We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a letdown...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Prague

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Ranked #31 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A bit of a letdown...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

When booked into this hotel by our travel agent we were pleased to read that the hotel was a converted monastery and, according to the hotel website, that our rooms would "feature period details reflecting the unique history of the hotel." Two of the hotel's wings are referred to as the Renaissance and Baroque wings. We were two couples traveling together and, although placed in different wings (a little strange since our reservations were made months earlier) neither of our rooms felt very different than those of a Marriott. Although deluxe rooms, one of them had only a single sink and a bathtub (no shower) and neither had the described views that "stretch over the cobbled streets of Mala Strana." The location of the hotel is very nice, close to Prague Castle as well as close enough to the Charles Bridge to easily walk to the Old Town Square and its attractions. Service was pleasant. The buffet breakfast that was included in our plan was only average. We did not have any other meals at the hotel. I would like to note that U Modre Kachnicky, where we had a lovely meal, is only a half a block away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starmom19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on Mandarin Oriental, Prague with the Trip Advisor community.

You are right, our hotel is housed in a complex of historical buildings which used to serve as a Dominican Monastery. Throughout the reconstruction of the site all rooms were designed to respect the requirements of a modern lifestyle, while preserving some historical features of the original building and I regret to read that the design and the layout of your room did not meet your expectations.

Thank you for bringing a comment about the allocation of the rooms to our attention. Generally, unless a special request regarding the room allocation is received, we do not assume that two individual couples wish to stay close to each other. I am really sorry for any inconvenience caused and to avoid this situation in the future, I would suggest you to specify your requirements during the reservation process or any time before your arrival. My colleagues will be more than happy to meet your wishes, if the hotel occupancy allows them to do so.

Once again, thank you for an honest feedback, all our guests’ comments are extremely important to us and please rest assured they were shared and discussed within the hotel team.

I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mandarin Oriental, Prague.

With best regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    177
    43
    16
    9
See reviews for
224
608
59
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel is in a converted monastery inside a walled compound in Prague's embassy district. The hotel is very nice. They gave us a free upgrade (without being asked) to a large corner room. Everything about the room is upscale, with a large bathroom with separate bath and shower and lots of counter space. Our rate included breakfast, which was very good. All of the staff (front desk, concierge, bellmen, waitresses and housekeeping) were very friendly and helpful. They made our stay particularly nice.

Be aware that the hotel is across the river from the Old Town tourist area, requiring a walk across the often very crowded Charles Bridge. The bridge is a five-minute walk from the hotel. However, Prague Castle is on the same side of the river as the hotel and is only about 15 uphill minutes' walk away. The Old Town Square (with the famous astronomical clock) is about 20 minutes' walk from the hotel. We found that, at any given time, about 90 percent of the tourists were in Old Town. The Castle area was busy but not crowded and was full of interesting things to see.

We found the Mandarin Oriental to be very luxurious, but in a pleasant, low-key sort of way.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to write a review on your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Prague.

Prague is a magnificent city indeed and Mandarin Oriental, Prague an oasis of tranquility in the very heart of the city. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and I am delighted to read that my team helped to make your stay in Prague a memorable one. Thank you for highlighting the hotel location, the comfort of our rooms as well as the attentive service of my colleagues.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the ‘Golden City’ in the near future.

With warm regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was simply the best hotel in Eastern Europe! An old renovated monastary with underground tunnels to different building! Best part were room, ultra modern bathrooms! Jacuzzi tubs for two! Beds were very comfortable with great linens!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review on your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Prague.

I feel so honoured to read that you enjoyed your time at our ‘little jewel’. Thank you for highlighting the comfort of our rooms that respect the historical heritage of the hotel as well as complying with the demands of the modern lifestyle. The underground tunnel was constructed to connect the hotel with the Spa, which is located in former Renaissance chapel.

I am sincerely looking forward to your next visit to the Golden city.

With my warmest regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This beautiful hotel carved out of a former monastery in the 'Small Town' district is in a quiet,historic enclave but a short walk to the Charles Bridge and is the perfect haven for a stay in Prague.Our garden fronting room was spacious and extremely well appointed with very comfortable beds,a great bathroom and good broadband/TV etc.
The public rooms,bar,restaurant and terrace have an intimate scale and are well furnished we ate a number of good meals with interesting international food and sampled a variety of new to us Czech wines.
Without doubt the major plus is the staff,particularly the front desk and concierge amazingly competent,charming and helpful.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a garden facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with Mandarin Oriental, Prague with the TripAdvisor community.

It is a pleasure for me to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, including our beautifully designed room and the superb location of the hotel enjoying quiet neighbourhood in the very heart of the Prague’s historic centre. Moreover, I am pleased to read you had a chance to experience the relaxing ambience of our outdoor terrace, Essensia and Barego bar and the delicious food from our executive chef Jiri Stift. Foremost, I am extremely happy that we had a chance to introduce to you our wide selection of wines from local Czech wineries.

It was a real pleasure having you as our guest and you can count on our team to make you feel home away from home any time your travels bring you back to our ‘little jewel’.

With my warmest regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is beautiful. A mix of different architectural styles, steeped in history, in a charming, quiet area, it is a wonderful oasis near all the action. For the most part, the staff were the picture of excellent customer service and there are the expected luxury items in the bathrooms and public areas that one would expect of a 5* hotel.

I was actually quite ready to leave, however, as I could not sleep very well here. Firstly, the beds are not high quality. The pillows are particularly awful; they were barely filled and had no effect in raising one's head. Even doubled up, and folded over, they were useless. I requested a different style of pillow and received a foam filled one with the same consistency. Considering even Hilton hotels offer pillow menus, with a variety of choices, this hotel could improve in this area.

It was around 20 degrees celsius for our stay, not hot out particularly, but our room was very stuffy. The air conditioning unit was not sufficient enough for the size of the room. Factoring the bed, the pillows and the stuffiness, we were uncomfortable. We spoke to the front desk about the air con possibly being broken we were told that "no, it is working, but when it is warm out, the air conditioning has a hard time cooling down the room". No kidding. Perhaps that is a sign that it should be replaced. This is a 5* hotel afterall.

Friends staying in the "modern rooms" commented that the air con in their rooms was different and very efficient, so should you stay in the summer, request one of these rooms.

The hotel bar was exceptionally expensive and nothing spectacular. There are great places for food and drinks steps away from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard. The street rooms can be a bit noisy. If traveling in the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with the Trip Advisor community.

I regret to hear that our beds did not meet your expectations and that you did not find the air-conditioning in your room sufficient. Each room has a pillow menu with nine different types and I apologize that the choice did not meet your demand. All your comments are extremely valuable for us and please rest assured they were shared and discussed within the hotel team.

Once again, I am sorry for the inconvenience and I would be grateful for the opportunity to discuss your experience into detail at your earliest convenience. Please kindly contact me directly by e-mail at the address wanzinger@mohg.com.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our ‘little jewel’ and live up your expectations.

With best regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

All the staff were exceptionally friendly and competent. The breakfast included in the room price was adequate but not more. The most disappointing aspect of the hotel was the room. When we booked the Mandarin Oriental we expected a beautiful and comfortable room; it was neither. We had to go through the spa to get to a room that probably has not been updated in 20 years or more. The bathroom was small and not practical. Although all the staff were great, I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Mitch,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Prague.

I regret to read that we did not met all your expectations. Thank you for an honest feedback, all our guests’ comments are extremely important to us and please rest assured they were discussed within the hotel team.

Mandarin Oriental, Prague is housed in a former monastery. Preserving the ‘genius loci’ of this unique location brought many challenges during the reconstruction of the entire complex in 2002. Nowadays, you may choose from rooms and suites of varying layouts in buildings respecting original Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque architectural heritage. I am really sorry we did not have the opportunity to solve your disappointment with the room during your stay.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel and live up your expectations.

With best regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Outstanding hotel set in the Mala Strana district in newer town. Short walk to Charles bridge. Large size rooms with spacious bathrooms and a very stocked gym. Top notch front desk with good bar area. Hotel was previously a monastery.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montreal_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments on your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Prague.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest and I am glad to read that you enjoyed the superb location in the very heart of Mala Strana, the oldest Prague district. Thank you also for highlighting the comfort of our rooms, unique historical ambience and wellness facilities.

I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

With my warmest regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#37 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Prague

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Address: Nebovidska 459/1 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Prague
#7 Business Hotel in Prague
#14 Family Hotel in Prague
#27 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#28 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Prague is an intimate hotel located in a former Dominican monastery set amidst the palaces and gardens of Prague's historic Mala Strana district. With a former Renaissance chapel housing the award-winning Spa, an inventive selection of delicious Asian dishes and mouth-watering cocktails at Spices Restaurant and Bar, and understated contemporary design blending local history with modern luxury, the hotel is a private oasis of sophistication and style in the very heart of Central Europe's most beautiful city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Mandarin Oriental and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Prague Hotel Prague
Mandarin Prague
Prague Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing