We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, staff and rooms”
Review of Hotel Modra Ruze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Modra Ruze
Ranked #233 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“location, staff and rooms”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

One block from the opera house where Mozart conducted the premiere of Don Giovanni on the edge of the old historical center of Prague, nice rooms, competent staff, good breakfast. We spent 5 nights just walking around the city.
We never got to try the restaurant in their basement, good looking menu, though.
Camille works the front desk. She understands English fine but she is the quiet type. The bartender was more extroverted and will help you with the Bercherovka.

Room Tip: We were in a group of 27 on a tour and no one had a bad room. Streets are quiet, the night life is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    164
    52
    9
    9
See reviews for
63
121
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Recently visited Prague again (because we cannot stop admiring her) and stay in Hotel Modra Ruze.(Blue Rose). We have booked a "nice and light" room for our short (2 nights) visit. Upon arrival the very kind and cooperative girl (I guess Agnes) told, because we wanted a nice and light room, she kept for us Room #601 which is the tower (6th floor). (4 floors elevator, 2 floors crawling). I must tell you guys that this is the best room of the hotel with a 360 degree view to the panorama of Prague, which is amaizing!! (Probably the other rooms are also good, but not with this panorama. WIFI is working in the room, breakfast is buffet and superb (except juice which is water), staff is kind, modest,polite, cooperative, not pushy. Location is excellent (city center), even you can park your car in the hotel yard if you leave the car-key at the reception and if you make a early reservation. All in all: my wholehearted recommandation to this hotel!!

Room Tip: Room # 601
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I booked this through booking.com after reading the reviews on trip adviser.

We just returned last night (after 5 nights) but had to write a review as it really is the best place to stay! It is right in the heart of things yet peaceful and VERY comfortable. The Hotel is 2mins walk from both old and new town (both squares) you don't need any transport as everything is within walking distance from the hotel door, Charles bridge, Dancing house and the Estates theater is right next to hotel.
There is a tourist info across the road and half hourly sightseeing trips with guides from the end of the street. plenty of shops, bars, restaurants, street food and entertainment all within the hotels location. The railway station is 10mins walk away and a cab from the airport £18-20.
The hotel is VERY clean, marble and wooden floors, crisp white bed linen,room fridge,mini bar, fresh fluffy towels, large bathroom, hairdryer, bath oils, shampoos etc
.Good breakfast choice from about 20 different things including apple strudel. Staff great with 2 lifts to all floors, free wifi with a lounge, bar in hotel and a cave/basement restaurant next door.
We liked this hotel so much we are re-booking for April...............I highly recommend and wouldn't stay anywhere else while in Prague.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littledancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, NE
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Directly off Wenceslaus Square and close to the Old Town Square. We did not find out until our last day there was actually a really neat restaurant in the hotel basement!
Our room was spacious and updated.
The staff went overboard to be helpful. Our traveling companions had a tragedy occur in the U.S. and had to make immediate return plans. The desk clerk spent over two hours on the phone getting flight connections for them and then sent them to the airport in a taxi compliments of the hotel.
We will definitely stay there whenever we return to Prague, the hidden jewel of Europe!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I was after a hotel with a quiet room, had on site parking, wifi in the room, close to the action and at a reasonable price. This was it! Right in the middle of the old town and in walking distance to the attractions. Our cultural experience was amazing as we wandered around the streets with the stalls and street vendors. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and all the conditions were met to perfection. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngusMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Situated between the two main town squares, great location. Lots of eateries close by, and the river. Staff could all speak English and were very helpful. Breakfast was great, with a lot of choice.Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyDragon53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

As many of the previous reviews state, the location is perfect for those who wish to see the central city. The most tourist attractions are within a walking distance, and if you wish to go further, there is an underground station just behind the corner.

The room was spacious, clean and beautifully furnished in line with long history of the building. Luxurious it might not have been, but it offered every comfort you need, and at a very reasonable price. Breakfast was very good with a lot of choice. There was a wide variety of warm food, cheeses, cold cuts and pastry, and positively also of fruit and vegetables. Special thanks for apple strudel!

The only minus point comes for the attitude of some of the staff who seemed to be more interested in socialising with each other that getting the breakfast on the table. Enjoying your job is a good thing, but in a hotel of this quality, you'd also expect a professional attitude from everyone. This goes also for the housekeeping staff, who had long and loud discussions in the corridor early in the morning.

Nevertheless, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone who is going to stay in Prague.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#73 of 649 in Prague
712 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Prague Golden Age
Prague Golden Age
#293 of 649 in Prague
169 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Melantrich
Hotel Melantrich
#188 of 649 in Prague
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
At the Old Lady (U stare pani)
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Perla Hotel
Perla Hotel
#124 of 649 in Prague
1,139 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
NYX Prague
NYX Prague
#178 of 649 in Prague
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modra Ruze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modra Ruze

Property: Hotel Modra Ruze
Address: Rytirska 403/16, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#158 Business Hotel in Prague
#177 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#185 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modra Ruze 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Modra Ruze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modra Ruze Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing