We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great improvements”
Review of Hotel Merlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Merlin
Ranked #516 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 16 July 2012

great improvements! Good location, those who say it isn't, most likely do not like to walk. Highly recommend!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2012

Stopped at the guest house during a backpacking tour of Europe. Approx 25 min walk from the central train station and very close to the Old Town and Mala Strana. Had a lovely four-poster bed with our own private bathroom (thought we'd be sharing), beautiful old style building, friendly staff! Would definitely recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: If the only room that is available has a shared bath, don't worry too much. We were the only one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AOS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I liked the hotel for being next to the river,close to every where I wanted to see and not far from tram or metro. I like to say the receptionist ( Julie) was very helpful. If you want a reasonable priced accomodation its the best, the only downside is they don't take credit cards, not many do I guess unless you go to highend shops and hotels in Prague!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scubbydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I spend a lot of time looking for a hotel in Prague, but in the end I was really happy with the Merlin.
The building itself is beautiful and you feel like you "live" in Prague as you get a set of keys (old fashioned ones) to get into the hotel and then your room.
The double bedroom I stayed in was very clean, very spacious, nicely decorated and comfortable. It was quiet, as the hotel is on a side street, but close to the river. Charles Bridge is 10-15 min walk along the river, so location was great.

The staff was really friendly and helpful. I would say best to book this hotel via their direct website, and not via some travel agent or booking site; then you are sure all your requests are answered immediately.
For sure I would book it again next time I am in Prague.

Room Tip: I stayed on 5th floor (last one) and it was quiet. I think all rooms are quiet though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karo-chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We had a room with four beds that was very large...the bathroom was very clean... there is very nice restorant in the basement of the hotel...In the room there is a fridge and kettle...
Only you have to pay extra if you want breakfast.
Most important is that the hotel is 10 minutes from Charles Bridge.
You can left your car infront of the hotel. We payed for parking for five days 800czk that is little more than 32 euro.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Best position, near the Prague center, underground. Special awards cleanliness of the room, special bathroom.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaroslava K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I've found the hotel by chance while looking for a place to stay overnight after a gig in Prague. And why not to enjoy the stay a bit, therefore location not far from the downtown was the choice.
It is just approx 3-5min walk from the underground, or 2min from tramway. Even the walk to the centre is nice. You will be just next to the Dancing house, maybe with a view to Petrin tower or Prague castle.
Do not expect cozy rooms, but a comfortable room with bathroom (not as tiny as some other places).
Downstairs in the hotel is a restaurant (where breakfast is served) or opposite a Vietnamese restaurant.
I do not think it is a bad choice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ohorak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Atlante Residence - Ai Quattro Angeli
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Prague Center Hostel
Prague Center Hostel
#484 of 648 in Prague
83 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
L'Opera Hotel
L'Opera Hotel
#410 of 648 in Prague
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#263 of 648 in Prague
225 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#122 of 648 in Prague
393 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Mala Strana
Hotel Mala Strana
#213 of 648 in Prague
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merlin

Address: Gorazdova 331/22 | New Town, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #516 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £39 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Merlin 3*
Number of rooms: 332
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Merlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guest House Merlin Hotel Prague
Merlin Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing