We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice short vacation!”
Review of Grand Hotel Praha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Praha
Ranked #131 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice short vacation!”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I've been in this hotel with my wife to celebrate the anniversary of our marriage. The hotel offers a special and convenient package for this event wich includes a dinner with music in the Mozart Cafe.
The hotel is in a strategic position, in the hart of the city in front of the Clock Tower.
Out of the main door you are immediately in the atmosphere of the city and its beauties.
Roomsare confortable, service is good, personnel is very professional, food is good.
I reccomend this hotel for a long weekend vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enry49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

thank you for your lovely respond to our accommodation and I am glad to read, that you have enjoyed your stay with us on such a special event :)

We do hope, that we will have the great pleasure to accommodate you with us again in the near future!
Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    240
    69
    27
    24
See reviews for
161
446
35
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The "Olde Worlde" charm of this hotel is unquestionable as is its first rate location. The only downsides are the fact that on arrival you have to carry / wheel your luggage over cobblestones for quite a distance as there is no vehicular access (although the hotel did provide assistance in this regard at check out time; and the fact that the second building has no elevators - important for the elderly or like my wife and I who whilst quite fit, have prosthetic joints - those stairs were a challenge at day end! To the Hotel's credit, they did offer us an alternative room in the first building for the last 2 nights of our 3 night stay but we would have had to forfeit our view of the Clock Tower and the Old Square so it was our decision to stay where we were.

The upsides; the location, the room size, the first rate service from staff, the Mozart Cafe breakfasts & the ambience made it a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

thank you for your review!
I am awfully sorry to read, that the stairs in the other part of our hotel were a big problem for you but our Apostolic residence is protected by Czech legislation to preserve it's heritage. Unfortunately due to these laws we are unable to install an elevator in the older part of the hotel, as this would alter the buildings original condition. We have staff on hand to help with luggage when required.

We do hope, that we will have the great pleasure to accommodate you with us again in the near future!
Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Москва, Россия
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel is my favorite in the world! Excellent location, super service, when I live in your hotel I feel like a queen! The Mozart cafe at the second floor is the best! The personal of the hotel is very friendly, the atmosphere in the hotel is very relax and comfortable. The bed is excellent, the view is the best!!!! Thank you very much for my excellent holiday!!!

Room Tip: Room 212 with excellent view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatyanadubovko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

thank you for one of the best respond that I have got to read here and that made my day :)

And we do hope, that we will have the great pleasure to accommodate you with us again in the near future!
Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

What else can I say, the hotel is right outside old town center, bustling with activity, restaurants, bars, cafes, etc... The rooms were very nice clean and comfortable. Reception desk is on the second floor and so is one of their nice restaurants with a piano bar. The staff were very helpful giving us all kinds of advice. A pleasant hotel I recommend to anyone looking for a price affordable hotel in a great location and a great expereience.
Thanks to the great attentive hotel staff

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

thank you for one of the best respond that I have got to read here and that made my day :)

And we do hope, that we will have the great pleasure to accommodate you with us again in the near future!
Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The Grand Hotel Praha is in an excellent location.....BUT......if you want to stay there be sure before you book that someone Confirms that your room is in the main building with an elevator. We were placed in their building 2 doors down. Rooms were nice and big. Only problem it was 77 steps up and down every time you went out and dragging your luggage up and down was not fun. Our room had a beautiful view of the laundry room and the workers sat outside the door smoking and talking all day. I probably would pick a different hotel next time.

Room Tip: Main building or don't do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

thank you for your respond to our accommodation!
I am awfully sorry to read, that you have not enjoyed your stay with us and stairs up your room, in the other part of our hotel was a big problme, but our Apostolic residence is protected by Czech legislation to preserve it's heritage. Unfortunately due to these laws we are unable to install an elevator in the older part of the hotel, as this would alter the buildings original condition. We have staff on hand to help with luggage when required.

Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Small old hotel in the center of Old Town Square. It has very nice rooms with all conveniences, great location with easy walk to many sites throughout the city. Provided good breakfast buffet in nice dining area. Need to make reservations for dinner seating. Staff was helpful and friendly. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DallasTexasHarmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

thank you for your great respond to our accommodation!


And We are all looking forwrad to have you stay with us again, in the near future!
Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hingham
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed here for several days in late September. The location cannot be beat. It is easy to walk to so many of the sites and there is a tourist office directly across from the hotel.

Do ask for a room with a view of the Astronomical Clock. Let the hotel know if an elevator is needed as some rooms are only accessed via stairway. Also, breakfast is served in a dining room overlooking the Astronomical Clock and the square. The rooms have double windows and noise was not a problem. The beds were comfortable and the bath spacious and clean.

The staff is very pleasant and helpful. We recommend this hotel highly.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

thank you for your great respond to our accommodation!


And We are all looking forwrad to have you stay with us again, in the near future!
Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#79 of 649 in Prague
1,504 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,285 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#35 of 649 in Prague
2,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#110 of 649 in Prague
972 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#31 of 649 in Prague
1,085 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Old Town Square
Old Town Square
#116 of 649 in Prague
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Praha

Property: Grand Hotel Praha
Address: Staromestske Namesti 481/22 | Prague 1, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#94 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#114 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#135 Family Hotel in Prague
#161 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Praha 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand hotel Praha has a unique location in the centre of the Old Town of Prague. The hotel is right in the Old Town Square and within walking distance from the main historical sites, theaters, art galleries and the city centre shopping zone.Guests of the Grand hotel Praha can enjoy its magical views of the Old Town Astronomical Clock in the Old Town Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing