We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst Ibis ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Praha Old Town
Ranked #156 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
1  Thank Lucian M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,047)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

638 - 644 of 3,047 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed for 5 nights. Breakfast was plentiful, beds clean and comfortable, service polite enough and helpful. The best part would be the location - walking distance to shopping, theatres, sites such as the Charles bridge. Public transport to the doorstep, and a shopping centre right next door. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank songstress3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiří H, Manager at Ibis Praha Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear songstress3,

thank you for your nice comments. I am very happy reading you enjoyed our hospitality during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Jiří Hnolík, Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The good news is that the hotel is not in fact the rebuilt tenement you see on the website. The lobby tunnels through that old building to a modern reinforced concrete building in the backyard.

The drawback is that most rooms must have views of nothing more than light shafts and backyards. I was on the eighth floor, one below the penthouse, and my room was catty-corner from the street, so I had at least something of a view.

There are quite a few wings, corridors, and corners. I took a wrong turn on the way to the elevator. Every. Single. Time.

The room was clean, with modern, functional furniture: a large bed, a flat-screen TV I didn't use, a suitcase rack, a chair with a writing surface by the window, but only a clothes rack and some shelves instead of a wardrobe. A bottle of water with a rather high price tag on it stood in for a minibar. Still, the Prague faucet water is safe to drink and free.

The bathroom had a hairdryer, a shower stall, and no bathtub. Water pressure of the shower and drainage throughput of the sink were nothing to write home about.

There's free Wi-Fi in the rooms, one of the reasons I chose the hotel. Signal and speed were fine on my phone.

The multilingual staff was very polite, friendly, and helpful. Safe deposit boxes are available in the baggage room, which is usually kept locked. They will open the door for you, and you can access your box yourself.

The location is perfect, just steps from Republic Square. The Powder Tower there is the first sight on the main tourist drag leading to the Old Town Square, the Charles Bridge, and the Castle.

Right next door to the hotel, facing Republic Square, also in the courtyard of a bunch of old buildings, is the Palladium, a mall with all the stores and fast-food joints you may want. A Citibank branch is on the next block.

The streetcar stops out front and the subway is on Republic Square. Be warned, however, that the subway station, like many others in Prague, has extremely long, steep, and fast escalators, and for all I know, no stairs or elevator. So the subway may well be useless if you suffer from vertigo or have baggage.

The best airport transportation is provided by buses and shuttle buses that stop near the hotel. It looks like you can walk to the shuttle bus stop through a cross-block passage. Yeah, I wish I had known that before I dragged my suitcase around the block coming and going.

On my wanderings through Prague I came across the two other, cheaper, Ibis Hotels in the city. One is in the New Town, with its wide streets and relatively new buildings much less charming than the Old Town. The other one is in Andel, even farther away, out behind the Lesser Town. Both neighborhoods seemed slightly sketchy by Prague standards, although that's still pretty civilized. Anyway, spending a little more on the Old Town Hotel beats having to take the subway or streetcar every morning and night.

Despite the two or three flaws, given location and price, the Ibis Praha Old Town provides excellent value.

Room Tip: Try to get one with something of a view, on the upper floors and not facing a courtyard or light sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank TheLandshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiří H, Manager at Ibis Praha Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear TheLandshark,

thanks indeed for your detailed review. We are delighted that overall you were happy with your visit and we look forward to your next stay sometime soon.

With kind regards from Prague
JIří Hnolík, Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I felt like every employee of this hotel hated their job. I did not find one friendly staff member. The bartender was unpleasant and the front desk personnel were VERY DISINTERESTED in providing information about hotel services and maneuvering around Prague. I had a six day reservation here and left after three. We found a better value and extraordinary staff, service, food and everything at the Perla Hotel not far from the IBIS Old Town. The IBIS can driver charged me approximately 18 dollars to travel 1/2 mile to my new hotel. Had I know it was that close I would have walked.

Room Tip: My room look out into an enclosed court yard facing other rooms. While the room was clean and modern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiří H, Manager at Ibis Praha Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Tina W,

Thank you for providing your feedback to other travellers. I am really sorry to read about your disappointing experience. Your comment about "unpleasant" and "disinterested" staff has surprised me a lot as majority of our guests point out warm and friendly staff as it can be observed in other Tripadvisor reviews. We feel we provide good value and services to our guests, but it seems we fell short in your case.

Yours sincerely
Jiří Hnolík, Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed there for 4 days 2 adults and 1 child and when we arrived we were upgraded to a triple room for free - very nice service - If you need a big playground in the neighberhood then take tram number 5 at the other side to a park in the front of the Mainstation

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiří H, Manager at Ibis Praha Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Thomas R,

Thank you very much for your lovely review - glad you all enjoyed your visit.
Come back soon.

Kindest regards from Ibis Praha Old Town
Jiří Hnolík, Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank HenryRocha
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jiří H, Manager at Ibis Praha Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. Great location (10 min walk to old town square) great rooms, comfortable beds & friendly staff! Breakfast was included as part of the price we paid - wouldn't call it extravagant but can't complain either. Free wifi was good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nilzz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiří H, Manager at Ibis Praha Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Nilzz82,

thank you very much for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed our sweet bed by ibis and friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again some time.

Kind regards from Prgaue
Jiří Hnolík, Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
#191 of 648 in Prague
1,622 reviews
Praha 5
Occidental Praha Five
Occidental Praha Five
#111 of 648 in Prague
1,530 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 11
Ibis Praha Wenceslas Square
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#91 of 648 in Prague
3,293 reviews
Praha 2
Park Inn Hotel Prague
Park Inn Hotel Prague
#53 of 648 in Prague
2,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Praha Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Praha Old Town

Address: Na Porici 1076/5, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in Prague
#125 Business Hotel in Prague
#133 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £53 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Praha Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Praha Old Town is located in the historical district of Prague and has 271 air-conditioned rooms, a bar serving light meals and snacks 24 hours, private undercover paid parking, one meeting room with a day light and the own limousine service with fixed prices. Free Wi-Fi internet access in all hotel areas. Tickets for cultural events also available at the reception. Fitness centre accessible in the vicinity of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Praha Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Praha Old Town Hotel Prague
Ibis Hotel Prague
Accor Praha Old Town
Ibis Old Town Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing