We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, wonderful smoothies at breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Prague

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Ranked #31 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London, Uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderful smoothies at breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

My wife and I actually stayed here a few years ago, just after the hotel opened. It was really conveniently located near the centre of town, a couple of minutes walk from Charles Bridge. We love the Asian decor and styling of the hotel, and the size of our bed which was huge!

The food in the restaurant (Essensia) was also amazing. The smoothies at breakfast were to die for, and we ended up having dinner there on our last two nights because we loved the ice cream so much! This sounds like I am a complete foodie but I'm not.

All in all a fantastic hotel which we would love to stay in again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seetheworld5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    177
    43
    16
    9
See reviews for
224
608
59
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

This is a nice hotel in the Old City which is a nice part of town.
It is located in a converted old building hence they could only do so much with it.
The negatives are that only 'Castle View' rooms and one "presidential suite' has a view. The rest face a brick wall of the building right next door. We wanted to stay in a suite but the outlook is so bad that we chose to go for a Castle View room. The view is very partial but better than a brick wall.
I think when you pay $500-800 Euro a night for a suite you expect a bit more...
The rooms are quite spacious, modern, clean.
Service was also friendly and prompt.
Location is great.
Breakfast - VERY ORDINARY. Probably the worst we had in Europe. Service is very slow, unprofessional, selection is like in a 3 star hotel, hot food is overcooked or under cooked. Not great!
Dinner at the hotel was very pleasant, but very quite. Only 2 or 3 other tables in the whole place. Also, very expensive for Prague.
We haven't tried the Spa as again it is way to expensive for Prague.
All in all - pleasant but nothing amazing.

Room Tip: If view is important - book Castle View rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank styleandfashion888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Dear Styleandfashion888,

Greetings from Prague and many thanks for your review. I regret to hear that your stay with us didn't fully meet your expectations; with your permission, I would like to address some of your specific points.

While many of our rooms do not have what one might call sweeping vistas, most do have at least partial views of the attractive cobblestone streets and Baroque facades that are so emblematic of our neighbourhood; others overlook our garden and yet others, the red roofs of neighbouring houses; all have plenty of natural light. Our location offers a quiet, elegant refuge steps away from Prague’s major attractions, but we may need to do a better job describing our rooms to those booking a stay with us.

As for your comments regarding our breakfast service, I am sorry we fell short of your expectations. We serve a luxury buffet that includes a number of choices in each food category including an extensive selection of freshly made breads and pastries, meats, fish and charcuterie, pancakes, eggs, cheeses, yogurts, cereals, porridge, fresh and dried fruits, honey, preserves and condiments, and it is extremely rare that a guest finds the selection disappointing. The fact that you did clearly demonstrates that we need to be constantly aware of guest preferences and strive to meet them, both in terms of product selection and in terms of service.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel and improve your initial impression. If there is anything else regarding your stay you would be willing to share with me, I can be reached at wanzinger@mohg.com.

Wishing you a wonderful holiday season,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

Just spent a 3 day weekend at the MO Prague and highly recommend it. The staff and service are impeccable and no request went unfulfilled. The location is quiet and serene, yet you are only 2 min walk to the famous Charles Bridge. Love that the hotel used to be a 14th century monastery. The spa is an absolute haven of peace and relaxtion, I had a one hour oriental massage and it sure helped after walking those cobblestone streets for 2 days.

For my full review of the hotel, with my own pictures of my room, please see my blog post at:

http://www.destinationsperfected.com/2011/11/prague-czech-republic-mandarin-oriental.html

Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank alexandradf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Would just like to echo the comments of others. This hotel oozes class in every way from the breakfasts to the late night cocktails. The only thing I would mention is that the €20 charge for a days Internet access is unreasonable and in this day and age completely unnecessary for the hotel to charge. Address this and they have it all. Enough of a gripe to not award the 5 star rating? No way, this place is just amazing!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butangkawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Just returned from a night at the MO Prague. It is a calm, yen like peaceful oasis.
No request is too much, service is excellent. Many thoughtful, little touches in the room.
The decor is minimalist, elegant.
It is in a beautiful section of Prague, walking distance to the main area.
Definitely the place to stay in Prague.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ldjsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

The Classic, glamourous, elegant and top service hotel product!! For the first time in Prague, it made all the difference staying in such a great hotel. The old monastery is a fantastic scenario and makes you feel in the XIII century in great style! Large, confortable and beautifully decorated room, opening to a private, calm and amazing garden. Delicious breakfast and lunch ( we had lunch in the outside area, at the entrance of the hotel, and it was a very good idea....). The Spa is another special chapter, fantastic place and atmosphere, great professional and delicious massage. All the hotel staff was extremely professional and gentle and the concierge was really hepful. Thank you so much for everything!! We highly recomend this hotel and we will certainly come back!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoreiraRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in Prague (17th-20th October), to celebrate a special occasion, and were fortunate to be able to stay at the wonderful Mandarin Oriental – by far the best hotel in Prague, and having travelled to many countries, I would say, the most lovely that we have stayed in.

The hotel itself is exceptionally beautiful, having been a former monastery. The check-in was very smooth and the receptionists charming, and although our room was not ready on arrival – we were early and were keen to start exploring anyway – the concierge was so helpful and took our cases in until we arrived back; upon which, we were taken to our room. Our suite was absolutely stunning – we chose the older part of the hotel which is more traditional with beams and which overlooked a cobbled courtyard. Everything that we could wish for was to hand and the decor, cleanliness and space within the room and bathroom was exceptional – 5 Star and luxurious in every way.

The hotel is very central and is within easy reach to most of the main attractions; just as well, as there are so many amazing places to see! I have to say, going back to our beautiful room, and the super-comfortable bed at the end of each day, having walked for about 10 hours (our poor feet!), was very welcome.

Breakfast was the best we have had in any hotel around the world and good value. We had a fantastic – and huge – selection of sushi each day; perfectly made and unbelievably fresh – delicious! The service was seamless and the staff couldn’t do enough to help, the surroundings, elegant and calming.

Before our stay we were put in touch with the most helpful and charming lady in Reservations; Martina Forraiova. Martina took care of everything for us, having explained about our special occasion beforehand. We were upgraded, beautiful amenities were placed in our room on arrival and I feel sure that she went out of her way to make our stay the most wonderful experience possible. She is an exceptional member of staff and the hotel is so fortunate to have her. We would like to give our deepest thanks to Martina especially, for helping to make our celebration something we will never forget.

We will recommend the Mandarin Oriental to all our friends and we hope to return again before too long. It goes without saying that we will not stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Choose the old part of the hotel - much more romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TandG2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#37 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Prague

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Address: Nebovidska 459/1 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Prague
#7 Business Hotel in Prague
#14 Family Hotel in Prague
#27 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#28 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Prague is an intimate hotel located in a former Dominican monastery set amidst the palaces and gardens of Prague's historic Mala Strana district. With a former Renaissance chapel housing the award-winning Spa, an inventive selection of delicious Asian dishes and mouth-watering cocktails at Spices Restaurant and Bar, and understated contemporary design blending local history with modern luxury, the hotel is a private oasis of sophistication and style in the very heart of Central Europe's most beautiful city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Mandarin Oriental and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Prague Hotel Prague
Mandarin Prague
Prague Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing