We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ripped off” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlas

Atlas
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Atlas
Ranked #394 of 661 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Dublin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ripped off”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

We booked and paid for a private ensuite room and were given a room that was not ensuite. We had to cross a common kitchen area to use the private toilet and shower. it was Easter weekend and everywhere was booked solid and we had no option but to accept the situation. I would not recommend this hostel.

The location on a street full of gogo clubs and sex clubs didn't help any.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank klmcc2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    10
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
3
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2008

There are several things that Hostel Atlas does not tell you on its website. Firstly, it is located in what is effectively Prague's red-light district. It shares a block with no fewer than five strip-clubs, and it is par for the course for drug dealers and prostitutes to advertise their wares to various passerby. Moreover, Wenceslas Square is by no means the real heart of Prague; it is an overcommercialized and grungy corner of an otherwise magnificent city that boasts more than its fair share of beautiful neighborhoods and architecture.
Because of this location, the Hostel Atlas has plenty of riffraff in its general area. The locks are easily pickable, and there are all sorts of ways to sneak into the hostel for any thief. I had a state-of-the-art digital camera stolen sometime between the hours of 2 and 7 AM one night, and my friends traveling with me also had property stolen (a coat and a battery charger.) All the doors, of course, were locked, but the proprietors' explanation in the morning was somewhere along the lines of "Yes, the door can be locked, but it is still easy for the locks to be picked." Not an explanation for those who want to sleep easy.
The rooms on the upper floors are nice flat-style accommodations, but the ground floor is a shabby little apartment with a "common room" that boasts a perpetually broken computer and a tv. This area is actually an area belonging to the first-floor apartment, but it is also a common room for the rest of the hostel. It was not serving as such when I was there, however. This room is also directly at street level, so good luck sleeping through the nightly parade of drunks that take to the streets after dark.

If you:
a. Want to stay in a nice area in Prague, with good restaurants,
cultural activities, shopping, etc.
b. don't want your property stolen by local thieves
c. want friendly and honest staff, along with good
accommodations
d. Don't mind paying a few crowns extra,

Definitely, definitely, take your business elsewhere.

  • Liked — It was on the cheap side
  • Disliked — It had poor security, the staff was unhelpful, the internet did not work, it was loud at night, the neighboorhood was awful
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SigmundFloyd1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2007

The Hostel Atlas was a great place for the 4 of us college sophomores.

We were right down the street from the National Museum and the huge bustling square on which it is located.

Since we are young we walked everywhere and found our hostel to be in a very advantageous location. We were able to walk back after long nights out, even up the 138 steps or so to get to our room which was on the top floor. The steps were arduous but made for a unique experience. Plus, the high climb had a silver lining in that we had an incredible view from our shared kitchen of the Prague skyline.

Our room had a skylight which was nice to get air into our room while also providing for a nice view of the street.

I would recommend this hostel for youthful, budget travelers who are familiar with what a hostel entails (getting close with roommates, sharing bathrooms and kitchens, and other minor inconveniences)

  • Liked — We had our own private room for 4 travelers, perfect for spring breakers
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed March 2005, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank illadelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2007

Friendly and accomodating staff, clean and simple facilities, rather worn bed linens (could use a wash), free internet access, excellent location--walkable to all the city's main attractions although in a mini red-light district, up 5 flights of stairs to our room (!) although not all rooms were up that high, clean bathroom, but no overhead shower/shower curtain and limited hot water, seemed quite secure/safe for a hostel (lots of reminders to lock the doors, keep intruder out, etc.) excellent deal if you're looking for an inexpensive place to throw your stuff and catch a few hours' sleep between checking out the city.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — Uncomfy beds and lack of overhead shower/shower curtain
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k99js06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Andante Hotel
Andante Hotel
#288 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
K+K Hotel Fenix
K+K Hotel Fenix
#135 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Amarilis
Amarilis
#121 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Archibald City
Archibald City
#105 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Majestic Plaza Prague
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Radisson Blu Alcron Hotel, Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas

Property: Atlas
Address: Ve Smechkach 603/13, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 661 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Atlas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Atlas Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing