We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, close to subway, poor neighborhood”
Review of Aparthotel City 5

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aparthotel City 5
Ranked #4 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
São Paulo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good price, close to subway, poor neighborhood”
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Highlights:
- Good price
- Close to the subway
- Good breakfast for 4 euros
- Free internet
Lowlights:
- Neighborhood: not central and not the safest one
- No house keeping
- Clarity of the room in the morning
STAY THERE IF: you are on budget and want good value
DON’T STAY THERE IF: you want to go back to the hotel after midnight and sleep until late

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pedro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,172
    119
    18
    1
    0
See reviews for
295
632
95
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Fantastic place to stay, slightly outside of the main city centre and old town, however it was very close to the subway and trams and from there it was only a short 10min trip into the centre. Plenty of restaurants, bars, supermarkets, shopping centre nearby and right next to the Staropramen brewery.
Apartments were a good size and well equipted.
Service couldn't be any better - there's a reason why this place rates so highly and we were not disappointed. They arranged transfers for us and when the driver couldn't make it at the last minute the hotel manager turned up at the airport after midnight to pick us up. Very helpful at providing directions and advice and good english spoken. Would not stay anywhere else in Prague.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoC78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2009

The hotel was very nice. It was clean and the staff were really friendly. We really liked the fact that our room came with a little kitchen area (and a store was real close) ment that we didnt have to eat out every night. The staropramen factor was right around the corner and we were a short train ride into the city center, or a 20 min walk. We cant fault it at all...

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bells01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2009

Our group of friends visit Prague annually for a City break and this was our Third year running at the ApartHotel City 5. The welcome is warm from start to finish and the “nothing is too much trouble” attitude is very reassuring. We have been consistently well looked after by Gastone, Kristina and staff. They have always set us up with morning with a varied breakfast before making informative suggestions on places to visit in the City, interesting walks, and daily activities. Whether you opt for a room or apartment with Kitchenette, you will find they are more than adequately equipped with home-from-home essentials. The free WIFI access is also of real benefit to me, and there is a PC located in the downstairs café area to use. This is a Modern and Basic European style ApartHotel. You will find everything you need, but don’t expect 5* pampering, as the idea of an ApartHotel is that you are self sufficient to a degree. The room rates are very reasonable considering the ever increasing Prague prices elsewhere.

The Prague 5 district of Smichov is a great little part of the City. Whilst it is just over the left hand side of the river, it nevertheless is very well located. We love the fact that this Hotel is sufficiently far away enough from the Wenceslas Square and Old town commotion and noise, and yet still a reasonably short walk over. (Maybe 20-30 mins) After a late night out in the City’s nightclubs of Lavka and Karlovy Lazne, we enjoyed the easy walk along and over the river back to the Aparthotel City 5.
But if you don’t want to walk the tube/subway station of ‘Anděl’ is just over the road to the left. (It means ‘Angel’ apparently making it in common with the London Underground station) You can get to any central part of the city inside 15 mins for well under 1 Euro. Also in the Vicinity of the ApartHotel is a very modern and vibrant shopping Centre area which boasts all kinds of upmarket shops like the Apple Store, and a very classy Indoor shopping centre. You can also tour the Staropramen Brewery which is a strong feature of this location.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staplecom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2009

It might be tough for me to give this 'Aparthotel' an average review given it's high ranking here on TA, but there are a few negatives that aren't so obvious.

Firstly, the service was excellent. From the check in to internet connection to finding the best transport routes to the checkout, the owners and staff were great. Secondly, the 'Aparthotel' is exactly that, an apartment building with clean and modern studio's that all connect like a hotel. Our room had a kitchenette with 2 burner electric stove, mini refrigerator, electric water kettle, sink and dishes for 4. Free tea/instant coffee were on offer. We had two single beds typical of the CR, but a little tough for us married people ;) We had two roof skylights that opened but no windows on the wall - loft style. Everything worked and was in fine condition and maintenance.

The negatives were mostly related to the location. It's a brisk 20 minute walk to Charles Bridge and 3 blocks from the Vltava river. Despite the nearby Andel metro/tram stations, it's not too easy to get to the city center from the hotel. Prague is an exceedingly beautiful city, but this neighborhood has room for improvement. It's a wide and busy street where motorcycle noise echo's off the walls for amplification. There is very little in the area that's worth seeing and walking the streets at night would make most people a little nervous.

We drove our car from Italy, arriving in the afternoon. Gaston arranged for us to park our car in the private courtyard next door - somewhat secure despite the workmen and other residents coming and going. Other parking options in the area are limited so be aware.

So why the average rating then? Well, I disagree with others that it's a good location - compared to 90% of other accommodation in Prague, that's not accurate. There is no secure room to store your bags if you're out for the day, this seems like SOP these days. And the price of €80 per night is only average for many good guest houses in Prague.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ajeep8u_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2009

My mother and I stayed at this aparthotel for 1 full week during March 2009. We had a very comfortable stay! The service was excellent and we enjoyed the hospitality of both Gaston and Katrina. Our apartment was immaculate and very spacious aswell as being great value! This all added to our comfortable stay. The Aparthotel was located near a metro stop which allowed movement throughout all of the city. Local restaurants and grocery shops added to the convience of its location. If we are lucky enough to visit the beautifully historic city of Prague again, there will be no hesitation as to where we will stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melbourne001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2009

The room was spacious, clean, and well equipped. We traveled with our young daughter (3 years old) and the hotel was very child friendly.
The staff were great.....very warm and friendly and able to speak many languages!
Very close to the metro, bus, and tram stations.
Good value too!
I would stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csmineurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,577 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 649 in Prague
3,060 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#64 of 649 in Prague
1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#7 of 649 in Prague
748 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,673 reviews
Praha 4
Rezidence Vysehrad
Rezidence Vysehrad
#12 of 649 in Prague
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel City 5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel City 5

Property: Aparthotel City 5
Address: Vltavska 667/11 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Prague
#15 Best Value Hotel in Prague
#15 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#113 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel City 5 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family apartment hotel APARTHOTEL CITY 5 is located very close to the modern administrative-commercial center of Prague 5 "Zlaty Andel / Novy Smichov", approx. 50m from the metro station Andel. Aparthotel City 5 is fully reconstructed four floor house with a lift. All apartments are furnished in a modern and elegant style. All the equipment is brand new. There are different apartments for 2 - 6 clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld and HRS so you can book your Aparthotel City 5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel City 5 Prague
Aparthotel City 5 Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing