We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs”
Review of Albion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albion Hotel
Ranked #603 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a package - the original hotel was double booked so we had no choice. Rooms were adequate, but no minibar at all, air conditioning did not work, mattress stained, sheets with holes and towels similar-shower head broken and sprayed everywhere. Food terrible- breakfast standard bread/cereal/meat/cheese and quarters of grapefruit & orange. Evening meals might as well have been served in a trough-no presentation, and NO PROVISION FOR VEGETARIANS, even though the hotel was aware. Restaurants were basic, like a hostel, with chipped and cracked crockery, dirty glasses and cutlery - tablecloths were not changed so were often dirty. Location NOT central. Does not even deserve 2 star let alone 4 star!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    32
    56
    67
    104
See reviews for
23
76
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2013

First of all, if you have some other choice, don't go in Albion hotel. It's far from the city, in the middle of nowhere, no shops or pubs near this hotel. I stayed there for 1 night, and that was too much. I went with my friends to Pink's show in O2 Arena After the show, we got back to the hotel, cuz we didn't know how to come back up there if we stay in the city and we didn't know if the taxi driver would put a higher price cuz we are foreing and we dont know the city or the closest way to come in hotel. So, we got back and sat in lobby, orded a bottle of wine and couple of beers. When we wanted to order some more boose, the barman didn't want to give us some more. We tried couple more times to ask him if we can order some more, but he was very unpolite. Then the cleaning lady came and started to pull chairs on the floor, cuz she probably thought that it'll repel us. But we stayed in the lobby cuz we came just for one day/night and we wanted to gather around and chit-chat, and the lobby is the only place in the hotel where you can light a ciggarette. We would be in our rooms if smoking were aloud there. Anyway, 30 minutes later the cleaning lady started to yell at us on Czech, of course, we didn't understand her, it sound like some cartoon music :) So, we went to sleep :/ Next morning, while we were heading to a restaurant for breakfast, the little waiter was standing infront of the restaurant doors and yelling "you can't come in, i haven't cleaned the tables yet", so we were waiting there for half an hour. Exchange office in hotel didn't have enough kruna to change our euros. And the room, ok, room was great, except the windows, cuz there's some funny and weird way for open it. And, one more thing, our bus driver paid 18 euros for parking infront of hotel and when we got back from the show, the parking was full and he couldn't park the bus anywhere infront of hotel. I don't understand how Albion can have 4 stars. I went to a high school for tourism and management and I know how hotel must look to have 4 stars. And the first thing they taught us in highschool is: guest is always right. I didn't notice that stuff in the Albion hotel is practicing this rule. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This four star buy actually deserves to have a one or two star hotel has a severe robbery risk!
My staff in my luggage was spreaded around, probably the thief tried to find somethig precious. My heavy cabin size baggage was stolen as a hole, plus my hand bag. The hotel was very ignorant after the robbery, hotel manager didn't even come to investigate the issue.
Nothing more to say.. Stay away from this hotel...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nya0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights from 20th of April to 23rd of April; we were 3 people.

Rooms: Our room was extremely big. The beds were comfortable and the linen was clean. However the extra bed they put in such a big room was ridiculously tiny and thin. They should replace it with a decent single bed. All in all, the whole room was clean and proper. However, the whole room was quite old. The walls, the windows, and the carpet – they weren’t falling apart or so but they looked very old. There were only towels, soap and hair dryer provided in the bathroom and nothing else – this seemed a bit strange for a 4 star hotel. There was no mini-bar, no safe, no wifi in the room. If this hotel had 2 or 3 stars, I would not mind so much but from a 4 star hotel I would expect more.

Hotel: this is a hotel for big (student) groups. So sometimes you might hear some noise at night, dozens of students checking in or so.

Location: The hotel was located a bit outside of the city center however the public transportation is quite convenient in Prague and there’s a bus line a few meters away from the hotel. You can get in to the city in about 20 minutes without any kind of problem. However, purchase your tickets in advance before you get to the hotel otherwise you will have to purchase them in the bus which costs a bit more.

Food: We just had breakfast in the hotel. I have no clue about the lunch and dinner. The breakfast is pretty basic: 2 kinds of cheese, 3 kinds of ham, cornflakes, milk, tea, coffee, 3 types of jam, 3 – 4 types of cakes, yoghurt, fruit-yoghurt, scrambled eggs, sausage and 3 types of bread are available on the breakfast buffet. It is a big hotel visited by big groups of people; however we didn’t have to wait in line to get breakfast or so. Everything went quite smooth.

Free internet access: only available at the lobby

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CERROMERRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

A hotel that dates back to the times when iron curtain was still hung over Prague welcomes you in the 5th district - 15 minutes drive from city centre by car. It does not seem that far but it actually is if you are visiting for the first time. The best way to travel to the centre is by taxy (you must not pay over 15 Euro - 380-400 Czech Korunas).

Rooms are modest at best (mini bar was missing from the cabinet). There was only one table light working, so the atmosphere was a bit depressing. Everything is really basic.

Service is another weak point of the hotel - breakfast is served with essentials, do not expect any treats like fried eggs.

Overall a hotel not worth visiting. If you are on a budget I would suggest a hostel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbionHotel, Manager at Albion Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear Maarco,

first of all, let me thank you for choosing the Albion Hotel and for taking your time to share your feedback with us.

We regret that we were not able to meet your expectations with regards to the variety of meal provided during your breakfast. In case you missed something in our menu, you could contact the serving staff or F&B Manager on duty, who would meet your wishes and let prepare the special meals on your request.

Thank you for your review which can help us to improve our customer service.

Best regards

Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

The Hotel Albion is the worst hotel in the world I ever stayed. They rip you off when they get the chance. They do it at the exchange rates, when you order a taxi, at the dinner, at the breakfast, when you pay the room. Beware, do not go there. Even if you think its cheap or you get a good deal. Stay away!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Reiseprofi_Wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

You can sleep over in this hotel a couple of nights, but that is all. The rooms need repairing and the food in the reustaurant is terrible. Breakfast is more or less OK. This is far from a 4-star hotel, 1-2 stars would be more accurate. We were "upgraded" to this hotel from Hotel Golf, where we had reservations and also had pre-paid half of the prices. Hotel Golf, which is only 3 star hotel seemed to be much nicer but this "upgrade" which they did to us was not a nice thing to do...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank olli p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Herrmes
Herrmes
#213 of 649 in Prague
224 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#10 of 656 in Prague
735 reviews
Praha 7
PLUS Prague
PLUS Prague
#18 of 656 in Prague
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#223 of 649 in Prague
335 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#527 of 649 in Prague
171 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#64 of 649 in Prague
2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Hotel

Property: Albion Hotel
Address: Peroutkova 531/81 | Prague 5, Prague 158 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#268 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Hotel Class:4 star — Albion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albion Hotel is situated in a quiet area of Prague 5, near the popular shopping center Novy Smichov (Metro station "Andel"). The hotel is accessible by public transport (bus station, which is linked with metro station Andel, is located just 100m from the hotel). The city center is only 10 minutes away.Albion Hotel Prague offers comfortable accommodation; organize social events, conference and incentive meetings. There are two restaurants, Lobby Bar with Summer Garden, Fitness Room, Beauty Salon and car parking free of charge. Parking capacity on site is 50 cars and about 8 buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing