We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, clean, pretty, and out of the way location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence
Ranked #194 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Very pretty rooms with antique/old-fashioned furniture. Staff very pleasant and friendly. Rooms are of medium size and clean.

Location right at the base of the Vysehrad Castle, which is a beautiful place to walk and sight-see.

Drawbacks: breakfast not very good, and the occasional train on the nearby tracks (though I quickly got used to that).

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank David19262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King_Charles_Prague, Front Office Manager at King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2011

Dear David,

Thank you for your review. We do our best to meet our guests expectations. About
breakfast, we recently changed our menu that guests from different countries may
be satisfied with it. I wish you specified what exactly you did not like so we can
improve our service. Unfortunately because of location of our hotel, we can not do
anything about noise, just recommend keep the windows closed during the night, we
have air conditioning in all rooms. We hope we will see you again in Prague.

Elina Kashapova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

309 - 315 of 859 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2011

I'm very glad that choosed and spend my Chech vacation in this hotel. I'm hope you will change boiler (need more hot water) and need wi-fi on all flors

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jivchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King_Charles_Prague, Front Office Manager at King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2011

Dear Jivchik,

We are really glad that you liked staying in our hotel. We will try to solve these
problems in short time. We will be happy to see you next time you visit Prague.

Kind regards,
Elina Kashapova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

My husband and I stayed at the King Charles in March for 4 nights. The hotel in our mind is kind of more of a cross between a hotel and a guest house. The staff were helpful and the rooms were very clean. In terms of distance, it was about a 15minute walk to the river, where we fed the swans and ducks every morning, beautiful experience and definitely recommend. In terms of the hotel's star rating, I would say consider the price you are paying. In order for a person to have an accurate view of the hotel and not have too raised expectations, i would say i would give it between a 2 & 3 star, or though for a guest house rating, possibly more. The basis for my rating is considering it against other hotels my husband and I have stayed in. We have never been in a 4 star hotel that did not have a bar, restaurant, or room service. Also the only English speaking TV channel was a news channel, which again we have never experienced in a hotel of this rating, not even in Sri Lanka! The reception will lend out DVDs which is a good idea, although not so great for us as we had watched the majority of the films they had. The breakfast I would say is very average, but adequate and this is where it really felt more like a guest house. Would we recommend it, yes, as long as it is just a clean bed you want, as noted above, the staff are helpful which is great.

Prague itself is a beautiful city, with plenty to see. It is a lot more expensive then we expected, however, especially since it is not in the Euro zone. My husband and I walked out a couple of cafes and restaurants due to the inflated prices, which were more expensive at times then at home (in Jersey, which is ridiculously expensive itself!) and ended up buying a lot of our food from the local LIDL and Tesco Express. A cafe I definitely recommend is the Cafe Rozmar, once you get on to the main road where the river is, it is opposite the river about 5-10 minutes walk towards the main tourist part of Prague and is a few doors up from Segway shop. The food was really good, it was good value and the staff were lovely, especially a young man whose name escapes me, but he couldn't do enough for us. The Cafe also is non-profit making and helps to raise money for young adults leaving care (children's homes). Another good place is if you cross the river at the first stone bridge and walk straight up the road, you will eventually come to a shopping centre and on the third floor there they have a number of eateries selling various themed foods e.g. Greek, Chinese; Italian. Do not eat though from the Sushi bar, which has a buffet, the Sushi was fine but the Chinese meal my husband and I had there the second time we went was the most disgusting i have ever had, tasted like old hard chicken, I only had two mouths fulls and then just ate my boiled rice instead, my husband, however, ate more and had a very bad stomach afterwards and he never normally gets ill and has a cast iron stomach!!

Another suggestion is the Thai massage, just off of the main square in Prague, can't remember the name but is where the astronomical clock is.

If you have any questions, don't hesitate to contact me.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Desertsaffron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King_Charles_Prague, General Manager at King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2011

Dear Desertsaffron,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Prague. Please allow me to thank you for your comment which will inspire us in which direction we would improve our services. We are sure you will be pleasantly surprised choosing our hotel for your next trip to our romantic city.

With best regards,

Evgenia Sakharova
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

it is 5 years since we last stayed at this hotel and for our short stay in prague we thought we would return as we enjoyed it last visit.
we booked the hotels car to pick us up at the airport and having collected our case we went to the arrivals gate and no sign of him so we wandered past all the exits in case he was at a different exit but he wasnt so we wandered back to the original exit and looked around still no sign but a couple of minutes later he arrived took our case and the next time he spoke was at the hotel, no little bits of info or anything. journey to the hotel was quick enough but on reflection would not book again certainly not for 650Kc.
arrival at hotel and quickly booked in to our superior room.
this is where the hotel has not moved on in the 5 years since we were last there.
a very big room with ample space to put a chair or 2 so the guests can enjoy a few minutes quiet contemplation.
the bed was 2 single matresses with a cover over to give a very large bed, with 2 single quilts on it was comfortable and you had your own quilt so very good idea.
the room had a jacuzzi bath and was a major let down, firstly there was no hot warter so a trip down to reception and a short while later a technician appeared this was obviously a repeat problem because he arrived with a set of steps and a toothpick.
having carefully snapped the toothpick he proceeded to jam both halfs into the circuit breakers and said wait 1 hour for water to warm up.
we give it 3 hours and tried to run a bath and got about 6 inches of hot water which we thought was better than nothing.
we couldnt take a shower because the shower mixer didnt have a bracket to hold the head.
after getting sorted we had a walk to the restaurant we liked so much on our previous stay and had a enjoyable meal.
the cost of eating and drinking in prague has risen a fair bit in the 5 years we have been visiting partly down to the exchange rate coming down from 40 tothe £ to 25 to the £ the average price of 0.5l being 24 Kc still good.
food prices are still about the same for the meals but the exchange rate once again brings the price up we still ate and drank for a lot less than at home.
the wife loves her vodka and was paying 45Kc for a .04 measure rather than the .025 measure at home so she was happy.
we spent monday walking around the lesser and old towns then through into wenceslas square to catch the tram back as my wife was struggling by then.
monday night we tried another local restaurant the king charles !V on neklanova about 150 metres along on the other side of the road and although the menu was in czech the barman helped up select our meals and we thoroughly enjoyed them.and reasonably priced food and drink. next day a trip to prague zoo which we have never visited before a ride from vysherad metro to holesovice metro then followed the signs for the 112 bus to the zoo 26Kc each way then 150Kc entry to the zoo.
the zoo is spread over a large area but looks like it needs a few bob spent on it but not a bad day to pass a few hours.bus back to metro then off in city centre for lunch and a bit more sightseeing, back for a shallow bath then tried the restaurant at hotel U Semika on the road up to vysherad castle, a little over the prices paid in the local bars but one of the nicest meals i have had in the city. well worth the trip up there.
anyway back to the hotel review the hotel price is €89 per night in a superior room we booked through booking.com and got 3 nights for €111 so very happy with that.
would i pay the full price at this moment in time no, however if the plumbing was sorted and the chairs sorted for the rooms then yes as it is close enough to enjoy central prague but quiet enough on an evening to sit in bars and enjoy a drink in peace.
we decided to end our trip with a public transport ride to while away some time before our flight.
tram from near enough out the front of the hotel quick hop onto metro and finally a 119 bus ride to the airport start to finish approx 1 hour for the amazing amount of £1 each.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank no6bus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King_Charles_Prague, Front Office Manager at King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2011

Dear no6bus,
Thank you for your time and wide overview. It is going to be useful not only for us, but for our future guests.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will try to improve our services due to your comment and all our stuff will be happy to see you in Prague once again.

Alexander Sakharov,
Reservation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Pros — not far from downtown, about 20 minutes of walking from National Museum; gogreous bathroom; good bed.
Cons — small cantine, not enough for all guests; narrow room: the wardrobe could not be open completely; noisy elevator.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UmbralPresence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King_Charles_Prague, Front Office Manager at King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2011

Dear user UmbralPresence,

We would like to thank you for your response. We hope you enjoyed staying in our hotel. About canteen, we will take a note, but at that moment there is no chance to make it bigger. We are sorry that you had a small room, I believe it was Economy room, because some of them are smaller than others. Sometimes we offer our clients to change it to Superior room, the price would not be much more expensive. As for elevator, unfortunately it makes noise pretty much all the time when it is raining or snowing. We are trying to do some changes about it already. We sure you that your feedback will make us to improve our services. We will be happy to see you next time in Prague.

With best regards,
Elina Kashapova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

we arrived two hours early, but there was no problem with getting the room before check in.The room was large and clean, bathroom with jacuzzi:],breakfast was same evry day that is only one minus.Location, 15 minutes by tram to the center which is very good,hotel is in a quiet area so you can sleep well,overall a fantastic hotel ,a fantastic service, very pleasant stay

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pawelszewcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King_Charles_Prague, General Manager at King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2011

Dear pawelszewcow,

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

All our staff will be happy to see you back in Prague.

With best regards,

Evgenia Sakharova
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

The rooms are nice, there´s TV on every room, but that´s not important when you visit Prague. The staff were very informative so we had no problems of getting to where we were going. I really was fond of the bathroom. Jacuzzi is just my kind of bath, and the bathroom was very very inviting with it´s lightning and cleanness.

And just around the corner is a little restauant. It is not big, have no fancy waiters or interior, but smiling waitresses and EXEPTIONEL FOOD for a low cost.

All over Prague you can get the nonalcohollic BIRELL beer, which is fantastic. Even in a dark version too. What a plesure to have good beer with no more than 0,4 %.
We had a wonderfull trip to Prague and I am going back again.

Yes; this hotel is going to have a visit more from me.

Best Regards
Jesper Mølbach Stiernehaugh-Krogh Robertøn
DENMARK

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moelbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King_Charles_Prague, General Manager at King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2011

Dear Jesper Mølbach Stiernehaugh-Krogh Robertøn,

First of all, please allow me to thank you for choosing King Charles Boutique Residence for your recent stay in Prague. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. Our staff will do our best to make your next stay even more comfortable.

Looking forward to see you in Prague soon,

Evgenia Sakharova,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#132 of 648 in Prague
791 reviews
Praha 2
Park Inn Hotel Prague
Park Inn Hotel Prague
#54 of 648 in Prague
2,437 reviews
Praha 2
Alqush Downtown Hotel
Alqush Downtown Hotel
#181 of 648 in Prague
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#76 of 648 in Prague
868 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#124 of 648 in Prague
436 reviews
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#143 of 648 in Prague
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence

Address: Neklanova 148/34, Prague 128 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Prague
#52 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £37 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the center of Prague, in a historical building right under the walls of Vysehrad Prague Castle and its gardens, a few steps away from the Charles Square, the "King Charles" is the renaissance-style boutique hotel residence offering an unforgettable hospitality experience. Inspired by the romance of Rococo era, and reminiscent of a private chamber in a knight's castle, King Charles' 35 guest rooms feature antique replica mahogany furniture, crystal and brass light fixtures, and luxury bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Charles Boutique Prague
King Charles Boutique Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing