We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel stay”
Review of Grand Hotel Praha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Praha
Ranked #112 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, just returning home this week. The hotel is as good as advertised and the location can't be beat. What puts the Grand Praha in a class by itself is the outstanding service by the hotel staff. It was easily the best service of any hotel we stayed in in Europe. Our reservation came with breakfast which was a full buffet with a varied selection. It was exciting to see all the activity and energy that is generated at the clock and in the old town square. We would definitely go back to the Grand Praha.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new section are accessible by lift, but are not in the old section. The walk to the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sotaX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Sir/Madam

thank you for your respond to our accommodation it was a really great one.
I am very glad to read, that you have enjoyed your stay with us and services!!!


We are already looking forward to have you stay with us again in the near future!!!
Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (873)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 873 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband reserved our room overlooking the astronomical clock here in Prague as a surprise to me for my birthday, which we were celebrating on this trip. From beginning to end, this hotel has been lovely. The location is ideal, our room (#210) is large and comfortable, and the stay has been nearly flawless. I don't know what they have in their bathroom filtration system, but it constantly smells of peaches -- very nice! The breakfast is quite good with a range of selections and the staff has been great. Probably the only slight complaint we have is that the shower is of the hand-held variety, and the hook to hold it didn't work properly, so showering was a bit of a pain because of that. Otherwise, would highly recommend this hotel and this room. Visitors do need to be aware that if they are in a room overlooking the clock tower, the crowds and the noise can get to be a nuisance. But I am a people watcher and loved seeing the congregation of visitors from all over the world to wait for the hourly striking. A beautiful experience!!

Room Tip: See my comments about room #210 and noise levels for the clock viewing. I loved it, but others may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Sir/Madam

thank you for your respond to our accommodation!
I am very glad to read, that you have enjoyed your stay with us and our services provided by our reception staff and porter!!!


We are already looking forward to have you stay with us again in the near future!!!
Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in May if you want to be right where it all happens you must stay here it is the best location you could be in, we had a room overlooking the astonomical clock, room was a good size, bed hard, bathroom clean but out of the 11 countries on this trip it is without doubt the worst shower we have ever had the shower head is a hand held only and the holder is half way up the shower wall so if you want to put it on the wall to use your hands to wash yourself then you will have to bend your knees to be able to get under the hand held shower head, bizzare, never seen anything like it before. Breakfast was not good with very little choice but 4 star its probably expected. Room furniture is old but in good condition we would stay here again because of the location, the astronomical clock show stops at 10 pm each night and after that is chimes every so often, Im a very very very light sleeper and in 3 nights I only heard the clock twice at night.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kerriejh50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Sir/Madam

thank you for your respond to our accommodation!
I am very glad to read, that you have enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to apologize about the shower! We will try to make this better!!!


We are already looking forward to have you stay with us again in the near future!!!
Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We just returned from our trip to Europe which included a three-night stay at the Grand Hotel Praha. We had a superior second-floor room which gave us a perfect view of the Astronomical Clock. Because of the number of people who come to take photos of the clock, I was concerned about noise in our room; however, the room had double windows, so noise was not a problem. Our superior room had a bathroom with a sink and bathtub and the second bathroom had a shower and toilet. This was quite convenient as our daughter was traveling with us. Beds were extremely comfortable. Housekeeping was excellent and breakfast is served in an attractive dining area: cooked eggs, hams, cheeses, yoghurts, granolas of various types, juices, coffees, teas etc.
As mentioned in a previous review, since the hotel is set back in the main plaza, taxis cannot arrive at the front door of the hotel and it is necessary to roll baggage about 100 ft. However, the hotel offers an airport pick-up service for $30 Euros which would solve the problem. On the day of our check-out, the hotel took our luggage to the taxi area.
In all, we had a pleasant stay at the Grand Hotel Praha and I would recommend this hotel which is quaint and furnished with antique furniture.

Room Tip: The Grand Deluxe room was an excellent choice since we were travelilng with our adult daughter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dotti05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Sir/Madam

thank you for your respond to our accommodation!
I am glad, that over all you have enjoyed your stay with us! However, I would like to apologize about the shower, we are currently working on imrpoving that! I am aslo sorry to read, that you have not enjoyed our breakfast offer, we will try to improve here as well.


We are already looking forward to have you stay with us again in the near future!!!
Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

You cannot find a better situated hotel in Prague. Right in the heart of the old town. We chose the historical rooms which were wonderful! We were a party of six and as I had booked the trip was upgraded to a room overlooking the astronomical clock which was lovely. The other historical rooms were large and our party were delighted with them. Just a point, there is no lift (which is clearly stated) and there are a lot of steps to some of the rooms. It wasn't an issue for us but could be for some people. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The only negative comment is that the breakfast didn't match the quality of the hotel. It was fine but just a slight disappointment.
I would certainly recommend The Grand Hotel Praha and Prague. Both are a must see!!

Room Tip: Historical rooms a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HingeBallochScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Sir/Madam

thank you for your respond to our accommodation!
I am glad, that over all you have enjoyed your stay with us! However, I am sorry to read, that you have not enjoyed our breakfast offer, we will try to improve here as well.


We are already looking forward to have you stay with us again in the near future!!!
Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Have just returned from a stay at the Grand Hotel Praha. The hotel's location cannot be beaten right opposite the astronomical clock ...the hotel staff are all friendly and very helpful. As we were arriving late at night I asked the hotel to organise our transfer from the airport .. it was worth the slightly extra money as the Porter meets you from the taxi and takes you to the hotel (the Old Town Square is pedestrian only) - they add the cost onto your bill so no worries if you haven't any Cz crowns. Breakfast was delicious (and even included some of their delicious cake shop pastries). The only downside was we has a Superior Room - there was a window but nothing you could see! This made the room dark and you could not see what the weather was like before venturing out. If you are staying here I would not recommend these rooms splash out on the others otherwise you may well be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Sir/Madam

thank you for your respond to our accommodation!
I am glad, that over all you have enjoyed your stay with us and our services!
Yes, I agree, that it is definitely better to upgrade your room to higher option if possible!!! :)


We are already looking forward to have you stay with us again in the near future!!!
Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The setting of this hotel in the old Town Square could not be more convenient. The hotel itself is charming with friendly, inviting and helpful staff. The breakfast was good each morning and never too crowded. I will definitely stay here again when I am back in Prague.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the astronomical clock would be quiter but not offer the same views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#36 of 648 in Prague
2,521 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#72 of 648 in Prague
1,566 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#52 of 648 in Prague
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Nouveau Palace Hotel
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#91 of 648 in Prague
3,293 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Praha

Address: Staromestske Namesti 481/22 | Prague 1, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#93 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#99 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#135 Family Hotel in Prague
#160 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £79 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Praha 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand hotel Praha has a unique location in the centre of the Old Town of Prague. The hotel is right in the Old Town Square and within walking distance from the main historical sites, theaters, art galleries and the city centre shopping zone.Guests of the Grand hotel Praha can enjoy its magical views of the Old Town Astronomical Clock in the Old Town Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing