We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“has seen better days” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence
Ranked #126 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Rafz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“has seen better days”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2009

Where to start? hmm...arrived got a room facig the court yard which was warm and not ventilated. Shower did not drain, we asked for new room and at first were offered to take shower in room next door but as my wife insisted we were given a larger room on another floor. There the bathroom has seen better times, wooden accents in the bathroom were not properly attached to the ceiling and walls - clearly showing very poor workmanship. Beds were singles and took up valuable room due to its cheesy accents and one had to watch not to get hurt. Courtyard area faces a nightclub and at night we were woken up by a bunch of young drunk Americans/Brits who obviously do not get let out too often at home. Breakfast was a disaster. Coffee was basically a colored water and the rest seemed not fresh and tasteless. This place was more like a hostel/motel than a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaroG73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King_Charles_Prague, Manager at King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence, responded to this review, 8 September 2009
We deeply regret we could not meet the expectations of our guest, Mr. G... (I am calling the gentleman this way to protect his privacy - no disrespect intended of course), and are looking carefully into the issues mentioned in the review. There are a few things I would like to clarify though:
1. Mr. G has booked the smaller room but has been given an upgrade to superior room free of charge. We have eliminated the problem with shower drain as soon as the room was vacant.
2. Bathroom. Our guests generally love the styling of our bathrooms. Combination of marble, golden accents and wooden ceiling makes our bathrooms very special and much above average in our price range.
I have personally checked the bathroom Mr. G is referring to. The bars on the ceiling are made of genuine wood and are naturally subject to humidity. They are a bit rough and twisted and I personally think this adds to the experience of romantic boutique hotel.
3. Our beds are big, heavy and comfortable. They are hand made of mahogany wood and do take some room space. We are going to modify the beds so they become more compact still retaining the unique style appreciated by our guests.
4. Breakfast. We are using only the fresh products and best quality coffee. There has not been a single complaint before regarding quality or variety of our breakfast buffet. I would like to hear from Mr. G what exactly was wrong with the food as we are taking this complaint very seriously.
5. Noise. I am not sure what was meant but there is absolutely NO night club in our area and nearby buildings are local resident houses. The courtyard rooms are facing Vysehrad walls and our garden below. They are really quiet and tranquil.
We are a small boutique hotel and are known for our personal attention to the needs of our guests. I am surprised there was no complaint from Mr. G during his stay and while he was checking out. Absolutely sure we could have solved any problem to his complete satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    253
    62
    24
    8
See reviews for
127
426
53
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

We enjoyed a very clean, elegant room in a nicely appointed hotel with a PC we were free to use in our room. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and tasty. The staff were quite helpful and proficient in English. We stayed in the King Charles after a few days in Paris and were very impressed with the quality of the hotel for a price which was considerably less than what we paid in Paris.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimEuroTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

My wife and I spent a very pleasant 3 nights in a superior room.
We found the accommadation to be spotlessly clean. A well appointed bathroom complete with a jacuzzi bath. Breakfast offered a wide variety of choices and was available up to 11 am.. The staff were very polite and helpfull.
With excellent transport links all of the main tourist attractions are within a 10 minute tram ride.
This is a hotel that we would use again and have recommended to our friends and families.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ben7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn, ny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

A friend and I stayed here for a week. We do not speak a word of Czech, but the staff could not have been more helpful. They went out of their way to help us and gave good directions, recommendations, etc. The breakfast buffet was nice with a good variety (breads, cereals, eggs, yogurt, pastries, as well as fresh vegetables, hard cheese, cold cuts). The rooms are clean and comfortable. Only one downside - be sure to ask for a room on the quiet side of the hotel. The train passes right in front and so the front rooms are very noisy. If you keep the window closed you don't really hear it, but that isn't possible in warm weather. We were able to switch on our third night and it made all the difference. The location is convenient - the tram is nearby and takes you anywhere you need to go very quickly. This isn't a 'fancy' place - no air conditioning (though they did bring us a portable unit for the night we stayed in the noisy room and that did work fine). The internet didn't work in the second room we were in, limited TV. But the place is immaculate and the rooms very comfortable (even jacuzzi tubs). And you can't beat the value or the service.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiebrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

We really enjoy our stay at King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence.
The wedding suite is fantastic.

My best regards

Bodil

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Booil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2009

Having stayed in a number of hotels, this property was very different to most, when arriving at the front door, which looked very plain from the outside, walking through the door the reception area resembled the set of a poroit movie set with it long corridor shaped room and large chanderlier and dark wood funiture. We found the staff mostly helpful and the access to the main town very easy. I'm not sure I would rate this as a 4* hotel, but it was clean comfortable and prague it self is a stunning city, we are definitly going to return to both the city and hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cazfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2009

This was my second stay at the King Charles Boutique Hotel. My previous stay had been with my husband and I had no concerns about recommending the hotel to my friends for our visit to Prague. Needless to say we were not dissappointed.

The King Charles in my view is exceptional value for money. It has a great position, being just outside of the main hustle and bustle of the town but near enough to walk into the centre. We took a leisurely walk from the hotel along the river into the centre which added to the Prague experience. Alternatively you can catch the tram which stops just across the road and within 5 minutes you are right in centre of things.

The hotel was lovely, with well maintained rooms which are very atmospheric when you enter them. The rooms were kept immaculately clean and we all commented on the crisp white sheets!

The breakfast area is small but offers a sufficient uffet selection of food to send you on your way in the morning.

If returning to Prague again, I would definately stay at the King Charles Boutique Hotel as I believe it offers exceptional value for money without any reduction in standards.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EPMCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Amigo City Centre Hotel
Amigo City Centre Hotel
#190 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Praha 2
Alqush Downtown Hotel
Alqush Downtown Hotel
#131 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Praha 2
Green Garden Hotel
Green Garden Hotel
#74 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Angelis
Angelis
#84 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#124 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Praha 4
Inos
Inos
#214 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence

Property: King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence
Address: Neklanova 148/34, Prague 128 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Prague
#53 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the center of Prague, in a historical building right under the walls of Vysehrad Prague Castle and its gardens, a few steps away from the Charles Square, the "King Charles" is the renaissance-style boutique hotel residence offering an unforgettable hospitality experience. Inspired by the romance of Rococo era, and reminiscent of a private chamber in a knight's castle, King Charles' 35 guest rooms feature antique replica mahogany furniture, crystal and brass light fixtures, and luxury bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Charles Boutique Prague
King Charles Boutique Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing