We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Staff, fair room for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel U Divadla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel U Divadla
Ranked #160 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo - Brazil
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Staff, fair room for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2008

The hotel is far from the city centre (and is cheaper because of this) but you have a tram stop 5 minutes walk away from the hotel and the tram takes 15 minutes to get to the city centre. Around the hotel you have some stores (market, pharmacy, restaurants, tabacs stores) so you can get what you need.
The hotel restaurant is very good and cheap, a great deal.
The staff was very friendly, they helped us booking our tours, giving advices and also when we lost our credit card they were very helpful.
The breakfast was ok for the fare, simple but good.
Some bad things: The room is not the same that the one showed in the website but it was a new room, clean and spacious. They do not have dark courtains, so the room is bright early in the morning.
They did not change the sheets for five days, even after we dropped chocolate on it.
But for the money we paid it was a fair deal, and if you are traveling on a budget we reccomend it.

  • Liked — Hotel restaurant, staff, price
  • Disliked — Distance, no dark courtains, no sheets change
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Danius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    174
    92
    16
    15
See reviews for
97
252
20
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2008

The hotel is very clean, people very helpfull to give directions and places to visit and other informations.. good meals..good, cleaning and warm rooms.. The zone is nice, very tranquility even in the normal days its a tranquility zone.. and is cool bkause u can visit the suburbs around the city.. Excelent.. if i come back hope to get there again.

  • Liked — Relation price/quality.. excelent hotel in general
  • Disliked — No snooker and other activities
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TiR_pt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife,Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2008

My husband and I have just returned from a visit to Prague and stayed at the UDivadla.We read the Trip Advisor reports before we went and found them very helpful or we may have got a bit of a shock at the surrounding area!However,it was safe,quiet and very easy to get to the centre of Prague in a short time.We used the tram every day ,after a short walk to the stop, and caught a 3 (to Wenceslas Square) or a 17 (to Charles Bridge).The hotel itself was excellent , the staff very friendly and helpful and our room was very clean ,spacious and light.As we went out early every morning to try and miss some of the busier periods we were happy to come back to the hotel late afternoon,chill out with a couple of beers,refresh ourselves and have our meal.We ate there every night and could not fault the meals for value and choice and the service was first class.This is not for people who want to have a wild nightlife but for anyone who wants to see Prague and come back to a quiet ,relaxing hotel it's ideal.We saw a lot when we were there but there's still a lot more we would like to see and do and when we return we'll certainly go back to the UDivadla.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and value for money
  • Disliked — Too many rude guests when we were there!!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatH_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2008

This hotel is in a dodgy area, we did not feel to comfortable walking through it even during the day, my companion was even robbed only a few streets away from the hotel. We booked a double room and recieved a single, the bathroom was a wet room and there was hair in the drain when we arrived, I could not sleep most nights because of the noise from the street and music from a bar cloase by. Spend the extra money and save yourself the hassel

  • Liked — the bar was nice, and food was nice
  • Disliked — the location
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tanya113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CARDIFF
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2008

Excellent location away from the busy city centre,but still only ten minutes away on the tram . Tram stop 5 mintute walk away .The best part two great pubs on your door step, you just wont beleave the prices for food and drink.
Staff at the hotel very friendly and helpfull,nice little bar and resturaunt handy if you arrive late.
All in all agreat place to stay and soak up some real Czech culutre .

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise From bakery Oppisite
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pwilliams33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2008

This Hotel was offered by the Easy Jet Website for a three night stay.
We picked it because it had good Trip advisor Ratings.

We found it to be a nice Hotel clean, bright and modern, the beds were twin singles pushed together to make a double which is fairly standard, they were deep and very comfortable, pillows seemed odd to us being big and square, but once folded in half were the equivalent of two standard pillows and again very comfortable. The room was a good size and looked like the pictures posted on Trip Advisor.

The staff were friendly and spoke good English the restaurant was excellent and we ate there every night. Food there was lovely and very well presented, one thing I would warn people about though is to avoid the last two items on the Prague speciality menu - half duck with cabbage and bacon dumplings and pork fillet with same, it is vinegar rich and far too filling. The beer was incredibly cheap too at 32KC for 0.5L (cheaper than coca cola 40KC and bottled water 45KC and really nice too), we were pleased with the restaurant tab.

The hotel is definitely out of town so cannot recommend it for people who want to see Prague by night unless they plan on staying out all night and eating in town. I can understand young people not favouring it. We were too tired after early starts so we tended to catch early trams back and chill in the Restaurant.

We found it easy to get into town by tram, the receptionist gave us directions - 5 min walk to tram station, sold us tickets 26KC (might be worth buying two more for the return trip unless you want to tramp around looking for a Tabac shop). You then step out of the Hotel Restaurant door, follow the road down to the tram stop and catch a No17. We did manage to miss the Charles Bridge stop first day and ended up in the boon docks and couldn't get a tram back because of a mini-marathon. We ended up being led back by a lovely Czech lady called Alexandra who accompanied us through various Metro stops until we got back to Charles Bridge, bless her and her lovely friend who saw our predicament and asked Alexandra to take us back. Czech people are brilliant.

One last thing, I cannot rate Prague Airport Transfers enough http://www.prague-airport-transfers.co.uk/ being stingy I agonised over stumping up the thirty quid for a both ways transfer but I am very glad I did. The driver, a tall young guy, was waiting to whisk us off in a smart car to the Hotel give us a free 9.30 tour docket (which we missed because we missed our tram stop) and come time to leave was there a 6.30 in the morning to whisk us back to the Airport. The alternative would have been fighting across Prague on bus and tram or being ripped off by some passing cabbie.

  • Liked — Clean modern
  • Disliked — Distance to town
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank stingytownman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2008

Not sure that this hotel lived up to its 4 star rating but this probably arises from the Czech system of hotels rating themselves! The room was very big and clean, the single beds were huge although the pillows were really weird and uncomfortable, feather pillows but seemingly with hardly any feathers in them...
Bathroom however was great, breakfast was average and don't worry about travelling, the public transport in Prague is fantastic, the hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the tram stop or a 1 minute walk to the bus stop. Trams are very regular during the day and run until just past midnight, taxis are also reasonable.
Restaurant also worth a mention, food is very good and incredibly cheap in comparison to the city centre so worth eating there when you can.

  • Liked — Size of room and beds
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank RJH19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Iris Hotel Eden
#144 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Praha 2
Amigo City Centre Hotel
Amigo City Centre Hotel
#197 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Golf Depandance
Hotel Golf Depandance
#214 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#79 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#118 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Praha 8
Hotel Charles Central
Hotel Charles Central
#195 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Divadla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Divadla

Property: Hotel U Divadla
Address: U stare poshty 247/6, Prague 147 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Best Value Hotel in Prague
#98 Family Hotel in Prague
#136 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#150 Business Hotel in Prague
#194 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel U Divadla 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious hotel with family atmosphere located in a calm area close to the Prague city centre (cca 15 min by tram) - all that and much more is provided by hotel U Divadla. Our prices will pleasantly surprise you. Art nouveau style gives this Prague's hotel charming and romantic atmosphere. It is an ideal place to arrange private celebrations as well as business meetings. Advantage of this four star hotel is family atmosphere and personal approach to our clients. Many satisfied guests from the Czech Republic as well as abroad come back thanks to high quality of accommodation, restaurant and cafe services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel U Divadla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Divadla Hotel
u Divadla Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing