We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect old city Praha”
Review of Grand Hotel Praha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Praha
Ranked #101 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed in the Presidential Suite for two nights. Wow! Everything you would want from a stay in Prague. You could feel the history in the room and in the Mozart restaurant where we took our breakfast. Directly on the old square makes you feel like you are living in a fairy tale. 5 minute walk to Charles Bridge at sunrise also a highlight.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandhotelPrahaLenka, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear Matt,

thank you for your great respond to our accommodation and I do hope, that we will have the great pleasure to accommodate you with us again in the near future!

Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

477 - 483 of 864 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Praha Prague for 4 nights it was an amazing experience. The Staff were very nice and friendly, The bedroom was spotless and very comfortable, The location was excellent as we were across from the Astronomical clock which was an excellent spot to stay. You got a buffet Breakfast every morning of your stay in a beautiful room which was over- looking the Astronmical clock. The weather was very warm and dry, not what we were expecting as we brought our rainmac's which we didn't need. Food and the local beer was cheap and got even cheaper as you moved away from the square.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah_C28Clones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandhotelPrahaLenka, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear Sarah,

thank you for choosing our hotel and thank you so very much for your lovely respond to our accommodation!!!

We will look forward to hopefully accommodate you with us again in the near future!
Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I stayed 3 nights in the attic suit with 2 floors. The room itself was gorgeous with a view to the clock tower which was quite funny to see so many tourists gather down in the square each hour to hear the trumpet. The breakfast was quite enjoyable and the location is great, right in the Old Pragua Square. I was firstly concerned about being on the Old Town Square and the noise; however, it was not disruptive and actually added to my enjoyment of the city. Prague is a very beautiful, lively place and I had good meals in restuarants attached to the hotel - with discounts.

I would love to come back in the future just for the room. We found the staff to be friendly.

Room Tip: I would recommend to send an e-mail to the hotel explaining your expectations which are well underst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berrin_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandhotelPrahaLenka, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

thank you for your lovely review!!!
I am very happy to read, that you have enjoyed your stay in the Attic apartment and breakfast and had a great time in the city!!!

And I do hope that this was not your last time in Prague and in our hotel as we wil be looking forward to your future stay with us!

Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We chose this hotel because of the location, acros from the astronomical clock. Our room was small but comfortable. The hotel had a charming ambiance, our room looked out to the main square and we had breakfast every morning looking out at the astronomical clock.
What sets this charming little hotel apart from others that we have stayed at, is it's fabulous service. We stayed there for 4 nights in July and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mou22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandhotelPrahaLenka, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

thank you for your respond to our accommodation!
I am extreamly happy to read that you plan to stay with us again on your next trip to Prague and that you were happy with our services!

We will look forward to your next visit!
Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I just spent three nights at this lovely hotel.
Pros: you are right in the middle of all the action, we could see the astronomical clock from our window. (however, although not a problem for us, it can get noisy as people are out until late at night). The hotel staff is very accommodating and helpful. The hotel is a lovely old building.
Cons: the internet does not work in the room. We had to go to the lobby to be able to access WIFI. Our bathroom was extremely small, no room to put toiletries etc. The included breakfast was Ok, not great.
Tip: before you book one of the tours for which the hotel gives you brouchures, take one of the free tours that meet right outside the hotel. We did both and found our "free" tour guide excellent and very entertaining. The guides receive tips. I'm not sure if they receive a salary as well or if they work for tips only. Also, just FYI, both the hotel staff and tour guides receive a kick back when they take refer you to the tours.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank MarjML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

As many have already stated in reviews, the Grand Hotel Prague is literally in the centre of all the action in Prague. Our room was looking directly at the Astrological Clock! The hotel was undergoing renovations while we were there, but the attentive and friendly staff made sure that we were looked after and were not inconvenienced. The hotel is a 4 star hotel and the quality is consistent with that rating, however, the helpfulness of the staff was definitely top class. The breakfast was excellent and there was the convenience of all manner of cafes and restaurants literally at the doorstep of the hotel with our particular favourite the outdoor pizza shop across the street owned by the jolly Macedonian chap! Prague is a marvellous city and there is alot to see. What better place to see it from than the Grand Hotel Prague!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VicNicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed there for 5 nights in early July, 2012.
Since the hotel is in the Old Town Square, which is closed to traffic, the bellman had arranged to meet our driver about 2 blocks away when we arrived. Great service and the location can't be beat.
Our room was facing the Astrological clock and the town square; great views and when the windows are closed, you can't hear a thing, very quiet.
Breakfast was included and was on par with most European hotels.
Since we stayed more than 4 nights, we were provided with return car service from the airport - nice touch.
Highly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 215, it was large and had a great view. Quiet too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterfromMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#73 of 647 in Prague
1,549 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#34 of 647 in Prague
2,495 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 647 in Prague
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#31 of 647 in Prague
1,174 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#48 of 647 in Prague
2,035 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Old Town Square
Old Town Square
#132 of 647 in Prague
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Praha

Address: Staromestske Namesti 481/22 | Prague 1, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#93 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#135 Family Hotel in Prague
#160 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £87 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Praha 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand hotel Praha has a unique location in the centre of the Old Town of Prague. The hotel is right in the Old Town Square and within walking distance from the main historical sites, theaters, art galleries and the city centre shopping zone.Guests of the Grand hotel Praha can enjoy its magical views of the Old Town Astronomical Clock in the Old Town Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing