We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, comfortable rooms”
Review of Prague Tyn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prague Tyn
Ranked #89 of 679 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Reviewed 1 May 2014

About 1 minute walk from the central square, superb location. Set back in a courtyard so relatively quiet. Very helpful and friendly staff, nice but simple breakfast included - sandwiches to take away. Decent sized common room although limited atmosphere. Nice rooms, clean and neat. Shower situation a bit odd but manageable. Free tour definitely recommended. Diana the tour guide was very good, engaging and informative.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the courtyard at the front of the building can be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

pro: good location, clean
con: bad common area and kitchen, bad atmosphere (or should I say, no atmosphere at all) the included breakfast is totally disgusting.

all in all: high price for an low to average value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Hostel Tyn has the best location one might want to visit Prague, right in the central square. The room was spacious, very clean and good beds. The bathroom was also very clean. Nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank João A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

It was a very quiet hostel since I was there in low season. the bathroom and showers were VERY clean, always hot water. The location was great, directly in the Old square.
But if you are travelling solo, its not the best place to meet people, the common room and kitchen is small.
Side note, the breakfast is fine; all you can eat cereals tea and coffee but I wonder why they serve this ham sandwich in the morning instead of bread & jam. It would be much less of a hassle for the staff and i'm sure every guest would be happy with bread & jam...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I booked for a group of 6 girls and we had a perfect stay here. Chose it based on location (which is excellent) and all the reviews seemed good. we even had an extra person join our party and they happily helped by putting an extra mattress in our room which lowered all our costs. Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Free breakfast and bread rolls to take throughout the day. We had a 4 room with shower en suite and it was perfect. only down side would be it seemed there was only 1 loo on our floor but there were 2 near reception so happy days. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: 4 bed has en suite shower, girls who had 2 bed had to share a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathryn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This hostel has an amazing location, and the staff is great. The free breakfast is good. It is super clean. I feel like they were always cleaning, which I consider to be a good thing. The doors seem to slam a lot, but other then that it was pretty quiet. The common room was tiny, and it was hard to meet other backpackers, but other then that I loved it. They also had free cookies out all the time, which was nice. David and Josue are awesome.

As far as a hostel goes I did not think the rooms were that small. I stayed in an 8 bed dorm, and I have seen the beds a lot closer together. You get free lockers and they even have free towels and blow dryers at the front desk. I felt like the it was a very good value, and I would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danigurl1333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

the best thing of this hostel is for sure the location...2 minutes walk from the main square.

we stayed in a 5bed dorm and the room was quite small, as the toilet an the shower...

anyway, everything looked "fresh" and brand new..

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suanonna82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Homer
Homer
#90 of 679 in Prague
181 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ahoy! Hostel
Ahoy! Hostel
#31 of 679 in Prague
188 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Hole
Art Hole
#22 of 679 in Prague
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hostel Ananas
Hostel Ananas
#27 of 679 in Prague
346 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hostel Franz Kafka
Hostel Franz Kafka
#77 of 679 in Prague
89 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Cosmopole Hostel
Cosmopole Hostel
#59 of 679 in Prague
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prague Tyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prague Tyn

Address: Tynska 1053/19 | Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 679 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range: £20 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best located hostels in Prague, located in quiet alley 200 m from the Old Town SQuare. Free breakfast, internet/wifi, linen, towels and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostel Tyn Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing