We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect hotel for business or as tourists in Prague.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Ranked #26 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The perfect hotel for business or as tourists in Prague.”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This beautiful hotel carved out of a former monastery in the 'Small Town' district is in a quiet,historic enclave but a short walk to the Charles Bridge and is the perfect haven for a stay in Prague.Our garden fronting room was spacious and extremely well appointed with very comfortable beds,a great bathroom and good broadband/TV etc.
The public rooms,bar,restaurant and terrace have an intimate scale and are well furnished we ate a number of good meals with interesting international food and sampled a variety of new to us Czech wines.
Without doubt the major plus is the staff,particularly the front desk and concierge amazingly competent,charming and helpful.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a garden facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with Mandarin Oriental, Prague with the TripAdvisor community.

It is a pleasure for me to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, including our beautifully designed room and the superb location of the hotel enjoying quiet neighbourhood in the very heart of the Prague’s historic centre. Moreover, I am pleased to read you had a chance to experience the relaxing ambience of our outdoor terrace, Essensia and Barego bar and the delicious food from our executive chef Jiri Stift. Foremost, I am extremely happy that we had a chance to introduce to you our wide selection of wines from local Czech wineries.

It was a real pleasure having you as our guest and you can count on our team to make you feel home away from home any time your travels bring you back to our ‘little jewel’.

With my warmest regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,070
    181
    44
    16
    9
See reviews for
236
626
62
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is beautiful. A mix of different architectural styles, steeped in history, in a charming, quiet area, it is a wonderful oasis near all the action. For the most part, the staff were the picture of excellent customer service and there are the expected luxury items in the bathrooms and public areas that one would expect of a 5* hotel.

I was actually quite ready to leave, however, as I could not sleep very well here. Firstly, the beds are not high quality. The pillows are particularly awful; they were barely filled and had no effect in raising one's head. Even doubled up, and folded over, they were useless. I requested a different style of pillow and received a foam filled one with the same consistency. Considering even Hilton hotels offer pillow menus, with a variety of choices, this hotel could improve in this area.

It was around 20 degrees celsius for our stay, not hot out particularly, but our room was very stuffy. The air conditioning unit was not sufficient enough for the size of the room. Factoring the bed, the pillows and the stuffiness, we were uncomfortable. We spoke to the front desk about the air con possibly being broken we were told that "no, it is working, but when it is warm out, the air conditioning has a hard time cooling down the room". No kidding. Perhaps that is a sign that it should be replaced. This is a 5* hotel afterall.

Friends staying in the "modern rooms" commented that the air con in their rooms was different and very efficient, so should you stay in the summer, request one of these rooms.

The hotel bar was exceptionally expensive and nothing spectacular. There are great places for food and drinks steps away from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard. The street rooms can be a bit noisy. If traveling in the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with the Trip Advisor community.

I regret to hear that our beds did not meet your expectations and that you did not find the air-conditioning in your room sufficient. Each room has a pillow menu with nine different types and I apologize that the choice did not meet your demand. All your comments are extremely valuable for us and please rest assured they were shared and discussed within the hotel team.

Once again, I am sorry for the inconvenience and I would be grateful for the opportunity to discuss your experience into detail at your earliest convenience. Please kindly contact me directly by e-mail at the address wanzinger@mohg.com.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our ‘little jewel’ and live up your expectations.

With best regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

All the staff were exceptionally friendly and competent. The breakfast included in the room price was adequate but not more. The most disappointing aspect of the hotel was the room. When we booked the Mandarin Oriental we expected a beautiful and comfortable room; it was neither. We had to go through the spa to get to a room that probably has not been updated in 20 years or more. The bathroom was small and not practical. Although all the staff were great, I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Mitch,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Prague.

I regret to read that we did not met all your expectations. Thank you for an honest feedback, all our guests’ comments are extremely important to us and please rest assured they were discussed within the hotel team.

Mandarin Oriental, Prague is housed in a former monastery. Preserving the ‘genius loci’ of this unique location brought many challenges during the reconstruction of the entire complex in 2002. Nowadays, you may choose from rooms and suites of varying layouts in buildings respecting original Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque architectural heritage. I am really sorry we did not have the opportunity to solve your disappointment with the room during your stay.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel and live up your expectations.

With best regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Outstanding hotel set in the Mala Strana district in newer town. Short walk to Charles bridge. Large size rooms with spacious bathrooms and a very stocked gym. Top notch front desk with good bar area. Hotel was previously a monastery.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montreal_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments on your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Prague.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest and I am glad to read that you enjoyed the superb location in the very heart of Mala Strana, the oldest Prague district. Thank you also for highlighting the comfort of our rooms, unique historical ambience and wellness facilities.

I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

With my warmest regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here the other year, New Years Eve Ball and was fantastic.
Stayed again recently and was just wonderful.
Everything is so clean and friendly.
The food is fantastic with lots of different types.
The position of the hotel is really good

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptWilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Prague.

Prague is a magnificent city with a rich history and I am delighted to read that we repeatedly helped to make your visits to Prague a memorable ones.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our „little jewel“.

With my warmest regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Enjoyed three nights stay, loved the room, and the rain shower. Ideal location & history of the hotel building made the stay very nostalgic. The staff was very helpful and immensely resourceful without being overbearing & condescending. We tried breakfast, lunch & dinner at the restaurant , it was all excellent. No problem when we requested lactose free diet. We also enjoyed the spa massage treatment. Felt relaxed and rejuvenated after our stay. Definitely will recommend to family & friends. Definitely a memorable & wonderful experience for us, will consider Mandarin Oriental in the future as one of our preferred hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kopikaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your generous review with the Trip Advisor community.

It is a pleasure for me to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, including the superb location, the attentive service of my colleagues or rejuvenating treatments at our repeatedly awarded spa. Thank you for your kind words of appreciation, your words mean a world to us and we are thrilled to learn we gained new Mandarin Oriental fans.

I am sincerely looking forward to your next visit to our „little jewel“.

With my warmest regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

When we arrived at the hotel, we were told that we have been offered a complimentary upgrade- this set the tone for our one-week stay. We are from Thailand, where the Mandarin Oriental is recognized as one of the finest hotels despite some fierce competition, and we felt like the Mandarin Oriental Prague lived up to our high expectations. Mandarin Oriental Prague is ever so meticulous and thoughtful about everything- our rooms are serviced twice a day and the small details like white linens placed next to our bed (for us to step on) and the plush bedroom slippers really made us feel special! Additionally, we were always greeted by cheery and humble staff members- this made the hotel feel like home. The concierge, Gilles, was tremendously helpful and very patient when it came to answering my questions about the city.

The only let down was that there were not many vegetarian options for breakfast. But that, I understand, is subjective.

Well done.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank FY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Prague and for sharing it with the TripAdvisor community.

It was a pleasure having you as our guests. I feel so honoured to read that we lived up to your expectations and that your trip to the Golden City was a memorable one. Foremost I am pleased that you enjoyed the attentive service of my colleagues. Our concierge team is always at your service to help you with your individual queries.

Thank you also for bringing to our attention a comment about the vegetarian options for breakfast and please rest assured that your valuable comments was shared with our Executive Chef.

I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful hotel in the near future.

With my warmest regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#32 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Prague

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Address: Nebovidska 459/1 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Prague
#7 Business Hotel in Prague
#14 Family Hotel in Prague
#23 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#28 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Prague is an intimate hotel located in a former Dominican monastery set amidst the palaces and gardens of Prague's historic Mala Strana district. With a former Renaissance chapel housing the award-winning Spa, an inventive selection of delicious Asian dishes and mouth-watering cocktails at Spices Restaurant and Bar, and understated contemporary design blending local history with modern luxury, the hotel is a private oasis of sophistication and style in the very heart of Central Europe's most beautiful city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Prague Hotel Prague
Mandarin Prague
Prague Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing