We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel value in Prague”
Review of Aparthotel City 5

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aparthotel City 5
Ranked #4 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best hotel value in Prague”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Any hotel that welcomes you with a cold beer on a hot August day knows how to treat its guests! We stayed at Aparthotel City 5 for 9 days at the end of August and early September. Great location - around corner from bus and metro stations; walking distance to the old parts of Prague; shopping center with grocery 2 blocks away. Give our length of stay, we were upgraded to a single bedroom apartment. It was relatively quiet, very clean, comfortable, with plenty of room. Kristina spent over 30 minutes orienting us to the City (while we had our welcome beverage) - invaluable to our enjoying the city. And at a rate about half of what my colleagues were paying at a typical hotel near the convention center.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDH_MLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,171
    119
    18
    1
    0
See reviews for
295
631
95
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Naples
Level Contributor
234 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Let's face it, Kristina is what makes this experience with her unending desire to please her guests. But here is a bit more if you are not convinced.

Aparthotel City 5 is for real travelers. No, it isn't the Ritz-Carlton but it is an authentic Czech immersion conveniently located at a great price. It let's you access all of the important parts of Prague using the metro below ground or the trolleys above it. The cost of these is minimal and you should conserve your energy for other things.

Kristina can direct you to neighborhood restaurants where a couple can eat for about US$25 including beers. Go to nearby Teaco market and get what you want to eat for breakfast as well as drinks for cocktails, etc.

We did three nights and found we had a nice but cursory tour of Prague. Next visit we will focus on a couple of things now that we know the lay of the land. There is so much to see that it really is difficult to decide how to spend your time best. We do know for sure that we will choose the same hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rca2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Kristina, the owner of Aparthotel City 5, is one of the most welcoming and warm people we've ever met. Thanks to her our 4 day stay in Prague was very enjoyable. After we arrived from the airport in a taxi (arranged by Kristina), we were welcomed with snacks and drinks. She gave us a short overview of things to do and to see in Prague, and answered all our questions. The rooms were very clean comfortable and spacious. Hotel is very close to Metro station and Vyšehrad castle is just across the river. On some days there is small farmer's market nearby where one can buy fresh berries. Kristina's breakfasts were delicious.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dezoxyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

After 4 weeks travelling around Europe, this hotel really felt like a home away from home. Fully equip kitchen, comfy bed and exceptional service. Kristina really made our stay exceptional - spend 30+ minutes with us explaining all the sites when we arrived, great laundry service, nice breakfast each morning, a smile and greeting everytime and a memorable parting gift. Would be recommending this place to all my friends and family!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luce_w7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Even before we got to Prague, Kristina emailed me to comfirm the booking, she also managed to a arrange a taxi to pick us up from the airport which was very helpful.
When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by a smiling Kristina, she offered us a tea, coffee or latte and sat us down and showed us were to go on the map...She also recommended that we walked everywhere as everything was in walking distance for the active persons. But if you don't fancy walking, the metro was only 5 minute walk away (we walked everywhere).

Breakfast was Continental buffet style, But you could help yourself to as much as you like! The best thing at breakfast was the "Cheese Toasties" cooked by Kristina!
The Room, was spotless and had a homely feel about it..very modern.

Overall this is how a hotel should be run, I think Kristina should run classes on hospitality as she makes you feel so at home and is always willing to help.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waynester05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Kristina is my favourite person in Europe!!! I honestly can't say enough good things about her or her hotel. Long before we even got there I knew I'd like her just from the emails we had exchanged, and as soon as I met her I knew I'd been spot on about how great she is. She really loves her city and her enthusiasm is infectious. We followed her tips on where to go and had the most amazing time in Prague. It was by far my favourite part of my 6 week European trip. Kristina went out of her way to ensure our stay was perfect, and our chats at breakfast were a real highlight.

Our room was huge! Very clean, good shower, good wifi connection. Breakfast was delicious - I still dream about Kristina's toasties!! We had been travelling for a while by the time we got to Prague and to have someone look after us like that was exactly what we needed! Kristina made us promise to return to Prague every 2 years at least and I will do my absolute best - I just fell in love with the amazing city and would never even consider staying anywhere else. Thank you so much Kristina!!! We miss you!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

Kristina is amazing and her hospitality is what makes this hotel so special. After an incredibly long day of travel, with unanticipated delays, we safely made it to Prague very late. Kristina ensured she stayed up late (almost midnight) and gave us her cell phone number to personally greet us and to make sure the taxi from the train station didn't attempt to over charge us. Her hospitality was such a breath of fresh air. She immediately made us feel at home. In fact, one of her first comments "welcome home".

Kristina provided a great overview of the city and is clearly very passionate about Prague and all that the city has to offer. Kristina anticipates her guest's needs, without you having to ask. For example, she knew we were also planning to depart late. We didn't have to ask, she immediately offered to stow our luggage, to make arrangements for us to access the hotel later that evening, as well as transport to the train station.

The rooms were huge! Lots of space, with a kitchenette and small dining area. Breakfast was okay; nothing out of the ordinary (simple buffet) but certainly convenient. All of the major attractions are a short walk and/or are easily accessible via public transport.

Thanks for the hospitality! Enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMIBeachGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,572 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 649 in Prague
3,056 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#64 of 649 in Prague
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#7 of 649 in Prague
748 reviews
Praha 4
Rezidence Vysehrad
Rezidence Vysehrad
#12 of 649 in Prague
441 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#25 of 649 in Prague
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel City 5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel City 5

Property: Aparthotel City 5
Address: Vltavska 667/11 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Prague
#15 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#15 Best Value Hotel in Prague
#113 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel City 5 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family apartment hotel APARTHOTEL CITY 5 is located very close to the modern administrative-commercial center of Prague 5 "Zlaty Andel / Novy Smichov", approx. 50m from the metro station Andel. Aparthotel City 5 is fully reconstructed four floor house with a lift. All apartments are furnished in a modern and elegant style. All the equipment is brand new. There are different apartments for 2 - 6 clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld and HRS so you can book your Aparthotel City 5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel City 5 Prague
Aparthotel City 5 Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing