We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Atlas
Nearby Hotels
US$154
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$244
US$239
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$171
US$166
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$128
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$198
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$201
US$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Vienna House Diplomat Prague(Prague)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Unitas Hotel(Prague)
US$220
US$207
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Art Nouveau Palace Hotel(Prague)
US$265
US$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$181
US$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
1
10
5
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
10
5
6
4
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We booked and paid for a private room for two nights, and was "upgraded" to our own apartment-type accommodation about 5 minutes walking from the main hostel. I appreciated the upgrade, yes, but the apartment was old and very dingy, with very uncomfortable beds. It was very dark, with no WiFi or internet access. The kitchen area was filthy with grease spots all over the walls and surrounding area, and no kitchen sink - so do your dishes in the washroom. The carpet was old and dirty. The whole apartment was just very grim and dirty looking.

I don't know how much they would actually charge for the "apartment" accommodation. We actually needed accommodation for one more night in Prague and found a "5-star hotel" style hostel at the same price just down the same street (which I will write about in another review).

The owner was very friendly and helpful. However, with all the hostels we stayed at, we could have found a better and cleaner place for the price we paid - and so can you.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Yes, we were in the red light district with two cabarets and one club savna, there are black people on the corners, we were in the room for 13 people, but....it's fine. It's save (you must lock), clean, water is always warm, you can cook, very spacious and near are the markets that are very cheap. The only disadvantage is that our room was on top of the building (5 floor) and we have to walk all this stairs.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank eka b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

We booked and paid for a private ensuite room and were given a room that was not ensuite. We had to cross a common kitchen area to use the private toilet and shower. it was Easter weekend and everywhere was booked solid and we had no option but to accept the situation. I would not recommend this hostel.

The location on a street full of gogo clubs and sex clubs didn't help any.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank klmcc2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2008

There are several things that Hostel Atlas does not tell you on its website. Firstly, it is located in what is effectively Prague's red-light district. It shares a block with no fewer than five strip-clubs, and it is par for the course for drug dealers and prostitutes to advertise their wares to various passerby. Moreover, Wenceslas Square is by no means the real heart of Prague; it is an overcommercialized and grungy corner of an otherwise magnificent city that boasts more than its fair share of beautiful neighborhoods and architecture.
Because of this location, the Hostel Atlas has plenty of riffraff in its general area. The locks are easily pickable, and there are all sorts of ways to sneak into the hostel for any thief. I had a state-of-the-art digital camera stolen sometime between the hours of 2 and 7 AM one night, and my friends traveling with me also had property stolen (a coat and a battery charger.) All the doors, of course, were locked, but the proprietors' explanation in the morning was somewhere along the lines of "Yes, the door can be locked, but it is still easy for the locks to be picked." Not an explanation for those who want to sleep easy.
The rooms on the upper floors are nice flat-style accommodations, but the ground floor is a shabby little apartment with a "common room" that boasts a perpetually broken computer and a tv. This area is actually an area belonging to the first-floor apartment, but it is also a common room for the rest of the hostel. It was not serving as such when I was there, however. This room is also directly at street level, so good luck sleeping through the nightly parade of drunks that take to the streets after dark.

If you:
a. Want to stay in a nice area in Prague, with good restaurants,
cultural activities, shopping, etc.
b. don't want your property stolen by local thieves
c. want friendly and honest staff, along with good
accommodations
d. Don't mind paying a few crowns extra,

Definitely, definitely, take your business elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SigmundFloyd1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2007

The Hostel Atlas was a great place for the 4 of us college sophomores.

We were right down the street from the National Museum and the huge bustling square on which it is located.

Since we are young we walked everywhere and found our hostel to be in a very advantageous location. We were able to walk back after long nights out, even up the 138 steps or so to get to our room which was on the top floor. The steps were arduous but made for a unique experience. Plus, the high climb had a silver lining in that we had an incredible view from our shared kitchen of the Prague skyline.

Our room had a skylight which was nice to get air into our room while also providing for a nice view of the street.

I would recommend this hostel for youthful, budget travelers who are familiar with what a hostel entails (getting close with roommates, sharing bathrooms and kitchens, and other minor inconveniences)

  • Stayed: March 2005, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank illadelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews