We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

Stefanik Observatory
Ranked #163 of 951 things to do in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Paignton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

There are good and bad points to the observatory, the staff are friendly and approach you to give you information, show you the telescopes and explain exactly what it is you're looking at, the price is low and there are fun little experiments you can do. Finding the observatories is the tricky part, as the doors were left closed with no sign as to whether we could go up or if it was 'staff only', there is a lot of information which gets too much by the end, the presentation of the information was quite amateur. Overall i did enjoy my experience and would have more so if i was in the mood to have read through more of the information and take in what it was telling me.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    18
    7
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“History and science mix”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

when i decided to visit Stefanik's observatory, i was a bit reluctant to climb the hill in the dark. No mistake there, the area is not lit as darkness is required for stargazing. Fortunately you can go up via the funicular (last stop) and the observatory is just a minute away on the left side of the stop.
the observatory has two telescope arrays: a pair of refractors and one reflector. i was lucky enough to catch a few minutes viewing the rings of saturn despite a cloudy evening.
aside from the telescopes, the observatory houses a small museum of astronomical instruments, an area dedicated to interactive optics experiments as well as a history of astronomical prague (mainly mentioning tycho brahe).
all in all a great time for stargazers.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Austerus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great value!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I hadn't been in the observatory for a few years and could not remember much about it so was pleasantly surprised when I returned. The price was very reasonable (55CK) and all the staff spoke very good English and were extremely helpful and happy to answer all my questions. We went on a sunny day so were able to look through the telescopes to the sun spots and also managed to look at Venus. There was a member of staff at each telescope who talked each visitor through what they were looking at in great detail. The exhibits all had English translations as well and there were a few hands-on activities at the end. It was interesting to see how much I would weigh on different planets! I would definitely recommend spending some time in here on a visit to Petrin, though it is probably better when the weather is good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingbug_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting and great value”
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Paid 55kc each for entry and got lots for the money. We were practically the only people there for an hour so got personal tour. Got to see both the telescopes. Unfortunately it was wet and cloudy so they were focused onto the Perrin tower. But had it been nice they show you sun spots. They all speak English and the exhibits all duel language. Great little place to learn and spend an hour. Highly recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank puddleduck16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
2,781 reviews
2,346 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,202 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

This is a tiny and run-down observatory on Petřín hill.
It offers VERY little activities (especially for kids) and with unsteady opening hours you might as well give it a miss.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheShis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stefanik Observatory also viewed

 

Been to Stefanik Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing