We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great option if you visit Prague, walking distance from the center” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Prague

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Ranked #32 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
amterdam, netherlands
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great option if you visit Prague, walking distance from the center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

As an alternative for the Interconti and its neighbouring hotels, this is a real discovery. Great service, though a bit exaggerated (American like, unauthentic maybe), but my favourite pick from now o in Prague.

Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank golfingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,029
    177
    43
    16
    9
See reviews for
224
605
58
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

This is a lovely hotel, the staff are wonderful, friendly and efficient. We decided to have dinner at the restaurant the food was exceptional, the Asian menu is highly recommended.
The service is outstanding, the Mandarin is to be applauded it is rare that you cannot fault
any staff member. Our room was beautifully appointed,the bathroom products were lovely,
the orchids add glamour and the lavender pillow mist a lovely touch.
The location is quiet and central. The hotel lobby is under stately chic. The hotel used to be a monastery and has been harmoniously redecorated. Spa is an added bonus.
We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eve201113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

My pregnant wife and I stayed here for three nights in March 2011 as a last weekend away for the two of us.

The major negative was that the first room that we were shown to had a distinct pervading smell of smoke which both my wife and I immediately picked up on. This was despite having both booked a non smoking room and specifically stated in our booking how important it was that we have a non smoking room given her pregnancy. To be fair, the receptionist showing us to our room didn't deny it, but immediately apologised profusely and showed us to the restaurant where we were given a complimentary drink whilst they prepared another room. Whilst this was handled well, it was clearly irritating and inconvenient after the journey. There was a follow on from this incident too; at about 7pm, a bell boy walked into our room showing another guest to the room, having clearly not been informed about the change around. Luckily we were "decent" and again there were profuse apologies, but it was again not something I'd expect of a hotel of this calibre.

So having dealt with the main whinges, onto the positives. The location is good (and away from the more touristy parts of town) and we were able to walk everywhere. The hotel is well designed and furnished and has a relaxing and peaceful ambience.

The furnishings and facilities in our (very large) room were excellent and the bathroom was spacious and luxurious. There was also slightly more character than can sometimes be the case in chain hotels due to the age and type of the building. The bed was also very comfortable.

We had dinner one night in Essensia and thought the food and service were both excellent with nice touches like amuse bouches etc. The staff were very knowledgable about the dishes and were able to answer questions about ingredients with my wife being pregnant. However, we did have a voucher for 50% off all food and the prices are fairly high if you're paying full price. Breakfast was good quality and again the service was excellent, although personally I would have liked to see slightly more choice being available (for example the fruit selection was much better on the breakfast room service menu than was available at breakfast). We also had a good meal from room service one night.

So overall, a good experience and I'd recommend this hotel to others. However, I am still slightly shocked at being given a smoking room and the unexpected arrival of the bellboy in our room, hence only 4 stars.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

My husband and I were on our first visit to Prague and spent a glorious weekend at the Mandarin Oriental, Prague. From the moment we were met at the airport to the moment we left, our every whim was catered to. The hotel is beautifully designed with spacious guest rooms; a former monastery in a beautiful, quiet location in easy reaches of all the major tourist sites. The restaurant is excellent, serving a variety of both Asian and local food. In fact, it was so good we chose to eat there on two of our three evenings at the hotel.. The concierge managed to arrange tickets for us at the State Opera with only a couple of hours notice (it isn't the peak season but the Opera was full) with hotel limousine transfers at a reasonable cost.
I am reluctant to highlight particular staff as we found everyone keen to help, at all levels. The Mandarin Oriental Team was impressive. Thank you for making our visit extra special.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

This hotel along with the couple of other Mandarin Hotels I have stayed with is outstanding. Not only is your every need taken care of but they even anticipate what you will require even before you have thought of it. For example, my wife had bought two books but did not have a book mark and was folding the edge of the books. When we returned after dinner there were two book marks left for us. The service is really outstanding and this particular hotel is beautifully restored from when it used to be a monastery. The food at the restaurant is also outstanding. Once you stay in a Mandarin Oriental hotel it is very hard to stay any where else. Close enough to the main centers and far enough to be quiet.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayaydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

Fabulous Room/Food/Location/Service

10 out of 10!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeandJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
155 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

One of the best hotel experiences ever - the hotel is so beautiful, the interior design impeccable and stylish, the staff are incredibly kind and professional and attentive and patient, always willing to help and improve. The rooms are wonderful, the breakfast in the restaurant is great, the room service food is delicious, the location is wonderful, the spa amazing... I could just go on and on.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#39 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Prague

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Address: Nebovidska 459/1 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Prague
#7 Business Hotel in Prague
#14 Family Hotel in Prague
#28 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#28 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Prague is an intimate hotel located in a former Dominican monastery set amidst the palaces and gardens of Prague's historic Mala Strana district. With a former Renaissance chapel housing the award-winning Spa, an inventive selection of delicious Asian dishes and mouth-watering cocktails at Spices Restaurant and Bar, and understated contemporary design blending local history with modern luxury, the hotel is a private oasis of sophistication and style in the very heart of Central Europe's most beautiful city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Mandarin Oriental, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Prague Hotel Prague
Mandarin Prague
Prague Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing