We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money, perfect location !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence Masna - Prague City Apartments
Ranked #70 of 679 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We stayed 5 nights in this hotel. Our room was overbooked, but they solved the problem immediately. we received the penthouse for the same money !!
the location is just excellent, you can't get better for that money. Close to everything.
Nice flat screen tv, internet in the hall. The cleaning ladies even cleaned our dishes and glasses. The room was very big en clean.
I can really recommand this hotel for friends, couples, older people, ...

Enjoy your stay in Prague !!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexi_Vangerven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2009

Spent 3 nights in Masna Residence and it was a great stay. Booked through the hotel website, which was easy. Also scheduled a car to pick us up at train station (300 czk). The residence only has reception from 8am to noon. We arrived in the afternoon so the driver drove us to their office first. (I think the residence was under the group of Prague Apartment Rental, which have lots of properties in the city). The girl was very polite, gave us the keys, maps and the driver took us to the residence.

There was elevator to our floor. But there was a flight of stairs before you get to the elevator (which I didn’t expect)!!! It was about 14-17 steps. It was ok for us (but prefer no stairs since we had big luggage…) but not sure for senior/ handicap…

Room was really quiet since it was facing courtyard. Spacious room with a small balcony. The room was equipped with modern furniture. Washing machine in bathroom was a great idea. We could pack light! (No dryer but they provided a huge hanger) There was kitchenette with microwave, cooking utensils, teapot and cups etc. However, the cups and teapot were not cleaned very well. The room was very clean when first day we were there. The daily cleaning service… Really depends. I found that the cleaning team didn’t clean the floor well. Especially bathroom. Last day of our stay, cleaning team did a better job.

Location was great: Bohemia Bagel across the street, which offers tasty breakfast in affordable price (I think they open till very late too). 10-15 mins walk to Power Gate, Old Town Hall and Black Madonna. There was a convenience store close by opened till 11pm. Also some restaurants/ pubs on the same street. Another PLUS was the free usage of WI-FI. It was not the fastest but reception was ok.

Overall a very happy stay. And price is reasonable. Will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happy_evil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2009

We spent four pleasant nights at Residence Masna 5 in April 2009.
Overall, we were pleased. They arranged a driver to meet us at the airport
and he was there holding a sign with our name. He helped us find an ATM
and assisted us in getting smaller bills at a local airport shop. The car that picked us up was clean..

At check in, we were assigned to Apartment # 203. I had previously requested Apartment # 504 based upon a previous review in Trip Advisor. And I remembered their email confirmation dated January 27, 2009 stating that “You have already booked NO. 504 in Masna,” Unfortunately, I did not bring that email with us. I asked the desk person about 504 and he told us “it is already booked.” I thought to myself “yes, it was supposed to be booked for us.”

Apartment # 203 had a balcony which we wanted but it overlooked the street and at night the cars were noisy as we had the windows open to cool off the apartment. The windows have no screens and we had to kill a few flies that came in with the wind. We had totally unpacked and were getting settled in when the car traffic noise became evident.

The apartment itself was spacious and met our needs. It was very clean except for the ceiling light globe in the kitchen which appeared to have some dead bugs in it.

We had limited success with the internet connection. In the apartment we had two bars of “connection” but when we sat on the stairwell steps outside our apartment door, we had five bars which was a full 100% connection.

The wall safe would not work. We told the desk staff about the internet and wall safe problems. Although it was a Sunday, they had their technician come to the Residence and he fixed the room safe and worked on the computer system for the Residence. We never were able to improve that “two bars” in the room connection. We just sat on the stairs.

We could not figure out to work the clothes washing machine. Desk staff tried to help and then they had the housekeeper turn the right knobs. We were impressed by the responsiveness and friendly attitude of the desk staff who were on site until 12 noon daily. They all had very good English speaking skills.

The living room was spacious and we enjoyed the extra rooms of an apartment. We prepared several meals as there is a grocery store only a short walk away. There is a bakery nearby and the Old Town Square is just a short walk. The location of Residence Masna is very good per the above.

There is no bedroom clock. And typical of European hotels, if you want a washcloth you have to bring your own. The bathroom soaps are tiny and they provided us only two small packets of shampoo. Water leaked from the shower door but we asked for and quickly received extra towels to soak it up. The water was hot.

There was no Kleenex.

On the round kitchen/dining table were instant coffee, tea, sugars with a note that they were complimentary but refills would cost extra.

There were several TV stations but no English speaking channels.

We liked the wooden floors and the open living and dining area.

The kitchen has a dorm type of refrigerator.

There were plenty of electrical outlets which we used to recharge cameras and the laptop.

Bottom line: we would most definitely stay at Residence Masna again, but we would want a quiet room not facing the street. And in summer since it did not have air conditioning, we would stay somewhere that has A/C. The price is very good and the location is great.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarJan6861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2009

We arrived in Prague on a late flight and had an airport pick-up arranged by the apartment managers. Driver was waiting for us on arrival and was very helpful with our luggage. Was very convenient as had to register and pick up the keys at the main office before heading to the apartment at Masna 5.

Apartment was spacious, one bedroom with separate bathroom and kitchen/living area. It was clean, basic and fairly comfortable with couches, dining table, coffee table, large screen tv, dvd player, and wi-fi access. Note that though there is satellite tv available could not find english stations suitable for children (travelling with a young child) so bring your own dvds. There is tea/coffee provided but no other supplies, ie, milk, pepper, salt etc. though there are supermarkets nearby.

They have a washing machine which is very convenient but no dryer and no where to hang the clothes to dry or a drying rack. Had to take our laundry to a laundromat about a 15 min walk away to use the dryers.

My main problem with the apartment (#203) is that it is extremely noisy at night. Although I had asked about the noise level before booking (as I have a young child and I am a fairly light sleeper), I was assured that there was only some street noise.

This was definitely not the case! We found it very noisy as the windows allow you to hear all the traffic (noisy cars, honking). People walking by and talking sounded so loud you could clearly hear their conversations and footsteps. I could probably have coped with this amount of noise but there is a cafe/club at the adjacent corner (right under Masna 9 apartments) which had loud music playing until way past 1am and lots of noisy people outside it talking loudly and yelling.

After explaining to the desk staff that I would not have rented this apartment if they had been up front about the noise (especially about having a club almost right next door), the management did offer to move us. But it was much further from old town (Nove Mestro) and cheaper accommodation - they indicated that this was due to availability. We decided to stay at Masna for the location and so we wouldn't have to drag our now very tired four year old around to a place further away from the main sights.

I would say that if you want accommodation in Prague with self-catering and more room at a fairly reasonable price, Masna apartment is an okay choice . But know that it may be noisy - so suggest you stay on a higher floor (4-6) away from the street or you won't get much sleep!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PerthCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kparizek, Marketing executive at Residence Masna - Prague City Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2009

Thank you for providing a valuable feedback about our residence Masna to other travelers. We are sorry to hear that you had problems with the noise level during your stay. Masna residence is situated in the center of Prague, within convenient walking distances from the main historical, cultural and entertainment sites and shopping opportunities, and offers a variety of possible dining destinations. Nevertheless, Masna Street has always been appreciated by our guests for the peace and tranquility it retains despite the proximity of the pulsating heart of the city. In other words, residence Masna gives its visitors a choice between exploring the facilities of the city center on the one hand and enjoying an undisturbed, restful time in privacy of their apartments on the other. For this reason we have never hesitated to recommend Masna residence to families with younger children and we have not registered any complaints about the noise level there so far.

However, a new bar has opened recently in the vicinity of the residence. Although it is supposed to close by midnight, in practice it remains open an hour or two longer. Its visitors are loud and disturb the silent hours. As far as we know, several claimants from the neighborhood filed their complaints with the local municipality. We hope that the situation will be solved promptly to our visitors’ benefit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

Yes, this is a home away from home. You have your own studio apartment with a sofa and dining table, adequately equipped kitchen, TV and huge bathroom which completed a perfect getaway in a very beautiful city. We immediately fell in love with the place and felt at home.

The staff who all spoke very good english, couldn't have been more helpful. My bag had a flight elsewhere for 24 hours but I was kept well-informed as to the process in locating and delivering it to our room. They had arranged for us to be picked up from the airport in a roomy mini-van, brought to the Residence Masna for 500 Crowns. It's well worth it so we also got them to book the return.

Residence Masna it surrounded by good restaurants and bars in particular we recommend the Kolkovna at V Kolkovne 8 only a few streets away. Excellent beer and pork knuckle but be warned...it's popular! The apartment is very close to the Old Town Square and the metro at the Republic Square but it's also quiet. We went to a couple of concerts at night. We had pre-booked seats at the Rudolfinum to see the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra which was absolutely stunning. The night before we made a rushed decision to see what we thought was going to be the Prague Philharmonic playing at the Smetana Theatre. The tickets (purchased at the theatre) were more expensive than the Czech Philharmonic and the performance was by a small ensemble playing excerpts from popular classics for one hour! Very disappointing.

All-in-all we had a very enjoyable stay in Prague and thank you to the staff at the Residence Masna.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leafandflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2009

My wife, 2 young boys (5 and 7 y.o.) and I stayed at Residence Masna Room 201 for 4 nights. Not having been to Prague before and lugging around several pieces of luggage and 2 not so cooperative little boys, sort of forced my hand to avail of the transfer service provided by Prague City Apartments (the company that manages Residence Masna with several other properties). For 500 Czech Crowns, we were picked up from the airport in a roomy mini-van, brought to the Prague City Apartments central office within Prague Old Town for an efficient check-in and ultimately brought to Residence Masna which was nearby. Given our circumstances, the 500 Crowns was well worth it and I availed of the transfer back to the airport as well.

The room was a studio type arrangement with a bed, sofa, dining table and kitchenette all together. The sofa also served as a second, smaller bed where my kids then slept. The bathroom was quite large, possibly because the washing machine was inside it as well. There was in fact only a shower rather than a bath inside but the room was large enough that you can lay out a clothes drying rack provided with the room. Everything was clean when we arrived and daily cleaning was carried out as well by staff.

The kitchenette had a small refrigerator, a 4-burner gas stove, a microwave oven, coffee maker and a hot water pot. There was sufficient cutlery as well as plates, cups and glasses but what we found lacking somehow were pots and pans. There was a fry pan and a small and large sauce pan. The large sauce pan was missing its cover and the fry pan's non-stick surface was already scratched away from misuse. This made cooking a bit of an inconvenience but since my kids were picky eaters, it still made more sense to do so rather than keep eating out.

There was a TV, DVD and a satellite receiver with hundreds of channels, though for the most part, most of the good channels (e.g. Eurosport, Cartoon Network, Discovery, Nat Geo) were encrypted and not viewable. Luckily, my wife brought with her a pack of DVDs so this kept the kids occupied those times we were stuck in the apartment.

The apartment was in a nice location. A quiet side street close to Republic Square and Old Town Square. Both were within a 5 to 10 minute walking distance of the apartment. At Republic Square there was the Metro station as well as a tram stop. Kotva Department Store and the new Palladium mall provided excellent shopping options. There were Albert Supermarkets at both Kotva and Palladium, while Tesco was a couple of Metro stops away at Narodni Trida. Next to the apartment itself was a Japanese Restaurant and a branch of Bohemia Bagel.

WiFi was available, but not sure if it was simply our location but the signal was quite weak at our room. So much so that I had to connect using the free WiFi service of the coffee shop located across the apartment. There was also an in-room safe that somehow had a defective keypad. It so happened that my code used one of the defective keys so I kept entering the wrong code until such time that the safe just went into lock-out mode and kept beeping. Luckily this happened when there was someone at the reception desk (only there 'til 12 noon) and she managed to sort things out quite swiftly.

Overall, despite the hiccups, Residence Masna provided good value. The price we paid was certainly quite cheap for Europe and prior to coming I had checked out several hotels in Prague and the Masna rates were fairly competitive. Further savings were of course realised by cooking our own meals instead of having to keep eating out.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RRGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

Really helpful on location staff. Property is in a fantastic location, within walking distance of the main square, but just far enough to give it a local feel. Surrounded by great restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melb253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Residence Brehova - Prague City Apartments
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Residence Karolina - Prague City Apartments
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Residence Rybna - Prague City Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rybna 9 Apartments
Rybna 9 Apartments
#27 of 679 in Prague
108 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Art Residence Krocinova - Prague City Apartments
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Ostrovni 7 Apartments - Prague City Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Masna - Prague City Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Masna - Prague City Apartments

Address: Masna 1059/5, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 679 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range: £77 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Masna is a completely renovated 19th-century building. Thanks to its ideal location close to the Old Town Square, all prestigious sites in the historical center of Prague are easily accessible. This residence offers 21 apartments, which include a fully equipped kitchenette and living-dining area, and a private bathroom. A satellite television, DVD, Hi-Fi and internet access are a matter of course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Masna - Prague City Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Masna Prague
Residence Masna Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing