We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place I would go back to!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Prague
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel U Cerne Hvezdy
Ranked #606 of 649 Hotels in Prague
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place I would go back to!”
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Was travelling on my own in Sep09 and first time in Prague. Found this hotel on the internet. Never regretted my choice. The service employees were very helpful. The room was fanstastic! Had a great view of the streets and the inner courtyard. Nice decor, comfortable and clean. The location is excellent! Located in between and within easy walking distance to the Charles Bridge/Prague Castle and Old Town/New Town. I had a great stay there! Would definitely book the same place if I were there again!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicsoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    17
    2
    5
    9
See reviews for
10
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Picked this seemingly quaint hotel from the pictures on the internet site..definitely great ..excellent location, but in the hot summer months that is about all it has going for it.
Arrived 16th July for a one night stay...first impressions, quaint & charming.huge two bedroom suite..the room (no: 1) was exceptionally hot upon entering.. hotter inside than out...no air conditioning, only one pedestal fan to cool this huge area, totally useless..
The beds had the usual thick heavy doona on it (why in the summer can they not provide a top sheet)
Many cobwebs and a serious damp problem in one corner of the room
Even though there were two sets of windows in each frame, being the tourist season you could clearly hear the chatter and noise out on the street...but that is normal for this time of the year.
The shower was a joke....!!! ok for a smallish person (me :) but a normal size male would hardly fit in..he would have to .walk in & back out, no room to turn around or raise the arms :)
Breakfast !! pathetic....fresh fruit consisted of 6 green apples & 1 wrinkled skin orange, the usual boiled egg, something that resembled a mixed packet of diced vegetable, anemic looking frankfurters floating in greasy water and scrambled eggs plus the usual cold cuts, cheese, bread etc
Do yourself a favour, at this time of the year choose a quaint hotel in Old Town that has air conditioning. :)
No lift - but then most of the small 3* hotels are the same

I am an avid TA browser..and really value and appreciate peoples comments...always check out TA before booking any accommodation on line

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomas_Havranek, Manager at Hotel U Cerne Hvezdy, responded to this review, 17 September 2010
Dear Lizzy18,
thank you for your review. I am very sorry you were not sotisfied. I am always asking the people to solve their problems immediately with the receptionists or the management, so the everything can be solved right in that time. We can provide top sheet instead of usual one in 5 minutes, just ask for it :) Air-condition seems to be ageless problem ... again and again I can only repeat what I already said - We really do not have air-condition and we never offer air-condition in this hotel. This building is cultural heritage from the 14th century listed in the UNESCO, most of the walls are really originals. There is no chance to damage the walls for all the air-condition pipes, wirings etc. And the electrical fans are much more environmentally friendly. You dont need to check TA reviews because of the air-condition in the hotel you need to check the hotel equipment before you booked it so you cant be surprised with no air-condition :)

I am checking the rooms daily and I cant imagine so many cobwebs you writing about :( Breakfast is very individual thing, each person need different food, we are trying to do our best to make you all sotisfied. Please ask for the breakfast you like at the reception, you will get it!

Kind regards
Tomas Havranek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights in January. The room we stayed in was excellent - split level with the bedroom upstairs, lovely decor and very comfortable. Really nice bathroom with large bath and under-floor heating - the whole hotel was really toasty, ideal for winter months. The service at the front desk was excellent and it wasn't a problem to keep our room on til mid afternoon at no extra charge. Breakfast was fine.

Would warmly recommend particularly if you get a late deal and would definately stay again

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateandAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

We stayed here for a weekend in mid September and what a find. The room was spacious and clean, but best of all it is minutes walk from the Old Town Square and The Charles Bridge yet it was a haven of peace and tranquility. The reception staff were very helpful and always polite and friendly. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeeleeKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BARI
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2009

I stayed in this hotel with my parents. We got a big apartment with two bedroom ( actually a bedroom with double bed, and a living room with two sofa/bed).
The place was clean and with a lot of light and space. There was a fully equipped kitchen, and wireless.
Breakfast was served in the hotel, just on the side of the residence.
Great place, very close to all the attractions.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POLPORICCIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

the good: in the old town, so can get up early and wander the streets without the hoardes of tourists, an apt with a bedroom with double bed and tiny tv, a living area with two twin beds and a little table and chairs, a litte kitchen with a refrigeratior, a washer/no dryer though, free wi-fi if you can help the front desk workers figure out what to give you, they can arrange pickup from the train station/airport which is needed as both are far from the hotel. Price for the transport was fair.

the bad: in the old town without a/c.at night old town is a bar scene and very loud. To close out the noise, the windows had to be closed, and without a/c the room was warm and stuffy, we requested fans, got one, which provided some relief for one of the rooms. there is a youth hostel in the building adjoining the rear of the hotel which brought more noise and screams. breakfast provided not worth eating, the towels provided were REALLY old, NO tread left on them at all!

there is no elevator and you have to bring up your suitcases. We stayed on the fourth floor and this really wasn't a problem. There are gates mentioned by the last reviewer, but this isn't a negative, the gates provide security and are easy to use.

We originally planned to stay four nights, but after the first night, decided to switch hotels, we let the girl at the desk know at 9:00 am on our way to the breakfast room. She said she had to check with the manager. We found another hotel (on the other side of the river) and came back to the hotel to make sure we were able to leave without a penaly. The same girl was there, we told her we were checking out the next morning and said she said fine. The next morning when we checked out the young man said he didn't know anything about it. After two tense phone calls to the manager, we were able to checkout without penalty. Compliments to the young man behind the desk who kept his cool through this tense situation.

I would recommend this hotel to college age kids who want a good location to site see and party in Prague, and don't yet need or expect comforts in a hotel. For about $200 US, split four ways, this would provide a good alternative to the youth hostel and a little kitchen with a fridge for more beer!

Be Aware: no a/c and prague is warm during the day in August, only bathtub with a hand held shower, only body wash in fast food ketchup sized containers provided. no elevators.

advice to the hotel: advertise no air conditioning, buy some new towels! have fresh food at breakfast, offerings were stale

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank searchinggreatfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

After reading a bit about the Black Star Hotel, I thought I had found a good room for a fair price near the city center of Prague. What I found instead was a very difficult hotel to locate- no one we asked seemed to know where it was. Once found, we were taken one door over to an area that said "hotel/residences" and I immediately got a bad feeling. The staff member had to unlock several large metal gates for us to pass through and then we were told our room was two or three floors up a small staircase with no elevator available. Lugging suitcases up the stairs, it was immediately obvious some people staying there actually LIVE there so it was not a comfortable feeling. Once in the room, I noticed two small cot-like beds apart from each other, no air conditioning, and the bathroom was another floor up. My husband said the beds looked like "jail cots". It was not as we expected at all! We immediately began to search by foot for a new hotel. After finding one, we explained to Black Star staff that we were disappointed with the room and would not be able to stay. They tried to charge us for two nights (cancellation fee) but once I had Expedia on my cell phone, they agreed to honor the "one night fee" for cancellation that was in my booking confirmation. I would not recommend this "hotel" to ANYONE!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackStarHotel, Manager at Hotel U Cerne Hvezdy, responded to this review, 10 August 2009
Dear Txterisa, first of all you are describing your main problem right in the first sentence. The price. You check in to the hotel without any complaint, you leave the hotel without any complaint than you come back after the couple of hours ( after you find cheaper hotel ) to tell us following: Hotel do not have aircondition – it is right and we never offered aircondition. Hotel do not have a lift – it is right and we never offered a lift. Reception is next door ?? ( 3 metres ! ) – yes it is as it is written everywhere incl. the site where you make your reservation – check it again ! You are writing about the people who actually live there – unfortunately this is not a problem that I can solve :) You do not like iron beds – why you did not check the hotel equipments before ? ( Pictures on your booking site, our own web site, pictures here at Tripadvisor ) This is a very expensive hand made iron beds and all the hotel equipments matches to the building from the 14 century incl. iron doors to the hotel but all of this you can check from at the sites offering Black Star. We cant make a plastic or wooden door here. You had a problem to find the hotel ? Is this a problem of the hotel ? You can use a GPS or map if you a driving by the car there is a GPS coordinate at our own webpages. If you travel by the public transport you have to check the way before or what to contact a hotel and ask for the directions ?

But the most funny thing is just coming – I just checked your review to other hotels and found that after check-out from BlackStar you check-in to At The Golden Well which is about 10 metres from us J We have got 2 stars from you for the location with the note about many difficulties to find us THEN you are giving 5 stars for the location to the hotel 10 metres from us with the note how the fantastic is the location J This is really funny, now everybody can see that you are just trying to damage our reputation because we charge you for the reservation cancellation.

You are writing something about phone call to Expedia – but we do not have any reservation from Expedia in this month ! Check it again ! You dont know where did you make your reservation ? You didnt check the hotel equipments before ? You are expecting something what you never booked. Is this BlackStar Hotel mistake ???

You do not like a room ? You did not ask us for any other one. After all of this we offer you next door Hotel Clementin – with aircondition, with a lift and with smaller room if you do not like the big one for the same price. You did not accept. Now we are back in the begining – the price – you simply find the cheaper accommodation then try with this absolutely ridicilious reasons to cancel your reservation. That is why we charge you 1 night as cancellation fee and that is why you a writing feedback like this – because you are reviewing something ( aircondition, lift, etc. ) what we NEVER and NEVER offer to our clients.
To tell you the truth. If you will come to the reception and tell me that you really dont like the room and you want to check-out I will apparently not charge you the cancellation fee, because our clients are our priority. But if you come to the reception and tell me some story about the aircondition, lift etc. it is already not a real behaviour and in this case i cant do anything.

Best regards
Tomas Havranek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Clementin Old Town
Clementin Old Town
#103 of 649 in Prague
348 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Aurus
Aurus
#127 of 649 in Prague
360 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Liliova Prague Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#101 of 649 in Prague
603 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Pension U Lilie
Pension U Lilie
#285 of 649 in Prague
234 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Nicholas Hotel Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Cerne Hvezdy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Cerne Hvezdy

Property: Hotel U Cerne Hvezdy
Address: Seminarska 177/6, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #606 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & Residence At The Black Star is a romantic 3* star hotel situated in the historical centre of Prague, only 250 metres from the Charles Bridge and just a few minutes walk from the Old Town Square. It is an ideal location right in the heart of the Old Town. The building of the Black star is proclaimed within the Prague cultural preservation which was listed on the UNESCO world heritage list in 1993. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing