We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel U Cerne Hvezdy
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Prague
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aurus(Prague)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savic Hotel(Prague)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Rott Hotel(Prague)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
28
18
2
6
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
18
2
6
12
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2011

II stayed at this property with friends over New Year's Eve. Its a small, apartment like complex with little to zero amenities. However, the location is great, right smack in the center. The rooms are clean (although a bit bare and lackluster in design). Front desk is very helpful. And the pricing is convenient if you prefer to spend your vacation money on useful things such as food and drinks! One tip: skip the one star continental free breakfast and go to a nearby bakery for your morning snack. If you plan to spend most of your time outside of the hotel, then, there is really nothing wrong with this property. Trust me, if it was good enough for 5 pretentious girls from Los Angeles, it should be good enough for most people :)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WineandCheeseFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

As a party, we stayed in two deluxe rooms, one for 3 (room 6) and one for 2 (room 4). Rooms 4 had a larger lounge area with two settees, overloooking a small side street. The separate inner bedroom was away from any potential noise of the street and we were well rested. The lounge room had an attached kitchen area next to the lounge (open plan), with a fully functional fridge, freezer and oven. There was plenty of room available. Room 6 had a separate kitchen and small in comparison with the open plan kitchen in room 4. However, it was fully functional also. Room 6's dining area was included in a bedroom area. As one of the bedrooms overlooked a thoroughfare, there was a degree of noise late at night according to one friend.
The location of the hotel was ideal - near enough to the square where there is an Easter market - and near enough to the Charles Street Bridge (Karlov).
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was eaten at the adjoining hotel - a combination of a typical continental breakfast, with with a degree of cooked food too. There is access to a computer for those who wish to book on-line for their flight / check emails, etc. Security into the building was impressive - a locked front door, leading to a locked gated door, leading to another inner 'front' door and finally, your own bedroom door (for rooms 4 and 6 at least).
I would definitely contemplate booking this hotel again due to its location and friendliness, and a reasonable price too.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viviennepunshon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

we stayed in this hotel for 2 nights during winter, got some winter discount and for that money (app. 50euro) it was ok. I wouldnt pay more in high season because its not worth the money. however, the location is very central and therefore probably expensive. The room was ok, the gates were ridiculous but we didnt mind, we liked the medieval ambiance. I have to admit that all our complaines were solved immediatelly and politely. Staff speaks good english. The breakfast was very poor, cheap stuff, no taste. I was quite disappointed, I expected more from the pictures on net and references here.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nufi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

I highly recommend this hotel. The location is perfect and the ambiance is unbelievable. Take a left out of the hotel and a quick right to walk to the Vltava River and the Prague Castle. Take two lefts and you will wind your way to Old Town Square. My friend and I went for 9 days for a girlfriends trip and had an amazing time in Prague and the Hotel Black Star. We had a two-level room with the bedroom and full bath on the 2nd floor and a kitchenette, living area and half bath on the first. Our outside terrace and table with chairs truly made this hotel room for like an amazing apartment.

I so miss the smiling faces, the wonderful warmth and comfort that this hotel offered and I very much miss Prague. I left my heart there.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChelleBinLuvs2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We stayed here for a 5 nights month ago. Black Star has got excelent location, Old Town Square and Charles Bridge really just around a corner, Prague castle about 10minutes by tram. We were so surprised with a huge room ( no. 4 ) !!! It was so amazing, this is really not a typical hotel room it is like your living room at your home. Very comfortable, very clean. Unfortunately we didnt check the other rooms because they were occupied but as receptionist said, they are all the similar. Staff is very friendly, smiling and helpful - this is how the check in to the hotel after the 5h in car should look like. Breakfast serving till 10 a.m. but we did not wake up before 11 a.m. so we were going directly to the lunch :))) We can recommend restaurant „U Golema“ about 10 minutes by walk serving typical czech food.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick-de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews