We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“College dorm style”
Review of Red Chair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Chair Hotel
Ranked #9 of 358 Prague B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“College dorm style”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This hotel has rooms that are really college dorm rooms...not literally,but size wise that is what you can expect! Although very clean, the mattresses are very thin, the shower doors didn't work, the windows do not remain open ( it was hot and we needed air) and our room backed up to the parking lot. As for the free breakfast, we were met with two women who say absolutely nothing to you! No smiles or hellos! The toaster did not work and no plates to put your un toasted bread on to. It was also very dark in there. That all being said the hotel is a good location for walking to the main square and its many sites. The desk clerk did set up a tour to meet us the following morning which was a great help. If you are planning a short visit this might be the place for you.

Room Tip: There are none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MOJO95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    137
    27
    3
    1
See reviews for
120
225
63
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We loved our stay at Red Chair. All of the staff was AMAZING, very nice, very accommodating, and really made our stay in Prague a special one. The manager, Premysl Vanek, was our favorite person we met on our trip. He was by far the nicest and most accommodating hotel employee we've come across in our travels. Truly a unique find this place! It is located on a precious little cobblestone street right in the historic area where you want to be and within short walking distance to all of the major sites (and a landromat which was hugely helpful!). But it's also a quiet area at night even though it's in the middle of the prime area, so no problem sleeping! We had the honor of having Premysl pick us up from the train station and take us the scenic route home giving us a full tour of the surrounding area with it's history! We had the same pleasure upon our return to the train station. Clearly someone who loves his country, and the place where he works! We learned a lot about Prague's history and sites during our short car rides with Premysl and are forever thankful! All of the gals who work there are great too! Dana, Johanna, the entire staff. The breakfast was great and filling. We love this place and if we return to Prague, we will definitely stay here again and let all of our friends know and now everyone on Trip Advisor too! Thanks Premysl for making our stay what it was!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CHICABRAVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This is an ideally located (right in the middle of old town), very, very clean, cheerful, and welcoming small hotel, with a very, very thoughtful and intelligent staff--young people with a polite, easygoing mood. Rooms are immaculate and bright, but no-nonsense. If your purpose is to visit a rich, interesting city and culture with the purpose of exploring its life and history, this is where you want to stay in Prague. Old Town, New Town, Jewish Town, Charles Bridge, Lesser Town, and Castle District are all within simple walking distance. Price is reasonable, breakfast/coffee service are ready when you are, and staff could not be more pleasant and helpful, happily answering rookie questions but also displaying impressive knowledge of art and history.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philip b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We had a great four-night stay at the Red Chair! The location is perfect; on a side street so it was quiet at night, but just a very short walk to the Old Town square and the Charles Bridge. At the square around the corner were some good restaurants, and we were just a few blocks from Helenska market. We (three women) had a quad room on the third floor that was very spacious, with a large bathroom. The furnishings were all excellent, great beds, comforters, towels, etc. And lots of electrical outlets! (You don't realize how rare this is until you travel in a group.) The hotel staff was outstanding. Every desk person was friendly, helpful, and seemed genuinely glad that we were there. The restaurant recommendations they gave us were all great. (Three Roses was our favorite.) We really appreciated that breakfast is served late (until 11 am), which was really nice on those mornings when we wanted to take our time. Premsynn gave us some great suggestions of pivovars (microbreweries) and each one was better than the last. The man knows his beer, so take his advice!

Room Tip: Our quad room looked exactly like the website picture. Very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeggyD1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

All the main sites are within walking distance from this hotel. From the airport we took public transport to get there and it was quite smooth and easy!
Staff are very helpful and can recommend less touristy restaurants! Breakfast was good and people in Prague are quite nice!
Room is very clean, a little small but for 3 nights it was good enough!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mélanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

A very nice small hotel at a great location. The staff (including manager/driver/handyman Premsyl and receptionists Dana, Gabriele and Lenka) were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was basic but fairly large and had good wifi. Airport pickup by Premsyl was also perfect, he studies political science and enjoys telling about Czech Republic. Hotels like this have so much more charm than the big chains. Highly recommended for anyone on a city trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jasper S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Location is excellent - less than 5 minutes walk to the Charles Bridge, across which you will get to the Prague Castle in another 10 minutes, but it is neatly tucked in an alley from where all the tourists are just a block away - kind of best of both worlds.

I was in Vienna without a local mobile phone (my phone would cost $2/min) and scrambling to find free wifi hotspots THE DAY that I was take a train to Prague and needing a hotel for that night. I called several hotels and was met with rude correspondences. I called Red Chair and they said OK no problem they will reserve a double room for me and only to asked me to email them my personal and train arrival details since they were considerate with my international roaming charge on the phone. I did and then when arriving at Prague the driver was there waiting! No credit card, no nothing, just a driver and a room waiting for us.

Breakfast is included, wifi is strong in the room, which has been my biggest complaint in other hotels on this 2 week trip (6 other hotels). Room is clean and decent size and has european windows that you see in movies (open inwards so you get the breeze), VERY nice driver and receptionist, who told me when I got here that the price I was quoted over the phone was higher and it should be lower...and the price was very reasonable given alternatives (Hostels > 100 Euros) and that I was booking a room for that night (and the next two)

What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hao L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 649 in Prague
1,699 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#57 of 649 in Prague
2,335 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#35 of 649 in Prague
2,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#79 of 649 in Prague
1,505 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,288 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Liberty
Hotel Liberty
#36 of 649 in Prague
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Chair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Chair Hotel

Property: Red Chair Hotel
Address: Liliova 250/4, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 358 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Chair Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recently renovated hotel located in a building dating to the 15th century. Our location to the Old town square is 300 metres – the same distance is from us to the Charles bridge. The location offers you calming area with historical attitude. We provide secure parking for cars, bikes and motorbikes as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Red Chair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing