We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value”
Review of hotel Colloseum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
hotel Colloseum
Ranked #472 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Value”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Good hotel for those wanting value in a good location.
I wouldn't recommend for those seeking luxury or the finer things in a hotel.

Room was clean - but a bit tattered.
Staff were really helpful and full of advice. Breakfast was ok without being spectacular.

My only concern was that it was probably the noisiest hotel I've stayed at, in terms of being able to hear the next room laughing and chatting all night. This would probably upset/frustrate people who aren't able to get to sleep easily.

Other than that, I got exactly what I needed/wanted, which was a cheap room within walking distance to the major sights - so I was quite satisfied overall.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    43
    52
    31
    36
See reviews for
9
79
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Me and my sister went to Prague for the first time ever and chose to stay at this hotel mainly because of the nice price and also because of it's close location to the city centre. I liked the location, there were many bars and restaurants close-by with were supernice (I really liked a nightclub called Nebe which is on the street down just left from the hotel). We had a mishap with foodpoisoning and both the receptionist and the cleaninglady (who had to be called to the room through signs since she didn't understand english) was superkind and came with a czech remedy for foodpoisoning! The only downside was the yucky breakfast, I couldn't eat a thing after I saw a fly swimming in the juice. On the other side, the breakfast was included in the roomprice and Prague is so cheap, so we had the rest of our breakfasts on the town. I can really recommend this hotel for friends who doesn't travel to Prague to stay on your room a lot :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

reserved this hotel based on easytobook.com reviews (was reserving through their website) didn't have much time just had to book something decent real quick. i'm not a picky person and i don't expect 5 star room and service at a 2-3 star hotel. This is no way a 3 star hotel, 2 stars max. None of the rooms were cleaned at check in times, i saw couple of other people standing in the hallaway waiting for their rooms. No elevators, buidling old and smelly, breakfasts are very poor and were going fast. when i saw the room they wanted me to put in which was not cleaned yet either, i was shocked, it smelled so musty and old, with tiniest tv and a window looking out on the stairways. i went downstairs and asked for my money back so i could go somewhere else; based on the deal conditions they weren't going to give me my money back for the first night. i spent about 2hrs sitting in the lobby searching for another hotel at a reasonable price on my ipod instead of enjoying my vacation. i was so tired, ipod battery was dying and the internet service was not cooperating with me. the receptionist offered me to stay for one night in another room since i wasnt going to get my money back for the first night anyway. I agreed to look at that other room, it was decent didn't have that horrible smell and had a windown facing the street. i agreed to stay for one night. next morning i was GONE. I found a great deal at 4 star hotel Angelos (for only 15euros/night more) on the other side of the river: I had the best experience there. Rooms and service was awsome and breakfasts are the best i've ever seen at hotels and were included into the room price. The only reason i'm giving 2 stars is because the second room i was given was decent.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

This hotel which was very cheap and clean, with impeccably mannered staff was a real find .
I can honestly say. Totally unpretentious, but providing more than courtesy. Concern and care for an Aussie out of his depth! Good luck to all of you! You're "BEAUT" as we say here in Australia!
Brent Anthony Egan
Sydney, AUSTRALIA

Room Tip: Fantastic staff with an eye for the absurd like me
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank athanasius_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

was told on arrival - we have a problem with your room, we will pay for a taxi to another hotel. The other hotel was miles away across the river so we argued with them until they got us a hotel (which turned out to be a hostel) in the same area. The receptionist admitted to me that they had sold our room that morning along with another two because the Scotland football match was on, although he later changed his story and said the room had a burst pipe. Obviously I would not go back

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mississauga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

My boyfriend and I (we are in our mid 20's) stayed at this hotel for one night in late September. The location of this hotel is perfect for visiting Old, Lesser and New Town's main attractions. There is a tram stop located right outside the hotel doors. We didn't find a need to use any public transportation as everything is within walking distance (including Prague Castle). The staff is very friendly and speak English very well. We were in room 22 on the third floor. The room was basic with a double bed, TV, phone, and private washroom. We had hot water but there wasn't enough for both of us to have a full shower (my bf had to take a very quick shower as I had used up most of the hot water in a 10 min shower). The bedding wasn't too comfortable but after a long day of sight seeing it did its job. The breakfast had a lot of variety, enough to get a decent meal for a full day of walking. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to get a decent night's rest.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agnesszczerba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Take plenty of warm clothes ,it was warmer outside in the rain and wind .Hotel reception always blamed the Manager for no heating.Breakfast was very poor,all hot food was cold and bread stale.On the up side the Restaurant next door served great meals at good prices.Hotel in good location .Room was large but beds very hard and uncomfortable and not enough covers.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Atlante Residence - Ai Quattro Angeli
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Andante Hotel
Andante Hotel
#301 of 649 in Prague
189 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#122 of 649 in Prague
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Prague Center Hostel
Prague Center Hostel
#427 of 649 in Prague
77 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Merlin
Hotel Merlin
#477 of 649 in Prague
155 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel PurPur
Hotel PurPur
#328 of 649 in Prague
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hotel Colloseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hotel Colloseum

Property: hotel Colloseum
Address: Myslikova 282/26, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #472 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — hotel Colloseum 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your hotel Colloseum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colloseum-Cerny Konicek Hotel Prague
Colloseum Cerny Konicek Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing