We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”
Review of Hotel Modra Ruze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Modra Ruze
Ranked #238 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2007

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Modra Ruze. Here I will list the good and the bad points of this hotel:

The good - The location was within walking distance to all major attractions, quietness of the rooms which were equiped with large mirrors, mini bar and safety deposit box, the bathrooms which included bathrobes, toiletries and towels which were changed daily. The staff were very helpful and it was nice to able to check in when we arrived early and to be shown directly to our rooms. At night the hotel doors were locked and to gain access you had to ring the bell which made you feel very secure in such a central location. The hotel also has its own ATM cash machine at the front door which is very handy.

The bad - The hotel advertises a night bar and reading room with fireplace, these were never open and the latter was kept locked. The lobby bar was open until 10pm and then closed promtly so after a night at the theatre or opera it was impossible to get a drink to end the evening. The breakfast room was nice and boasted a fireplace even though the logs were all ready this fire was never lit which we would have expected for a snowy January. The breakfast was not to our taste and we only went twice, cabbage and donuts are not what we are used to for breakfast and we would have liked to have been able to have some toast.

Bedrooms - The bedrooms were nice and big and we had an adjacent sitting room. Being a 7 night stay we would have expected clean sheets half way through our stay, the nearest we came was having clean pillow cases on our last day.

Bathroom - This was a nice size but was let down by having no stand up shower and there were no plugs provided for the sink. The lighting in the bathroom wasnt suitable for ladies to do their make-up and we would have expected a 4 star hotel to have a shaving/make-up mirror.
Our bedroom no 308 was extremley hot even without the heating on and we were not expecting to have to put the air conditioning on in Janaury.

Even with all the minor faults of this hotel it would not put us off staying there again which we hope to do in the very near future.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TORII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Modra Ruze
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2007

Lets get the bad points out of the way.
For a 4* hotel there wasn't any tea or coffee making facilities in the room.
The room did not contain a security box.
The pillows were the worst I have ever experienced in the World.
The large night bar never opened
Good points.
Excellent location.
Very friendly English speaking staff.
Spotlessly clean
Brilliant breakfast
If I was going to Prage again would I stay at the Modre Ruze? YES

Stayed: January 2007
10  Thank splotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2006

After checking out of the hotel from hell we checked into the Modra Ruze, being as it has only been re-opened for the last 6 months everything was newly painted etc. The spacious double room we had consisted of bed, bedside cabinet, shelf, table and 2 chairs, tv, wardrobe, mini fridge, dressing table/desk. Beautifully tiled bathroom with a great power shower and hairdryer which was very impressive with my thick hair! The room also had a big picture window which gave plenty of light into the room. The only thing it lacked was a mirror over the dressing table and a full length mirror which could be fitted inside a wardrobe door. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and all speak quite good English. With regards to breakfast they have tried to cater for all. Cereals, yogurt, ham, cheese, eggs and sausages. There is also an underground restaurant which is part of the hotel but is next door but one and down the steps where we had a wonderful birthday dinner, 4 courses and wine at a very good price. The hotel is prefectly placed in the centre of town but not on the main drag, just off a small road, within easy reach of all the attractions. We will definately use this hotel if we came back to Prague and will recommend it to friends travelling there too.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank UKDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2006

Stayed two nights in early May on a business trip to Prague. Location is the hotel's best attraction: two minutes walk to Old Town Square in one direction and around the corner from Wenceslas Sq. The hotel itself is very comfortable, rooms are spacious (even the single rooms are the size of a double room in some of the international chains), modern and with excellent showers. Staff are reasonably helpful but certainly not effusive in their welcome. The only quibble is with the breakfast: the buffet breakfast is ok but in this price category I would have expected better.
For transfer from and back to the airport I prebooked with [--]. they were very efficient and the drivers were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oxforduser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank minestronediverdura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Högt upp ar bast for tystnaden då det är en del aktivitet utanför hotellet under turistsäsongen!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank k9_stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sirvaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#72 of 647 in Prague
725 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#74 of 647 in Prague
1,533 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Melantrich
Hotel Melantrich
#204 of 647 in Prague
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
At the Old Lady (U stare pani)
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Prague Golden Age
Prague Golden Age
#286 of 647 in Prague
174 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Liberty
Hotel Liberty
#30 of 647 in Prague
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modra Ruze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modra Ruze

Address: Rytirska 403/16, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#157 Business Hotel in Prague
#177 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#187 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £53 - £638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modra Ruze 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Modra Ruze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modra Ruze Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing