We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly staff”
Review of Archibald City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Archibald City
Ranked #104 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We were disappointed by the staff in the hotel, namely the receptionist called Eduard who didn't bother to stop chatting to another hotel employee when we arrived. While we were checking-in he was also unfriendly which made the first impression of the hotel bad. The room was fine, clean and quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charmelle_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald City, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Tatyana,
first of all I would like to Thank you for your stay and your comments about it, although it is not pleasant for me to read this kind of review but please be sure that it´s very important for me to avoid these inconveniences for future...Please accept my sincere apology for troubles with a receptionist and for bad manners that you found during check-in.
Thanks a lot in advance.

Best regards,
Jan Kalenda
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (925)
There are newer reviews for Archibald City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

194 - 200 of 925 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Archibald City Hotel, very central hotel 10/15 minutes to main square. Facilities at the hotel are all very clean and the staff are in general very friendly, big smile most of the time. Breakfast perfectly acceptable, lots of choice and plenty of it. If I had to make a negative comment, it would be that the room was extremely hot, we had to sleep with the window open as the room was at a constant 24.5 and there was nothing the hotel could do about it. Sounds odd when you think it's in the minus's outside. Great place though to use as a base during your stay.

Room Tip: Best to be at the back if you want the window open, roadside quite busy.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Level38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear sirs,

thank you so much for your feedback following your recent stay at Archibald City Hotel in Prague. I was really pleased to read that we met your expectations in terms of the facilities and most importantly of staff. Our hotel is a great place to be near the city center and I do hope that you get the chance to come and stay with us again in the near future.
We want to continuously improve our hotel based on guests reviews so nowadays there is no problem with temperature in the rooms.

Kind regards,
Jan Kalenda
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I booked using Hotels.com but used quidco, to get cashback. The hotel was a very good price and is definitely 4 star. Location is great, literally walking distance to Wencleslas Square and 3 metro station stops. I will stay here again when on business and intend to bring my husband for a leisure trip too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank novisfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear guest,
thank you for sharing your experience at Archibald City hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The location is really very near to wencelas square and just 12 minutes walk from Old Town.

We look forward to the opportunity to host you once again at the Archibald City. You will be welcomed.
Our reservation department gives you a special price for the next stay with husband.

With best regards,
Jan Kalenda
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

had to book in here at the last minute as there was a problem with our booked apartment but was very happy with the hotel all the staff were very nice and helpful which can be rare in prague the room itself was very clean warm and comfy with tea/coffee makeing facs in the room ,nice breakfast buffet was served in the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Sir,
thank you for your kind words about our hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed your last moment stay! I can only agree with your observation of quality of the local service. It is our longterm aim to offer all our guests a nice and welcoming atmosphere!

So once again, thank you very much, we hope that you will return to us next time!

With sincere regards from sunny Prague,

E.Aljanabi, FOM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We received a very warm welcome from the friendly reception staff who provided us with city maps and other tourist information which is always helpful on your first visit to a city. The room was excellent: spacious, clean, comfortable, and with all the amenities usually expected (kettle, tea, coffee, safe, spare pillows and blankets). The location of the hotel is a couple of minutes walk from Wenceslas Square down a side street with local shops and bars. The walk to the old square and Charles Bridge etc are that bit further, possibly 15 minutes walk away, but still very easily accessible. The breakfast was very nice with plenty of choices between cereals, hot and cold breakfasts, fruit, breads and so on - something for everyone. My boyfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Archibald City Hotel in Prague and would recommend it to anyone on a smaller budget but who still wants that high quality.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurenuk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Madam,
thank you very much for your nice rating and review! It´s a pleasure to hear that you had a good time in our hotel. I am expecially glad that you enjoyed our breakfast, since we are putting a lot of effort to offer our dear guests new, local and seasonal food every day. If you will plan to return to our hotel, you can contact me or our reservation dept. and we will prepare you another nice stay!

Wishing you a very nice and successful New year 2014,

E.Aljanabi, FOM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Well set up and good location for this hotel. Within two minutes walk of Wenceslas Sq. Although a little further from the Charles Bridge area, it's still only a comfortable 15 min stroll.
Comfortable rooms with all you'd expect of a city four star. Could do with a coffee bar, though

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald City, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear Sir,
thank you very much for your rating of our hotel. It´s a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay! It is indeed very central location! Also I can assure you that a coffee bar is in plans for the next year, thank you for the great feedback! If you´ll ever plan to return to our hotel and will have special requests, please do not hesitate to contact me or anybody of our staff, we will be glad to prepare you another great stay.

Sincerely from Christmas Prague,

E.Aljanabi, FOM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We (couple from Holland) have stayed this weekend for 3 nights in hotel Archibald City.
The hotel is great. Big rooms, big 2 personsbed and very clean! The breakfast is super!! Many choices: all kind of eggs, bacon, yoghurt, fruit, but also a lot of choices of Bread, croissants, cakes and so on. Really Nice and good!! The location is also perfect. On walking distance of all the tourist highlights and also near a metro station (museum) when needed... Wencleas square is just around the corner. We would absolutely recommend this hotel!! The only thing what could be better was the hight of the shower. My husband was longer then the shower was. The service was also good, we were able to print our flight tickets on a printer of the hotel without any charge, great!! We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel and in the beautifull city of Pragua.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank W D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Sirs,
it´s a great pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay in Prague and in our hotel! Thank you very much for your kind review, we really appreciate it! Especially the parts about our service and our breakfast. I can assure you that we are working on improving our products every single day!

So once again, thank you very much and I wish you Merry Christmas and a great and successful year 2014!
E.Aljanabi, FOM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
1.Republic
1.Republic
#118 of 648 in Prague
604 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Boutique Hotel Seven Days
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#112 of 648 in Prague
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Caesar Prague
Hotel Caesar Prague
#184 of 648 in Prague
1,317 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Clement Prague
Hotel Clement Prague
#65 of 648 in Prague
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archibald City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archibald City

Address: Zhitna 1319/33, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#112 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#124 Business Hotel in Prague
#159 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £49 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Archibald City 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Archibald City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Archibald City
Archibald City Hotel Prague
Archibald Hotel Prague
Archibald City Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing