We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful room & hospitality”
Review of Aparthotel City 5

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aparthotel City 5
Ranked #5 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I stayed in Aparthotel City 5 with my girlfriend in the winter right before Christmas and again this summer in July. Both of my stays were very pleasant. After reading many positive reviews on TripAdvisor I must say that it exceeded all expectations. We were very happy with the size and cleanliness of the room and our host Kristina was very friendly and kind to us. She had wonderful ideas and suggestions for us whether it was sightseeing, eating, or transportation. One night she recommended a very nice, quiet restaurant in Vysehrad that we enjoyed very much. I can't remember the name, but if you're looking for places to eat I'm sure she'll recommend as she told us it's her favorite. My girlfriend and I walked just about everywhere while we were there, but the bus and train are close by as well. Kristina is a wonderful host and as you can tell by reading just about every review she is what makes this place so special. Overall, this is hotel is quite a bargain and great place to stay and highly recommend. I plan to come back here for years to come and look forward to my stays at Aparthotel City 5 in Prague!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j_roc003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

595 - 601 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2012

My husband and I stayed in Aparthotel City 5 for 6 days 5 nights from 16-21 July 2012. We were warmly greeted by Kristina with freshly brewed coffees upon arrival. She took the initiative to explain to us all the "must-sees" in Prague and also gave us tips on when and where to go.

The hotel is conveniently located, though not exactly in the tourist spots, thus avoiding the noise and crowds, yet close enough to all major tourist attractions on foot or by the excellent tram/metro network. Due to its proximity to the river, you can have a nice walk after dinner to enjoy the breathtaking view of the sunset with the swans swimming in the river and people jogging along the footpath (the sun sets after 9pm in summer).

The room we stayed in was room 41B, a spacious suite with fully functional kitchenette. It has everything we need, English TV channels, microwave, kettle, bowls and cutlery in our room. The hotel also offers free laundry and breakfast with yummy croissants at very reasonable price (4 Euro). Though I do not kids, the hotel even has a kid's corner with books and soft toys.

Kristina was so nice that she helped print our hotel confirmation for our stop, and the confirmation email for bus ride to Cesky Krumlov. By the way, the Hotel is just 2 minutes walk from the bus terminal (for Student Agency Buses) for some excursion routes. You can buy bus tickets with a discount online. Kristina also helped us with the laundry, which is completely free of charge. Can you imagine that? She cleaned our clothes for us for free, at the best timing (she calculated the timing for us!!)

When we checked out, we were surprised by the little souvenir she gave us -- the Czech cap! Thank you so much for Kristina's hospitality, efficiency, thoughtfulness and humor!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BetBetBetBet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Kristina is AMAZING! The Bed & Breakfast is clean, warm and very welcoming. Kristina arranged for a taxi driver to meet us at the train station. Our driver Jiri (George in Czech) was waiting for us at Burger King with a sign that had my name on it. It was such a relief! When we got to the hotel Kristina made us feel at home immediately. She told us to drop our bags and go in the cafe for her special coffee and danish. After she made us coffee and tea she spread out a map of Prague and circled all the locations we must visit. Then she showed us to our rooms and rushed us off into the city to enjoy our short trip. Simply amazing! You must stay with Kristina when you are in Prague!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AishaDaCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

As other reviewers have noted, amazing, amazing, helpful, friendly, attentive, hospitable service. But aside from the service, the hotel is great too. We had a good size room, simply but tastefully decorated, with a great shower and nice bed, and the kitchen is well-stocked with a fridge, hotpot, cooking supplies, cups, utensils, etc and free coffee, tea, and sugar. There’s a café on the ground floor offering breakfast if you don’t want to cook, with a good spread for about $5, and it also has coffee and drinks available all day. There’s a big supermarket for groceries which is open late and very close by. Free WiFi in the rooms which is great (and the connection is very good) and there’s also a computer in the café. Only negative, and this is grasping, is that it’s not in the center of Prague, but the city is very small and walkable and the hotel is right around the corner from public transportation, which was fast, clean, efficient, and cheap. And actually, we liked not staying in a super touristy area, although there are plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. We just left Prague a few days ago but we loved the city so much, we already decided that we’re going to return, and when we do, we will definitely stay at the ApartHotel (if there is space).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenjamie816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Kristina displays her tripadvisor awards proudly in the reception.....and for good reason. The rooms themselves are clean and simple but large enough for us and our two boys. The location isn't that central but we had brought our legs with us. The real asset of this hotel is the partner, Kristina. We were collected at the airport which I had forgotten about so that was the first nice surprise. The second was the cool foaming beer from the brewery next door to the hotel which Kristina met us with as soon as we sat down. From then on, though the hotel was full, Kristina treated us and the other guests as if we were the only ones staying, ordering taxis for us, finding rail connections, instructing us on the sites to visit and schedules to follow. She even provided delicious tosties for children at breakfast. All this at incredible value for money. This is a gem of a place in Prague and no doubt Kristina will be displaying her 3rd Tripadvisor award in reception in 2013.

*Take Kristina's advice and have your first meal at the Thirsty Deer next door to the hotel. Great authentic Czech food, massive portions and great value. Avoid Sundays when the downstairs is closed and the upstairs is very smokey.

Room Tip: Ther is no air conditioning so go for a back room in the summer which is off the road and quiet if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cromerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed here in July 2012. When we arrived Kristina was so helpful as other reviewers have said. She sat down with us for about 1/2 hour going over all the good places to go and where to visit. She upgraded us to a bigger apartment as well. The room was fantastic, clean and had everything that you needed. The breakfast in the morning is well worth having and Kristina toasties were brilliant. The hotel is easy to get to from all public transport. In summary a great place to stay, with a great welcome and I would definitely recommend it to any one going to Prague.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham33186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have travelled through many European countries. This hotel was definitely one if the best. Huge clean rooms with everything you could need.

Kristina was also a great hostess serving her favorite coffee and helping set the agenda if sights to see. (her best advice: go to Charles bridge early).

A great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmmaurer219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 646 in Prague
2,999 reviews
Staré Město (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 646 in Prague
3,383 reviews
Hradčany & Letná
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 646 in Prague
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences Prague
Nové Město (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 646 in Prague
1,005 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#25 of 646 in Prague
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel City 5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel City 5

Address: Vltavska 667/11 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Prague
#6 Family Hotel in Prague
#15 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#112 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £39 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel City 5 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family apartment hotel APARTHOTEL CITY 5 is located very close to the modern administrative-commercial center of Prague 5 "Zlaty Andel / Novy Smichov", approx. 50m from the metro station Andel. Aparthotel City 5 is fully reconstructed four floor house with a lift. All apartments are furnished in a modern and elegant style. All the equipment is brand new. There are different apartments for 2 - 6 clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Aparthotel City 5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel City 5 Prague
Aparthotel City 5 Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing