We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Hotel U Divadla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel U Divadla
Ranked #131 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 1 December 2008

The hotel was exactly what I expected, more than perfect for the money I paid for (78 Euro for 3 nights).
The hotel is located 10' away from a central metro station.
The breakfast was very good, so you can eat plenty and don't need anything to eat until the dinner.
The room was comfortable and clean, with a very nice bathroom.

I hope I helped enough.

  • Liked — Free internet access.
  • Disliked — That you should take a bus from the metro station, so if you go out at night you need a taxi to return or the tram every 1 hr.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cacofonix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    181
    94
    18
    15
See reviews for
106
266
23
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2008

We recently stayed at this hotel, over the Hallowe'en break. The staff are so friendly and helpful. Particular mention to Tomas who received us on arrival with a smiling face, cheery nature and almost perfect English. A young man who will go far!!!
Although the hotel is slightly out of the city the public transport system is superb. Bus service available just yards from the hotel, tram stop within five minutes walking and the city metro system is easily negotiated.
Our room was pleasantly furnished, clean and bright. Food in the hotel restaurant is delicious. Menu quite varied for a three or four night stay.
Staff in this hotel all deserve a mention!.
All in all a very enjoyable experience.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank HOPPERIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2008

A very cosy hotel and clean. The service was very good and the people working there very polite. We enjoyed our staying in this hotel. We stayed seven nights in christmas season and felt like home. It had very good connection to the center of the town and the bus-tram-metro system of Prague is , i think, the best !

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Despoinak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2008

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and although we did not like the look of the surroundings at first, it turned out to be a very quiet area, so do not allow this to put you off. There were roadworks which meant we had to walk about 10 mins to the tram terminal, I thought it would be a pain having to travel in and out to the city centre, but by the end of the break, I actually preferred it as it gave us a bit of exercise after the hearty meals we had eaten. The hotel was advertised a 4* , I would say it was a 3* by British standards, but the rooms were clean and a decent size. The breakfasts were good and the staff were friendly and helpful

  • Liked — The cleanliness and friendly staff and the breakfast
  • Disliked — the surrounding area
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2008

The U Divi is very good accommodation, its a little way out of town which makes it better value for money than central hotels but it certainly has everything you would expect of a quality 3 star city hotel. It’s very easy and quick to get into central Prague from, by bus and metro or tram and is located in an area, Branik, which has a quiet “village” feel about it. Some reviews have said or implied that Branik is unsafe or a run down area, but I would disagree with both of these views, indeed if you walk up the hill to the higher parts of the area you’ll discover it’s actually a rather posh suburb of Prague.
The hotel staff are friendly, helpful and understand English. The room we stayed in was very clean, of decent size and had a very new and spacious shower room. The towels were changed daily and even the TV reception was very good. The road outside is cobbled so can be noisy if you leave the windows open but these are double glazed and when shut cut out all the background noise.
It has a nice bar, and the beer is reasonably priced, it has a good sized restaurant (which we didn’t try) which is also used for breakfast. Breakfast is what I would described as “up market” continental, there’s some hot food and everything else you’d expect and more (for example, a choice of 6 types of bread!). Breakfast is from 7am – 10am so no rush.
Other than no air conditioning in the rooms, which wasn’t needed for our stay, there are only two minor things to criticise. Firstly not enough soap, shampoo and shower gel is provided, but I’m sure you only need to ask, and secondly, and more importantly – the bar closes at 11.00pm, which I think is far too early. There was a mini bar in the room, but a bit pricey. However there are quite a few places locally in Branik to have a drink to about midnight.
Overall though, I would definitely recommend this hotel for either a first timer to Prague (as we were) or to a returning visitor.

  • Liked — High standard at a budget price
  • Disliked — Bar shutting at 11.00pm
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Notthedrapster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights. We had a great room, lots of space and a fancy good-sized bathroom. The Hotel has very friendly staff (they speak English too), free Internet service/computer to use in the lobby, and a great restaurant inside the hotel. I've seen that some people said that the area looked a little sketchy, and it does, but we felt very safe walking to and from the train (about 8 minute walk) at night. There is also a bus stop about 1 block away.

The hotel provided us with shampoos and soaps, nice towels, friendly staff and great service. Overall it was a great place to stay and I will return. Prague is a beautiful city.

  • Liked — Ease of reaching bus/train into the city & the restaurant
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2008

lovely room, nice and helpful receptionists with very good local knowledge, lots of tourist info available, maps and leaflets, breakfast buffet included in bill. Downside is that there is no air con.

area is a bit quiet and scary. However there are a few bars and a handful of food places. All in all a crap area. There is also a local supermarket 2mins away but theres a few ice cream places in front of hotel.

tram is 10min walk from the hotel, has frequent service, and takes you to the main tourist attractions. tram is very cheap. only takes about 20mins to get there.

Not far from the airport- 35mins

overall the hotel is good value for money. Wouldnt say its great but wouldnt say its bad

  • Liked — reception staff, breakfast, all the tourist info available
  • Disliked — no air con and a lot of insects in the room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank camels&donkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Iris Hotel Eden
#133 of 649 in Prague
715 reviews
Praha 8
Hotel Charles Central
Hotel Charles Central
#175 of 649 in Prague
1,092 reviews
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#152 of 649 in Prague
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#138 of 649 in Prague
730 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#100 of 649 in Prague
832 reviews
Praha 4
Inos
Inos
#209 of 649 in Prague
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Divadla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Divadla

Property: Hotel U Divadla
Address: U stare poshty 247/6, Prague 147 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Prague
#98 Family Hotel in Prague
#112 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#150 Business Hotel in Prague
#194 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel U Divadla 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious hotel with family atmosphere located in a calm area close to the Prague city centre (cca 15 min by tram) - all that and much more is provided by hotel U Divadla. Our prices will pleasantly surprise you. Art nouveau style gives this Prague's hotel charming and romantic atmosphere. It is an ideal place to arrange private celebrations as well as business meetings. Advantage of this four star hotel is family atmosphere and personal approach to our clients. Many satisfied guests from the Czech Republic as well as abroad come back thanks to high quality of accommodation, restaurant and cafe services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel U Divadla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Divadla Hotel
u Divadla Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing