We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corresponds to a price, friendly staff”
Review of Hotel U Divadla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel U Divadla
Ranked #144 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Corresponds to a price, friendly staff”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We looked for a hotel with a good price and good tripadvisor review, and this was one of the top hits.

The hotel is located in some old street a little outside of Prague. It didn't look like there was much to do around, but there was a some kind of bar-restaurant just outside, and a supermarket around the corner.

We booked two deluxe rooms (just some euros extra from a normal room) - supposedly they were a little bigger and had a tea pot. The size of the rooms was nice, and we could easily and comfortably watch a football game in one of the rooms 4 adults and a dog. There was also a tea-pot with several sorts of tea and instant coffees available free of charge. In the room there was a small mini bar (just 1 beer, some water, I think a juice and 2 chocolates). its not free and (reasonable) prices are listed in the booklet on a table. There is also a can of peanuts (also not free) with price standing directly on top of the lid. Additionally, you can buy some drinks at the reception (we got there some small bottles of wine). Also, there is a supermarket just around the corner, which is open every day (even on sunday around 20 it was still open). We bought there a bottle of wine, and then asked at the reception to open it (which they gladly did).

The breakfast was fine - nothing extraordinary, some bread, ham and cheeses, some sausage and eggs, muesli, coffee and juice (not really a juice, more like a powder-mixed drink).

There was a private parking for the hotel available for extra charge, but you can also park your car on the street free of charge, which we did. Btw, Prague center is disastrous for parking. Head directly towards the big shopping mall if you need to park there. And never park where there is a blue line - its for residents only, and you will get your wheels blocked, and would have to wait for nearly one hour for the police to arrive and take it off.

The staff of the hotel is really friendly, and they do work to get their good reviews. On arrival we were given general information about the hotel, a free map of Prague, and also informed about working hours at the restaurant, and that it is better to make a reservation if we want to have dinner there, as they often close early since there are not many people. On the check-out we were asked if we had any suggestions or complains, if there is anything extra we would have liked to see at breakfast.

In the end we were greatly encouraged to leave a good review for the hotel. You get a welcome letter upon your arrival which promises you free night at one of the partner hotels if you send them the link to a good review :D.. which I think is a little cheating, but I am glad to see that the management of this hotel recognizes the importance of internet ratings. Given that the hotel is not located directly in the city, I think its the right direction for them. And I also believe that they are directed towards improvements, which is a good thing.

Room Tip: We stayed in Deluxe double rooms - I think it was worth it, especially to relax together at night wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tatsiana_by
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    175
    93
    17
    15
See reviews for
102
258
22
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I have been very surprised in reading the excellent reviews on this hotel!!

My girlfriend and I stayed in for 4 nights and were expecting a one star short of 5, not 2 or 3!

If it had been a 3* hotel I would have given it a poor 2 out of 5. These are the reasons:

1) Old and needing a complete revamp, not so clean.
2) The room door pass could work only after several attemps. After raising the issue with reception we were told we should just keep trying!!! Are you people serious??
3) If you go out at night you can't take the stairs cause it is completely dark and for corridors you need to remember where the switch is. Me and my girlfriend turned it into a fun experience but honestly, it is not!
4) Although the staff seemed to be friendly we called in for transport directions, We were promised to be contacted shortly, we waited at the airport but nothing came through so we did it our own way. Reason provided on arrival was a general computer fault? Not sure how this relates to anything but once again not a 4 star treatment.
5) Breakfast: Worst of ALL! Mosquitoes on jam and fruit is not ACCEPTABLE by any standard! Mosquitos feed on dogs poo!!! Cornflakes, chocolate puffs option were all considerably dated. It just doesnt taste right. Not to talk about the bread which is very stale. I genuinely tried to get something that would make my breakfast satisfactory but could not easily get there. If all the cold and hot options had been mosquitoes free and fresh it would have definitely been a more pleasant eperience
6) Some of the staff members were very friendly but you really can't start vacuum cleaning the breakfast area when there are guests sitting there.. I can hint to a little revenge by the hotel personnel to some of the guests having arrived just after breakfast time 10 AM but we were there before that time and it is not acceptable having to be indirectly kicked out of the area.
7) Restaurant closes at 10PM but any guest after 9 could not be served! I know I may be picky here but that doesnt feel right at all. We were at least redirected to a nearby nice restaurant which was good. Thanks for that.
8) Lastly, on the check-out we were asked to pay for room consumption of beer and water which never happened! Once we opposed to that the reception agreed on letting us go.. was it just a try that didnt work out?

Honestly, thit is NOT a 4* hotel.. Please do address these areas to make it at least a 3* one. Your guests are asking for it!

We would have been happier to pay more for a more decent experience or at least receive an honest descption of what the hotel actually is rather than raising 4 start expectations..

That aside, we thouroughly enjoyed Prague. It is a wonderful city which made it all worthy.

Thanks
Manuel

Room Tip: Just dont take room 204 if you dont want having to keep trying to get in several times..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ManVer85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

i stayed there for 5 nights. I have to say beds are very comfortable and its very quiet - so great for a good rest :) breakfast was just perfect - you could choose from celeral and milk to lovely ham and cheese, some scramble eggs, fresh frui salad, homemade cakes etc... All members of staff was speaking english and were very happy to help and to give some advise. However this hotel is not situated in city centre. its takes around 20 mins to get to Chares Bridge (bus170/196/197+tram17/3) but dont worry if you gonna miss the bus - its only 5 mins away from tram stacion to the hotel :) also there is a big supermarket just around the corner :)
Bedrooms are modern, water is more then hot (for hot shower lovers) but if you expect flat TV you`re gonna be disappointet...Insteed you`re gonna get free Wifii;p However you`re in PRAGUE.. so you`re not goona stay in your room long :) Recepcion desk is open 24h/day so if you need something its easy to ask :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malgorzata G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel was nice and clean. Room was spacious and the bathroom was large with a shower, no bath. The reception staff were lovely, spoke perfect English and were willing to recommend best routes and local restaurants, they also booked a taxi and allowed us to store our suit cases after checkin on our last day.
Location: This is the only draw back as it is a 15min tram ride from the city center (the nearest station is Pristaviste and is around 5min walk from the hotel). Local amenities are good as there is a supermarket and a few restaurants/ bars nearby. Tram line 3 and 17 go from the hotel to center approx every 7mins until late (latest we got it around midnight)
Prague centre: Would recommend climbing the clock Tower (110 kc) for an amazing view and the guided tour for (500kc). Along with the tour of Prague castle (300kc) Food: This can ve very expensive in the centre but just down a side street this can be a third of the price, the restaurant Raravella just of the square was nice and the service really good.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Hotel is nice. I stayed there for the 3rd time, I always booked the room with booking.com and I have to admit that I always got better room than this time. I think that I will continue going to the same hotel with booking and not with allabouthotels. I am sure that allabouthotels has paid less comfortable rooms as booking.com. Anyway, Hotel is nice and food is great.

Room Tip: Hotel is nice. I stayed there for the 3rd time, I always booked the room with booking.com and I have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janez G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michalovce, Slovakia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stay in Prague for a one day . We came at 10 am and check in time was from 14 : 00 . On the reception they gave us a room without a problem straight at 10 am . The room was nice big and bed was really comfortable.
Breakfast was rich you can choose from cold buffet or hot buffet we had a pancakes that were so delicious . Hotel restaurant is also so good and cheap i can recomanded a really good ribs .

Room Tip: The room 106 is a room in the corner with a sofa .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Slavka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Just home from a lovely trip to Prague with my boyfriend! It was our first visit here! We arrived at our hotel 2 hours before check in time looking to just drop off our bags & return later but our room was available & we were allowed in early which pleased us! The hotel staff were very helpfull, when we were ready to go out they gave us a map & showed us exactly where to get bus & tram from & where to get off! Also when looking to do excursions they were more than happy to help us book them or give us travel information! The decor of the rooms is a bit dated but the bathroom was new & very nice & the whole place was spotlessly clean! Towels were changed daily & beds made every day too! You are allowed to smoke in the restaurant, as you are in most places in Prague! All rooms are non smoking & we couldnt smell smoke in our room! The breakfast was a bit limited but we were happy to skip breakfast & eat while we were out anyway so wasn't a problem! We had dinner in the hotel one night & it was very nice & a decent price too! The hotel is a bit out of the city centre but the tram stop is about a 7 minute walk away or you can take the bus 1 stop & get the tram! The tram journey to city centre is about 15 minutes & has nice views along the river! The trams only run until midnight so if you are getting a taxi back ask the bar you are in to phone one for you as taxi's on the street rip you off! The hotel is also happy to book taxi's to airport etc!! Overall we had a very nice stay & couldnt fault the hotel or the friendly & helpfull service the staff gave us!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Iris Hotel Eden
#143 of 649 in Prague
687 reviews
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#148 of 649 in Prague
501 reviews
Praha 8
Hotel Charles Central
Hotel Charles Central
#194 of 649 in Prague
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#94 of 649 in Prague
790 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#65 of 649 in Prague
1,982 reviews
Praha 4
Inos
Inos
#210 of 649 in Prague
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Divadla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Divadla

Property: Hotel U Divadla
Address: U stare poshty 247/6, Prague 147 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Prague
#98 Family Hotel in Prague
#122 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#150 Business Hotel in Prague
#194 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel U Divadla 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious hotel with family atmosphere located in a calm area close to the Prague city centre (cca 15 min by tram) - all that and much more is provided by hotel U Divadla. Our prices will pleasantly surprise you. Art nouveau style gives this Prague's hotel charming and romantic atmosphere. It is an ideal place to arrange private celebrations as well as business meetings. Advantage of this four star hotel is family atmosphere and personal approach to our clients. Many satisfied guests from the Czech Republic as well as abroad come back thanks to high quality of accommodation, restaurant and cafe services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel U Divadla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Divadla Hotel
u Divadla Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing