We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you visit Prague and don't stay here, you're a fool”
Review of Red Chair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Chair Hotel
Ranked #10 of 358 Prague B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mill Hall, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you visit Prague and don't stay here, you're a fool”
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Just fantastic from start to finish. Everything you've read on here about hotel manager Premysl is 100% true. We paid to have someone from the hotel pick us up at the airport, but didn't think it would be the manager himself... and as he is a "go the extra mile" type of guy, he offered to drive us around the city and show us some sights at no extra charge. We arrived at the hotel from the airport after the complimentary continental breakfast was over, but he made us coffee and offered us snacks anyway. We wanted to eat in an authentic Czech restaurant; somewhere you'd never read about in a tour guide or Frommer's book, and he told us exactly where to go. We didn't bring our laptop or cell phone with us; we asked if we could use the front desk computer to email family and let them know we got there safely, and he was more than happy to let us. When he wasn't around, he instructed Eva and the rest of the staff to take good care of us, which they did. The rooms are small and simple, but have everything you need (unless you absolutely require episodes of Two and a Half Men to be in English, in which case you're out of luck... all dubbed in Czech). A little bit of street noise, but hell, you're in a city - what do you expect? Nothing that kept us from sleeping or relaxing. Everything was clean and fresh. Nice mini fridge stocked with snacks that weren't overly expensive if you choose to take part. Whenever we needed anything, the staff was always right there to help. We asked where we could buy some basic toiletry items and Premysl offered to walk us to the store himself (only three or so blocks away). Prague is definitely a walking city, and though there are metro stops a few blocks away, you'll miss some sights if you don't walk. All of the major sights are walkable - Charles Bridge, Jewish Quarter, the Castle, etc. So many good restaurants and beer halls are just a few minutes' walk as well. The Red Chair is close enough to everything to be convenient, yet tucked away enough that it won't feel like you're in the heart of the city. Seriously, if you visit Prague and don't stay at the Red Chair, you're a fool. It has everything you could want; most importantly, you'll be treated well by the staff and feel right at home. I'd recommend it for anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deathorglory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    137
    26
    3
    1
See reviews for
120
225
63
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Korea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

This place is great. The kindness and willingness to help of all the staff is truly what makes this place stand out. The lobby area is a nice blend of modern style with a nice and warming atmosphere. This lobby doubles as the breakfast area in the mornings. The breakfast itself is typical European style consisting of fruit, yogurt, meats, breads, jams, butters, and cheeses amongst other items as well. The breakfast hours are long serving both those having to leave early in the morning or those who like to sleep in until 1030. On the day of our departure, we had to leave at 0445 in the morning. The staff had made up some breakfast for us, well before the normal hours of it running. The rooms themselves are not that large, but very adequate for what we needed. The free internet is HUGE! It allowed us to stay in touch with family around the world, research things to check out in Prague, or just simply check on the news. The only slight drawback of our stay was the location of our room. It was right above a typical cobblestone street. It could get a bit loud when the early morning/late night crowd was returning to their homes. However, the Red Chair Inn has fans in all their rooms which helped muffle out the outside noise. If you're like my wife and I, you have to have some white noise to help you sleep. This is the only place in our travel of Europe this time that had a fan in the room or one even available for us. Lastly, I can't comment enough on the service of the staff. From recommendations of places to go and see, how to get from A to B, to conversations about the history of the Czech Republic, they were amazing. You will not be sorry you chose to stay at the Red Chair Inn. We will definitely return their on future trips to Prague.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We found this to be in a perfect location, very easy to walk everywhere. Having Premysl to collect us at train station, at night, was so very much appreciated, and he and his colleagues provided the personal touch that made our stay relaxing and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linrob00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Was travelling by myself and the team went above and beyond with a pickup at midnight at the train station, restaurant recommendations and general advice on Prague! Awesome and would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceebee82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

There is little to say about this little gem in the heart of Prague: clean, perfect location, excellent staff. Feels like home, really!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hgaeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Everything about this hotel was fantastic! The staff is amazing - providing suggestions for day trips, restaurants, shopping - even being our airport shuttle at 5:30 AM! The room was cute and clean, and the bathroom was more spacious than I would have expected. This hotel is right in the middle of everything, but quiet so you can actually sleep. The staff was welcoming and made the trip that much more enjoyable. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Prague and will be staying here if I get to go back to this amazing city!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marisak20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We loved our stay at the Red Chair Hotel. The room was very nice and clean, and the hotel is in a great location. The staff was amazing- very helpful and kind. Any request that we made was taken care of with no problems. On our last day we had to leave at 4:30 am, and they even made sure to set out breakfast and coffee for us while we were waiting for our taxi. My advice to you: Stay here. You will love it!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaogden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#58 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#36 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#81 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cloister Inn Hotel
Cloister Inn Hotel
#94 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Chair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Chair Hotel

Property: Red Chair Hotel
Address: Liliova 250/4, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 358 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Chair Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recently renovated hotel located in a building dating to the 15th century. Our location to the Old town square is 300 metres – the same distance is from us to the Charles bridge. The location offers you calming area with historical attitude. We provide secure parking for cars, bikes and motorbikes as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Red Chair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing