We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the centre, but outside of the tourism hystery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Galileo Prague
Ranked #113 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Close to the centre, but outside of the tourism hystery”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I stayed at the hotel for three nights and am quite happy with the general standard of the hotel. The best attributes are that it is in a perfect location, has a modern style and has the breakfast restaurant in a winter garden at the top floor. The breakfast itself could be better, as could the cleaning.

The location is right where I wanted to be - close enough to walk to the city centre and with subway, trams and buses close-by in case of bad weather or hurting feets, but at the same time outside of the "tourist zone" with all that comes with it. The neighbourhood is definitely authentic and you can find a couple of genuine Czech restaurants in the area.

The hotel is built and funished in a modern way with a lot of free space, so you don't feel trapped in your room. Everything worked and was clean, but the cleaning staff were really only doing the basics. They cleaned the room and made the bed, but they did neither collect an obvious pile of trash (candy papers, old subway tickets etc) on the nightside table nor empy plastic bottles lined up on the floor. They didn't even move the towel that was hanging over the wardrobe.

The breakfast was OK with a lot of choices, even though the quality of each thing wasn't meeting my expectations. This was however outweighed by the winter garden at the top floor where it was served. You could overlook the national museum and the neighbouring roof tops (not an amazing view, but much better than normal breakfast views) while preparing for the upcoming day.

The service from the front desk staff was good and we got a few good tips on restaurants, different non-tourist areas to visit etc. - always with a smile!

Room Tip: As high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelSuperstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSPman, Front Office Manager at Hotel Galileo Prague, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about the stay at our hotel. I appreciate it.

I am very happy to read your nice comment about the front office staff. We are all trying to make our guests feel as at home during their stay in Prague. That is why I am really sorry you were not satisfied with our housekeeping. I am sure it was just misunderstnding. The maids are not allowed to throw anything away from the tables or floors untill it has been put into the trash can.

We will try to improve our breakfast and I hope we will get another oportunity to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely
Petra Novotná
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    383
    90
    20
    15
See reviews for
126
544
35
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We stay five days in this hotel.

Staff was friendly. The quality is very good for the price.

Rooms are spacefull and well equipped.

Breakfast is ok but good situated on the last floor.

The hotel is good situated in a tipical area of Prague.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dylan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSPman, Front Office Manager at Hotel Galileo Prague, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Dylan

Thank you very much for straying at Galileo hotel, we appreciate it very much.

I am pleased to read you were satisfied here and hope you would come back soon.

With best regards
PetraNovotná
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Galileo is situated out of the tourist area in a Prague neighborhood. If you like to walk, it is a 15-20 stroll down Wenceslas Square to the Old Town area. Alternatively, the tram and metro are a 5 minute walk and the tram takes you to the Castle. Our room was in the adjacent building and was quite big, clean and kept that way each day. It was a bit noisy because the trams ran on the street below, but it didn't bother our sleep with the windows closed. Breakfast was excellent - normal meat, cheese, cereal, pastry, fresh fruit, juice. Also eggs, sausage and other hot dishes. Something for everyone and always refreshed. For us, the best part was being away from the crowds in the evening on our post dinner strolls and seeing locals in the restaurants. We liked the Reset bar across the street for a beer and quick evening snack Restaurant Matylda a couple of blocks away was great, restaurant Knajpa down the street was OK but wouldn't go there again. My only complaint was that the wifi was slow and sometimes difficult to get in all parts of the room. They do have free computers in the lobby for guests to use and connectivity is fine there.

Room Tip: Our room was 302 in the adjacent buiding and if you have more than 2 people there is a sofa bed. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avid_gardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSPman, Front Office Manager at Hotel Galileo Prague, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for spendind your time by writing this comment and sharing it with another travelers.

I am very happy you liked the hotel and the area. I am just sorry for some troubles with the wifi conection. You can be sure we are working on it.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards
Petra Novotná
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

2 blocks walk from the METRO station, highly recommend this hotel for the location, breakfast, transportation, service staff. If you will leave early AM like 1-4am this is perfect for you because there is a bus 510 from METRO station to AIRPORT for 24-32 korona, than taking a taxi for 525-625 korona.

Room Tip: keep it up very good service, recommendable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fermin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSPman, Front Office Manager at Hotel Galileo Prague, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Guests,

I am very grateful for your positive comments. Thank you very much.
I hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back at Galileo.

Best regards
Petra Novotná
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

we stayed here for 2 nights...i thought the location was very nice..quite residential with a few bars & restaurant dotted around...the room we had was quite small but clean and we had everything we needed for 2 nights.. The breakfasts were very good and it was at the top of the hotel in a lovely glass roof top...we got the tube into the old town of prague...having never been before i thought it was beautiful..at night we went on a river cruise which is a must to see Prague by night..well worth the money..all in all we enjoyed our stay in Prague & the hotel...the receptionist was very helpful...can't fault it..would stay here again..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 64sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSPman, Front Office Manager at Hotel Galileo Prague, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Sharon,
thanks a lot for writing such a nice review. I am plaesed we have met all your expectations about the hotel ,its location and the staff. It is nice you enjoyed exploring Prague during the day and night. What a big shame you stayed only 3 days! We hope to see you at Galileo again,but for longer.
Best regards
Petra Novotná
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights in june with my husband.The Hotel is lovely we were in new part towels changed daily and room very spacious.It is about ten minute walk to square and another ten to astronomical clock but you can use tram if you dont like to walk.Breakfast was served in lovely glass roof top restaurant.All staff extremely helpful and nice.We booked airport trasfers for as little as twenty euro with company before hand and they had great offers on tours when you got there.Overall loved Praque and the Hotel very much attributed to that

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSPman, Front Office Manager at Hotel Galileo Prague, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Alma,

Thank you very much for sharing your nice experiences with the other travelers.

We appreciate you made a booking at Galileo and I am very pleased to read you were satisfied as it is our main target to make you feel happy here.

I hope you enjoy exploring the city and would stay with us next time in Prague.

Regards
Petra Novotná
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is not in the center of town but located in beautiful Prague 2. It is easy to take public transport to get into the town center. However, there are many great restaurants located just walking distance from the hotel. If you are like me and like to be in a more neighborhood and not the center of touristic attractions this hotel is for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSPman, Front Office Manager at Hotel Galileo Prague, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Chad,

Thank you very much for highlighting our location. I just hope you were also satisfied by our service. We are trying to do our best to make our guests feel comfortable while staying with us.

Anytime you travel to Prague again you are welcome at Galileo.

With regards
Petra Novotná
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Caesar Prague
Hotel Caesar Prague
#175 of 649 in Prague
1,287 reviews
Praha 2
Green Garden Hotel
Green Garden Hotel
#70 of 649 in Prague
1,125 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Roma Prague
Hotel Roma Prague
#150 of 649 in Prague
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Hotel Ametyst Prague
Hotel Ametyst Prague
#159 of 649 in Prague
720 reviews
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#142 of 649 in Prague
511 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#81 of 649 in Prague
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galileo Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galileo Prague

Property: Hotel Galileo Prague
Address: Bruselska 239/3, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#105 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#146 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galileo Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GALILEO hotel is situated in the Vinohrady historic residential area of the centre of Prague. It has been renovated with care recently, so that our guests can enjoy a stay in the magical atmosphere of the golden city in elegant, comfortable surroundings. The hotel is served by public transport stops close by (underground and tram) and the famous Wenceslas Square is only 10 minutes' walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Galileo Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galileo Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing