We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Perfection'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Ranked #23 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Stayed at this boutique hotel on our visit to the wonderful city of Prague for our 21st anniversary. Loved the property! Very well located tucked away from the regular tourist routes but just a 5 minute walk to the Charles Bridge and a 15 minute walk to Prague Castle. Other than the pristine decor it's the staff who deserve the credit. Everyone from the front desk, concierge and the spa therapists are extremely hospitable and are great ambassadors not only of the hotel but of the Czech culture. Had tipped the porter with a 100 Euro note mistaking it for a 100 Krown note as they look similar which he returned once he discovered the error. Other than being gifted with a healing touch, my spa therapist, Nikola was extremely informative about the human physiology and really motivated me to get back into shape.

Just a couple of suggestions though. I feel wifi should be complimentary as is the case in most top end hotels nowadays. also the selection of TV channels in English is just limited to news channels. A wider selection would be welcome.

Will always recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Prague. It's a real gem!

Room Tip: Chose garden view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kataria_sanjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay with us. I am also thrilled to read that my colleagues made your stay comfortable, delightful and met all your expectations. I am happy to hear that you have also enjoyed our legendary Spa located in the former chapel.

Also, let me thank you for your useful comment regarding the Wi-Fi access and selection of TV channels in English language. We are working on addressing this issue so as to assure maximum comfort to all our future guests.

Whether your travels bring you back to Prague, we truly hope to welcome you back to our ‘little jewel’.

Wish you a wonderful rest of the autumn season.

Sincerely,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

810 - 816 of 1,430 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

Prague is the city of "Cobbles and Cabs" and the yellow cab had to do a 3 point turn on the cobbles to get in to the forecourt of this once monastery as the turn is so tight.
Situated in the Lesser Quarter the hotel nestles closely with other buildings but divided by the ancient monastery walls giving an intimate feel.
Greeted warmly by the concierge in the small reception, as hotels go, giving that exclusive "boutique" style you are escorted to the reception desk to check in and are then offered a warm cinnamon cup of tea that is welcoming and gives a sense of relaxation.
The staff was all very professional, attentive, knowledgeable and helpful.
The Bar is slim but comfortable and well stocked.
The restaurant was excellent with very professional staff.
The rooms were well kitted out, beautiful bathroom with a lovely powerful shower in the wet room.
One slight note, no tea making facilities - I was parched and could really have done with a cuppa. It was £12 for room service.
Its well-appointed away from the touristic part but only 15 min easy walk across the Charles Bridge.
Beautifully decorated and some imaginative floral decorations around the hotel.
Didn’t sample the Gym or Spa but it looked impressive.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main block as we had one in the adjacent block which meant taking the lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bizzyboy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking time to share your experience about your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Prague with TripAdvisor community. I am thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay including our Barego bar, Essensia restaurant, decoration of the rooms, and most importantly for us – the warm service of our team.
Your note regarding the welcome cup of tea is well taken indeed and I would like to thank you for bringing this comment to our attention. Our main goal is to ensure the comfort of guests.

Once again, thank you for your review and I truly hope to have a chance to welcome you back to Mandarin Oriental, Prague in the near future.

My very best wishes,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We stayed in a Garden View Room for a weekend in November. When we arrived our room wasn't ready because the lady occupying it had not yet wanted to check out. Completely understandable since the room was wonderfully decorated and the bathroom was spacious and luxurious. The Front desk Manager let us keep the room until the evening on departure day which was a nice gesture. The Mandarin Oriental did a tremendous job converting the monastery into a hotel. We didn't get the chance to visit the Spa but will try to do so the next time we visit. Had it not been for this truly beautiful and breathtaking city we would have probably not left the hotel all weekend.

Room Tip: Garden View Rooms all looked nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRMHH79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Prague. I am delighted that you have enjoyed our rooms and historic character of the building. Unfortunately, it does happen from time to time that our guests are kindly asked to wait in our Barego bar or Essensia restaurant while the room is being prepared for their check-in. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your patience and understanding in this matter. We are pleased that it did not cause you much inconvenience.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental, Prague soon and hope you will have a chance to try one of our signature Spa treatments next time.

My kindest regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

The Mandarin Oriental is a very beautiful hotel and an easy walk to all of the tourist spots in Prague. The room had a very nice outdoor terrace which we thoroughly enjoyed as well as being beautifully decorated; bed and bath.

The service was truly 5-star including the much appreciated car service to and from the airport. The front desk staff, and concierge, could not have been more helpful.

Breakfast was ample and very good although the service is a bit sporadic. There are many wait staff members bustling about, but it was always difficult to get their attention.

The spa was fine, friendly and adequate technicians, but not special. The waiting area however should definitely be improved. It is small and in the center of the reception area slightly tucked behind a partial wall.

Overall, a very nice hotel and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Living_in_Paris_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear Guest,


I would like to thank you for taking your time and sharing your extensive review with the Trip Advisor community.

I am glad to know that you have enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, including the beautiful location of our hotel, limousine service, along with the helpfulness of our colleagues at the Front desk. Regarding our Spa facilities, we do know that the Tea lounge at the spa needs to be reconstructed to offer guests more comfort and space. The reconstruction is already planned and we are committed to minimize the total change of the building plan in order to keep the historic character and sense of the place.

Once again, thank you very much for your helpful comments. Have a lovely rest of the autumn season and should your travel bring you back to Prague again, we would be happy to welcome you.

My kindest regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

very nice hotel probably one of the nice hotels in town
very lovely modern yet perfectly suited decoration to fit the town´s historic appeal
very good selection of menus for dining
good access to check out the city by foot
wonderful way to relax in town for business and leisure needs
very wonderful service

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
Thank Espergaerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear Guest,


Let me thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Prague. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and I am sincerely looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

My very best wishes,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I have just returned from a stay in the Mandarin Oriental, Prague and I can safely say it ranks among the best hotels I have stayed in!

An excellent conversion of an old monastery into a true 5-star hotel. While I thoroughly enjoyed my whole stay, from the red carpet arrival, the luxurious room through to the quick and efficient check out, the things that stood out for me were the attention to detail and the superb staff. This was no more evident than in the restaurant, with its excellent blend of local and Asian menu (small gripe; it is great food but the menu is a little limited) and fantastic staff. A big thank you to the Maître d'hôtel, who put us onto some truly superb local wines!

I usually stay on the other side of the river, closer to the Old Town on my visits to Prague..but not any more!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Langers_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind words of appreciation. I am very delighted to hear that your experience with our hotel is perceived as the best you have stayed in so far. I am also thrilled to know that you have enjoyed our Essensia restaurant cuisine; please rest assured that all your enthusiastic comments have been shared with Maître d'hôtel and the rest of my colleagues.

I sincerely hope to have you back in our “little jewel” whenever your travels bring you back to the Golden City!

With my warmest regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Stayed there last December and till today, I can still remember the lovely deluxe room overlooking the cobbled streets. Although it was a former monastery which was converted into a luxurious hotel, I was impressed by how this hotel was tastefully decorated with a nice blend of the old world charm juxtaposing with the modern touches (from the common areas like corridors filled with art pieces, to the restaurants, bar and spa). Our room was beautiful and clean, with a large bathroom. Liked the location of the hotel as it was away from the bustling crowds, but still within a short walking distance to explore the main sights (Charles Bridge etc) during winter. In terms of service, the staff were friendly and competent. There was even a personalized greeting card with our names upon arrival when we checked into the room. Although we arranged for a hotel transfer at the very last minute, the concierge was very obliging and a car arrived fairly quickly. Overall, would revisit this hotel again if we ever stop by in Prague.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adelme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience about your stayat Mandarin Oriental, Prague. We were honored to welcome you in our hotel last December and most importantly that we have made your stay memorable until today. I am also happy to read that you have enjoyed our spacious rooms, services offered to our guests, as well as the location and overall atmosphere of our hotel. I have shared your warm comments with my colleagues, who were delighted as I am.

I truly hope to have a chance to welcome you back to Mandarin Oriental, Prague soon.

Sincerely yours,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The Grand Mark Prague
The Grand Mark Prague
#39 of 649 in Prague
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Prague

Address: Nebovidska 459/1 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Prague
#7 Business Hotel in Prague
#14 Family Hotel in Prague
#21 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#28 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £187 - £420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Prague is an intimate hotel located in a former Dominican monastery set amidst the palaces and gardens of Prague's historic Mala Strana district. With a former Renaissance chapel housing the award-winning Spa, an inventive selection of delicious Asian dishes and mouth-watering cocktails at Spices Restaurant and Bar, and understated contemporary design blending local history with modern luxury, the hotel is a private oasis of sophistication and style in the very heart of Central Europe's most beautiful city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Prague Hotel Prague
Mandarin Prague
Prague Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing