We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location, Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Praha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Praha
Ranked #113 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location, Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We have just had 2 nights at this hotel and were very pleased. The location could not be bettered and we had a window that actually overlooked the Astronomical Clock.

The room was huge and furnished in a very traditional style, also with a spacious bathroom. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable.

Staff were courteous and very helpful and breakfast was the usual continental fare, although the cooked to order omlette was a nice extra. Background classical music was an unusual but nice touch.

Thoroughly recommended

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

thak you for your rspond to our accommodation and I am very happy to read, that over all you have enjoyed your stay with us and we will look forward to have you stay with us again in the near future!

Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    232
    64
    24
    22
See reviews for
151
424
33
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

The Hotel location is ideal - right in the city center with easy connection any historic place and walking distance. The staff of the hotel is very friendly and helpful. We especially experienced their help and assistance during the check-in time. Breakfast food is great and i would really recomment positively on the staff. The room with windows over the old town square is really great - spacious and nice amenities.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zurab B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

thak you for your lovely respond to our accommodation and our services!!!
And we will look forward to have you stay with us again in the near future!

Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in late March and found this a great location to stay if you want to see the old part of Prague. The service was excellent starting with how our arrival was handled, continuing with the breakfast service at the restaurant downstairs and with arrangements for our departure. The room was very clean, well furnished and quaint. Very comfortable bed with adequate furniture, lighting, etc. The bathroom was good and everything worked well. We enjoyed the warm atmosphere provided by the wooden wall paneling, wooden floors and furniture, something which is relatively rare these days.
Our room looked over the old town square and directly across from use was the famous Astronomical Clock. We enjoyed watching this whenever we were in the room. From this location it is easy to walk to most of the places of interest such as the Prague Castle. Many restaurants close by but the price for a meal is higher for the convenience. Some great restaurants nearby with more reasonable prices, just have to walk a couple of blocks.
The only drawback is the huge number of tourists right outside the window of the room. We knew this ahead of time and made a decision to stay here because this was far outweighed by the other advantages. At night there is quite a bit of noise from people enjoying a beer or two but this is just part of being in a tourist area. If you want quiet there are other rooms facing into a courtyard.
Overall, good experience and we will definitely return to Prague and stay here when we do.

Room Tip: Front view is great, worth the price dealing with busy tourists (like us!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

thak you for your great respond to our accommodation and our services!!!
Yes, I have to agree with the fact, that Old Town Square can get very busy with turists, but as you have stated in your review, if you prefere quit room, we have definitely got those in the back of the hotel.
Ones again thank you for yuch a great review and we will look forwrd to hopefully have the great pleasue to acommodate you with us again!!!

Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I appreciate everything you all did and cannot thank you enough. My engagment was exactly how I had planned it and you made that night so special for myself and my fiance. Mr. Marhoul was great and very friendly. He did way more than I had expected he would with the photos and video. The video was an amazing touch and for him to get us those prints and the CD in 1 day was so great.

I have told so many people about my experience at your hotel and your amazing service. I hope that all my friends and family that ever travel to Praha will use your hotel and your services. I told my fiance that I will be going back to Prague many times in the future and I will definitely be staying in your hotel. The view out of our room was unbelievable and better than I could have every imagined.

I cannot thank you enough for everything you did, but I hope that my future trips to your hotel and city will begin to show that.

Room Tip: Choose the Grand Deluxe, what a view and not a bad price at all. Right in the center of the Old town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Sir/Madama,

I am very glad to read, that you have enjoyed your stay with us and you have had unforgettable time at our hotel and hopefully we will have the great pleasure to accommodate you with us again in the near future!

Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

The hotel is situated right across from the astrologic clock in the middle of the old square. It's a neat boutique hotel with very friendly service. The rooms are clean, well kept and rustically interior. The bathroom seems to have been refurbished recently, so that's great. They server a very good breakfast in the Mozart cafe that's part of the hotel.

The staff is extremely forthcoming and helpful, and speaks very well English. Only downside is that they allow people to smoke indoor. Hopefully, this will be changed soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cvjepsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Sir/Madama,

thank you for your review and I am glad to read, that over all you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel!
I know, what you mean, when you say you would prohibited smoking in our hotel, and I agree, however, I think this will take a wee while longer, before we finaly get these lowes of non smoking indoor here in Czech Republic, unfortunately so :(
Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Absolutely perfect location. The breakfast was very good, in a beautiful room and with a view of the Astronomical Clock. The room was beautifully decorated with antiques, the staff friendly and helpful. When I go back to Prague, this hotel will be my first and only choice. In fact, my husband gave their business card to one of our flight attendants (on our KLM flight) who has an upcoming trip to Prague.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Sir / Madam ,

thank you for your amazing respond to our accommodation and thank you, for passing on our hotel card to flight attendants, that is great!!!
and we will look forward to have you stay with us in the near future!

Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Our criteria for a hotel in Prague included a close proximity to the Old Town Christmas Market and the ability to walk everywhere we wanted to go. We reviewed a number of hotels before picking this one and we were very happy with our decision. The hotel faces the Astrological Clock and in December, the Christmas market. Our taxi let us off at the edge of the Old Town Square where we were met by hotel staff who collected our luggage. The walk to the hotel was short. We found the hotel staff courteous and accommodating (and very patient with our endless questions). The rooms were comfortable, the view from our windows was incredible, the bathrooms nice (especially the towel warmers on cold December mornings). Breakfast was served in the lovely Mozart Café. The buffet had an excellent selection of items. We also enjoyed evening coffee in the Café. Lovely European hotel, we would stay here again!

Room Tip: Select a room facing the Old Town Square. Rooms that do not face the square face an alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Sir / Madam ,

thank you for your amazing respond to our accommodation!!!
And we will look forward to have you stay with us in the near future!

Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#92 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#32 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#91 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#17 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Old Town Square
Old Town Square
#131 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Kings Court
Hotel Kings Court
#53 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Praha

Property: Grand Hotel Praha
Address: Staromestske Namesti 481/22 | Prague 1, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#94 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#99 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#135 Family Hotel in Prague
#161 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Praha 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand hotel Praha has a unique location in the centre of the Old Town of Prague. The hotel is right in the Old Town Square and within walking distance from the main historical sites, theaters, art galleries and the city centre shopping zone.Guests of the Grand hotel Praha can enjoy its magical views of the Old Town Astronomical Clock in the Old Town Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing