the public transfer will be very hard, that is my opinion!
I am sorry that the noise from the alley way was to much, but if you shut the windows, there is Air condition, that will cool the room down and keep the noise away.
I am glad to hear, that at least you liked the breakfast choice, even thought that the service there was not what you have expected and I will pass your review to our Grand Cafe Praha, to let them know as well!

Ones again I would like to thank you, for taken your tame and letting us know, about your stay with us and I apologize for all the inconvenience!

Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed at the Grand Hotel in May. Our room was beautiful. However, I chose this hotel specifically for the view of the famous clock. I was more than a little upset to open my window to a construction site. Our view was gone. We had not been informed of this in advance, which left us with little alternative but to stay. It is VERY loud at night with groups of roving drunks, who seem to love to sing at the top our their lungs. With all this you would think that I would not recommend this hotel, however, I would. The staff was very kind and helpful. Breakfast was very good. The location can not be beat! The construction will not last forever, and you can just decide to enjoy the sounds of the square as some great local atmosphere. We had so much fun and loved Prague so much we would go back in a heart beat and we would stay that the Grand Hotel

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmom21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandhotelPrahaLenka, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

Dear Sir/Madam,

thank you for one of the best reviews that I have pleasure to read!!!:)))
And also thank you, for being so understanding about the construction site, that was taken place at the period of your stay, I would also like to apologize, that we have not informed you in advance, however, this took us by surprise same way as you, as we were not informed prior to the work either as it was a decision of the Prague city, so ones I apologize and I do hope, that you will come and stay with us to see how amazing our hotel looks now, as I have to say, they have done a great job and it was worth all that in the end!!! Just come and see for yourself!!!:)))

We are all looking forward to hear from you soon!
Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#36 of 647 in Prague
2,539 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#72 of 647 in Prague
1,574 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Nouveau Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#52 of 647 in Prague
2,051 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#89 of 647 in Prague
3,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Praha

Address: Staromestske Namesti 481/22 | Prague 1, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#93 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#104 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#135 Family Hotel in Prague
#160 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £78 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Praha 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand hotel Praha has a unique location in the centre of the Old Town of Prague. The hotel is right in the Old Town Square and within walking distance from the main historical sites, theaters, art galleries and the city centre shopping zone.Guests of the Grand hotel Praha can enjoy its magical views of the Old Town Astronomical Clock in the Old Town Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing