We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly hotel in excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Chair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Chair Hotel
Ranked #10 of 369 Prague B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel in excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

As a solo traveler, I was looking for an affordable hotel in a central location. I was not disappointed. My room was cute, decent size, clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and spoke excellent English. I could walk easily to all the main attractions and there were plenty of restaurants and boutiques around. The hotel also has a café which is pleasant if you want to take a break for coffee and something to eat. The café is not open very late though. Also, there is no elevator, which I did not mind, but just so you know. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilou G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redchair, Manager at Red Chair Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your kind words! We are glad you liked our rooms, we try
never to stop improving them and make them as cosy as possible. Did you
like our little red chairs? We added them quite recently to each room.

As for the café next door, we would recommend hot chocolate with fresh
banana and strawberries, which is our favourite! If you are a coffee
lover, we can also give you tips for some small local coffee shops with
delicious coffee -- so you would avoid impersonal international coffee
chains. You will enjoy it ever more, if you ever decide to come again!

Your Red Chair Hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    136
    26
    3
    1
See reviews for
119
225
63
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Good and recommended hotel in Praga, old town. The only reason to not choose this hotel is the impossibility to climb the stairs, because is not available an elevator to

reach the rooms. For the rest, the description that you can find in intranet is correct and complete and the rooms are comforting and clean.
The strengthness of the hotel are the position in a calm zone, but next to the greatest attractions of Praga and the friendliness of the persons of the hotel. They are well

prepared and very polite.
The hotel offers a comfortable service of transport to / from the airport or the rail station; for a reasonable price, in line with the major companies of taxi, you can to reach

the hotel without stress making a first tour of the town.
The prices are exactly what you have agreed upon without bad surprises, in fact exchange is always base on the rate of the national bank without additional cost and

fees. When you will have visited some restaurants and shops in Praga, you can understand better my comment.

Room Tip: first floor facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giorgio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redchair, Manager at Red Chair Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your excellent feedback! We appreciate you taking the time
to let us know about your experience with our hotel. You are quite right
about the missing elevator as our hotel is situated in a very old,
historic building, so it is, unfortunately, impossible to fit in an
elevator. However, we are trying to assist everyone with their luggage,
to make our guests feel even more comfortable in our hotel.

We can also confirm that you need to be very careful about exchanging
your money in the city centre as it is easy to get overcharged. You
should always watch for the current rates and that is why we always use
rates estabilished by the Czech National Bank which is clear at all times.

We are glad that you´ve found our hotel to be a relaxing and friendly
place and we hope we will see you again some time!

Your Red Chair Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Friendly, clean, great location, simple but decent rooms, as well as a good price. I can't find any fault. The included breakfast is basic but good. The staff are helpful, I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Worminger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redchair, Manager at Red Chair Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for your excellent review! We really appreciate your feedback. We’ll work on our breakfast so that next time you come you enjoy your stay even more!

Your Red Chair Hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

A nice hotel with friendly, helpful staff. The location is perfect, close to the city center and next to the lovely Choko Cafe. Parking is private and e bit of a "tetris game" but you get help with that. Good sized clean rooms and free wifi.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elisabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redchair, Manager at Red Chair Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear madam,

We’re all glad that you enjoyed your stay in our little hotel! You are quite right about the parking. We are trying our best to assist our guests with that at all times, and make up for that with its high security and convenient location in the heart of Prague. Thank you for appreciciating our efforts and for giving us an excellent review.

Your Red Chair Hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Premysyl Vanek is certainly the star and he picked us up at the airport and gave us cheap food tips but all staff very positive and helpful. Premysl is quite a scholar with a good knowledge of Czech history and worth chatting to. Perfect location, great breakfasts. Great to be in a quiet place in the center of a large town. Roads too narrow to attract traffic....
I would certainly stay there whenever in Prague

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank StephenB92617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redchair, Manager at Red Chair Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with our hotel and for your excellent review! We are always more than happy to show our guests hidden treasures of Prague were you can be sure you won’t be overcharged just because you are not local!

Your Red Chair Hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

My hubby and I were on honeymoon and Prague was our first stop. We had read numerous fantastic reviews about Red Chair Hotel and were glad we followed everyone's strong recommendation. ;)

The service provided by this hotel was excellent and that made a great start to our trip! The sumptuous breakfast, and safe surrounding area were all big pluses for one to consider! We returned home past midnight one evening and didn't have any scare along the way! We might had been lucky but our experience in other living areas were completely unsafe and that was a sharp contrast!

Also, special thanks to Gabriela for going the extra mile to make us feel at home and giving us a special surprise for our honeymoon trip! You guys at Red Chair had certainly made the first stop of our honeymoon much more memorable! Thanks alot! ;)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank juzzbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Location is perfect! just 2 minutes to Charles Bridge. 3 minutes to Astronomical Clock/old town. Red Chair Hotel is in "Stare Mesto" (old town) and the streets are cobbled stones. Forget the view since it it in the narrow streets of old town.

We stayed for a 2 days and rooms are average but very clean, shower and toilet is big and more importantly clean and functioning. Decoration in fact was above average. (hey it's not the Ritz) We have a bit of a problem with the electronic keys which was fixed promptly. Staff (Michaela) was so helpful in giving advice about Prague and the hotel in general.
We drove to Prague and rented their secluded interior parking (not covered since it is in a square) - more like squeezed in our car. Very small place- there was about 3-5 and had to leave our keys so that the manager could do the place-switching. That was safe enough as car was in good condition when we left. A lot better than the narrow streets outside.

Breakfast is simple and fulfilled our needs for the day. Just a minute away and a hundred an one restaurants, money changers, cafes. Look for the authentic Czech cuisine, Goulash, duck confit, "travers de porc" - great treats.
Careful with money changers as the published rates on their boards are based on large money (from 200 EURS/USD/GBP/ Swiss francs) and negotiate and walk away since there are tons around if you don't get your (reasonable) way.

All in all, our stay in Praha was wonderful! ANd would always go back.

Room Tip: Room 15-19. Since there are no lifts, though the stairs are not that high really not a big deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anditso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#57 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#32 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,418 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#88 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cloister Inn Hotel
Cloister Inn Hotel
#98 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Chair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Chair Hotel

Property: Red Chair Hotel
Address: Liliova 250/4, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 369 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Chair Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recently renovated hotel located in a building dating to the 15th century. Our location to the Old town square is 300 metres – the same distance is from us to the Charles bridge. The location offers you calming area with historical attitude. We provide secure parking for cars, bikes and motorbikes as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Chair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing