We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of Prague Tyn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prague Tyn
Ranked #101 of 686 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Amazing location just a minute's walk from the old town square. Minimal but that's what we wanted. Stayed in a 5 bed dorm, 2 bunk beds and a single bed - we had enough room and 4 big lockers to keep our belongings in. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast is free - cereal, juice, tea and coffee. They offer sandwiches and cold drinks at the reception. Everyone was really friendly. Felt safe with codes to get in an out of each floor and the building, as well as self locking rooms and door keys for all. Only comment is that I went in the heat of the summer and the rooms were baking!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GSI92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

The staff is friendly and the hostel is in a great location, but the guys beware that there is no shower with an actual lock. The prices are pretty good for the location but you get what you pay for. I stayed with my girlfriend and we didnt even get towels.

Thank KeithTsui
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

This hostel is basically a college dorm. Very minimal. Bed, umm that's about it. Shared showers with low water pressure which is fine because it is Europe. Drains don't work well especially in the ladie's shower. Probably hair clogs. No mirrors and no air in rooms. But you pay for what you get here. Overall it's a-ok!

As for location, it's amazing! Few steps from the square. I barely took the train unless we were extremely tired.

It does get noisy at night and if you have your windows open you hear everything and smell all the smokers.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aliceyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I stayed here in a group of 7 girls in an 8-bed dorm in July 2013 for 3 nights. The hostel is in an excellent location right off the main square - walking distance from all main attractions in Prague. The beds were very comfortable and I felt secure as there were 2 coded doors before our own room door with lock and key (Lockers also in rooms). No air con however and only 2 small windows, so got a little hot. The bathroom facilities were always very clean and queues were never really an issue. Everyone got a free towel while staying. The hostel is a very reasonable price and the staff were extremely helpful about everything to do in the city (particularly the American woman with red hair). My friend even got help trying to find her lost phone from the hostel reception. Breakfast and packed sandwich for lunch were very useful and saved us a lot of money. Good, free wifi. The hostel was not very social despite the common area downstairs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbie201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

It was really close to the city centre. The bathroom and toilets were clean. The "voice of the door" was a bit annoying sometimes. But the main problem of the hostel is, for male people, there is no privacy in bathroom! There is a common bathroom which includes two showers but there is no lock for the door! If you are not comfortable with that, you won't be relax with that.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Midgard87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed it! Free towels and linens are always nice to have and you can't beat the location! The beds were comfortable and the hostel was clean. Only downside is that there is only one male and one female bathroom and only one shower for the wing so there was always a wait in the mornings.

The reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly - Patrick and David gave us some great recommendations on places to go while we were in Prague!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This hostel was a great choice. It is in a perfect location near Oldtown square. The hostel was clean and quiet, and the staff was very helpful. They shared local hotspots and gave directions to tourist favorites. David at the front desk was extremely nice and helpful. The only downside is that the hostel was not very social- there is a downstairs area, but not many people socialized here. Overall, great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie_124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Homer
Homer
#87 of 686 in Prague
182 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ahoy! Hostel
Ahoy! Hostel
#36 of 686 in Prague
190 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Hole
Art Hole
#24 of 686 in Prague
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hostel Downtown
Hostel Downtown
#7 of 686 in Prague
1,249 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Post Hostel Prague
Post Hostel Prague
#6 of 686 in Prague
178 reviews
Praha 3
Hostel One Prague
Hostel One Prague
#4 of 686 in Prague
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prague Tyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prague Tyn

Address: Tynska 1053/19 | Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 686 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range: £19 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best located hostels in Prague, located in quiet alley 200 m from the Old Town SQuare. Free breakfast, internet/wifi, linen, towels and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostel Tyn Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing