We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cant find a fault in Jana”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel u Svateho Jana
Ranked #300 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2006

I stayed here for a weekend in December

The hotel was much better than I had hoped, for from the moment we got there I found everyone who worked here exceptionally friendly and efficient.
The staff gave us great reccommendations for restaurants and took the time to look up on the internet for specific directions if they didnt know them

The room was lovely spotlessly clean and huge
We overlooked churches from the windows in the room .
Only negatives I could see were that the shower was just suspended just above the bath taps and the tram noise might irritate .

Breakfast was fine hams cheeses breads coffees etc
To get to the hotel is very easy from public transport too
Take bus 100 to Zličín then get a train to Karlovo náměstí
coming out of the station facing the square turn right walk down about 100 metres and the hotel gate is on your left after a church
See details on

We walked everywhere from there as my poor wrecked feet can testify
Also the hotel seems to have more reviews here
http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g274707-d595031-Reviews-Hotel_u_Svateho_Jana-Prague_Bohemia.html


  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank irishvisit0r_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2006

Stayed two nights in this wonderful hotel we found thanks to Trip Advisor. There was good heating facilities, very big and comfortable room with comfy mattresses and pillows. The hotel was spotless clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful, they would answer any question we may have and spoke English but not so good.
One of the best things was that the bathroom had a tub and towel heater (we even could wash and dry all our clothes!).
There was a full buffet breakfast with bread, fruits, jam, cheese, tea, coffee, toaster, marmalades, etc.
The noise from the street wasn't that disturbing, mostly because of the double windows.
Less than 200 meters away there is the Karlovo Namesti subway station and square from which you can reach the most important touristic attractions in a matter of minutes.
However, the surrounding area was a bit dark at night and it gave the feeling (mostly because of the high walls of the church) that no one walked around there. It's not a very lively area, but I guess it's not so important when you are out all day on tour!

Overall, a great choice for around 50 euro, with breakfast and taxes included!

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fëarandir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2006

Great value for money hotel very close to central attractions.
Clean, bright and spacious rooms, very comfortable beds with duvets and pillows by Habitat. Staff are very friendly and efficient.
Great little restaurant/pub around the corner. Tram and Metro stops nearby. All in all, a bargain for the price and I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank EliKoenig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2006

Really enjoyed staying at this hotel, The location is fantastic and feels like you are staying somewhere calm and peaceful meanwhile you are still in central Prague ! There is a tram stop close by, and about 10 mins walk there are some good restaurants and bars. The breakfast is a free buffet. I would avoid staying in rooms 11 & 12 as these are on street level and about 2 metres away from the thundering trams ! It wasnt actually too bad as there are 3 layers of windows. Also, this is a non smoking hotel so any cigarette breaks means a trip to the courtyard outside reception.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank thermomanlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2006

We (3 friends) were there this august and got a very spacious room, perfectly clean, in the upper floor. The satff is friendly. Located in a quiet area of the city, just 300 m from the river and a metro station, but can go walking to the very center in just 10-15 minutes. My parents went two weeks before and got a smaller room in the basement, but got the same impression. Very good deal!!!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Roger-BCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2006

This is a basic, no-frills hotel located near
a church and looks like a remodeled building
that once housed church nuns.

There are only 13 rooms, breakfast is included
is quite adequate with breads, cereals, juices,
cold cuts/cheese, as well as other things.

Location is about 200-300m from the main trams
and the subway station - karlov namesti. there is a tram
stop closer to the hotel but many of those lines are less
popular with the tourist.

no internet access though the receptionist was very helpful.
Basic bathroom (private), bed, and closet. TV did have
1 english speaking channel (CNN).

there was a fan included - but we were in prague when
temps were soaring to 36-37C with significant humidity
making it unbearable despite the fan and open windows.
also, mosquitoes were always a problem if you opened
the windows too long.

recommend this for those who want basic, no-frills
accomodation on the level of pension and B&B (european)
above hostel, good location. in spring/fall/winter it would
be fine. in the heat of the summer if you need a/c this is
not the place to be.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
11  Thank Trekkersocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2006

The Hotel at St John is a good base for a stay in Prague. The accomodation is basic but is spotless and clean, and the hotel is centrally located with excellent public transport links to the major city sights and attractions. It is good value for the price - 2100 kc per night (approx £50), this decreases in low season.

The Hotel is situated on a slight hill in an old church rectory. The building's entrance is large and grand from the outside and is accessible after about 20 steps up from the gate entrance from the road. The reception area is quite small and the receptionist was friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 11 which was in the lowest level of the building (level with the road). Trams did go past very frequently and could be heard, but they have 3 sets windows, one of which is double glazed, to minimise the noise. There is a TV, however, only CNN and Eurosport caters for English speaking guests. The bathroom was clean but had no overhead shower, which was a little dissapointing. The shower head was attached just above the bath, which made for baths or sit-down showers. Breakfast was simple but adequate (rolls, cheese, ham, jam, yoghurt, toast, tea, coffee, fruit etc).

There is a tram stop visible to the left as you come out of the hotel gate which is about 100 metres away. The tram is a great way to get around and is inexpensive. From this stop, the number 24 will take you Wenclas Sqaure (5 mins), and the number 18 will take you to Charles Bridge then Prague Castle (10 mins). However, you could walk to most of them from the hotel if you wish. Myself and my fiance did this on the first day, but then took the trams for the rest of stay.

Tip - the hotel can arrange to pick you up from the airport for 590 kc (£14). We asked for this as our flight was late evening and we wanted an easy, quick transfer to the hotel so that we could check out the centre before it got too late. However, after our stay we made our own way back to the Airport. This was very straightforward and incredibly cheap, just 20kc (50p) for the Jizdenka (Transfer ticket). This allows you to take a tram, metro and bus transfer to the airport! This only took 45 mins (only 15 mins more than the taxi). Follow these instructions to get to the Airport (reverse for the opposite journey) - take Tram 18 from outside hotel to Malostranska underground station, then take metro to Dejvicka station, then take bus 119 to the airport (bus trip is about 25 mins).

This was our first time in Prague and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. It is a beautiful city with lots to see and do, and if you want clean, near-central, inexpensive and good value accomodation, we would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradčany & Letná
Hotel Trinidad Prague Castle
Nové Město (New Town)
Best Western City Hotel Moran
Praha 2
Green Garden Hotel
Green Garden Hotel
#64 of 646 in Prague
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#35 of 646 in Prague
874 reviews
Nové Město (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#22 of 646 in Prague
788 reviews
Nové Město (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#535 of 646 in Prague
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel u Svateho Jana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel u Svateho Jana

Address: Vysehradska 28, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 2
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#103 Family Hotel in Prague
#165 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £37 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel u Svateho Jana 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel At St. John is a hotel of garni category and provides an unusual opportunity of romantic accommodation with mystic atmosphere in the building originally used as a vicarage of the Church of St.John on the Rock. The building was built by architect A.Wiehl in neobaroque style in 1902 and is situated below the church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel u Svateho Jana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Svateho Jana Hotel
u Svateho Jana Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing