We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel,excellent concierge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Ranked #26 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel,excellent concierge”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I have stayed at this hotel with my husband and it was a really nice stay. I am not a fan of writing reviews, but the great experience we had in this hotel, forced me to spread the word around. The hotel is located in a quiet street, not too far if you want to visit the castle. The room was clean.
The spa is beautiful, although we found the prices for massages very expensive.
There is a small cozy bar located by the reception. As there is no lobby, the bar serves as a meeting point and was quite a lively place whenever we walked by -)
As it was our first visit to Prague, we were grateful to Gilles, the concierge, whom we were keeping busy during our whole stay...He was very friendly and even greeted us by our name everytime he saw us! He has provided us with some usefull tips which helped to make our stay wonderful. Great restaurant and private guide recommendations.Big thank you,Gilles!

The only area for improvement is the breakfast,the buffet is rather small and a la carte items are charged extra, such as egg orders. The wifi should be complimentary.

Great stay overall, we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy0680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Amy,

Thank you for your generous review of Mandarin Oriental, Prague. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your first visit here in our “little jewel”. Our concierge Gilles was thrilled to make your stay exceptional and honored by your generous compliments on his service.

However, I regret to hear that some our amenities did not live up to your expectations. All of our guests’ feedback and comments are very important to us. Complimentary Wi-Fi connection is available to all of our guests upon completion of an online profile accessible via our Mandarin Oriental website.

Again, thank you for highlighting how much you had enjoyed your stay including the attentive service, superior rooms and excellent location.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Prague.

With my warmest regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,082
    182
    44
    16
    9
See reviews for
239
633
62
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My partner and I spent three nights at the Mandarin. It was our first time in Prague. The hotel is located in a very quiet area of Prague. It is not in the tourist area which can be a plus and a minus. To enter the main areas of Prague old town which contains most of the scenic areas is about a 20 minute walk. It is a pleasant walk but in inclement weather, it can be a bit of a hassle.
The hotel staff gets an A+ for doing everything possible to make you feel welcome and valued. The concierge, however, was not overly helpful and seemed irritated when asked simple questions.
The hotel is interesting in that it was a re purposed monastery turned into the MO. Given this, the hotels does not have interesting views and feels a bit claustrophobic. They did their best, though, with a significant historical preservation while making it an upscale hotel. The rooms are nice but not up to other MO properties that we have stayed in. The Spa, however, is very interesting and well done.
Overall, it is an ok choice for Prague but not the best value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirk R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Kirk,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with the TripAdvisor community.

I regret to hear that our concierge service and our room ambience did not fully meet your expectations. All our guests’ feedback is extremely important to us; please rest assured that your comments were shared and discussed within the entire hotel team.

Thank you for highlighting the attentive service of my colleagues and our spa.

I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful hotel in a future.

With best regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The location and facilities of the hotel were amazing, we took the tour of the hotel as it was once a monastery, and it did not fail to astonish us, the way the hotel had been cleverly renovated. The location was good. The service was excellent, even the doorman, who was very helpful to us. Good breakfast, not very crowded and decent food. The hotel did have a few screaming kids being chased by their parents, not very pleasant. The presidential suite is quite small, though amazing views, if I went again, I'd definitely stay there. A few minor issues, but they were resolved quickly and very well. Pleasant experience overall.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Prague and for sharing it with the TripAdvisor community.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest and thank you for highlighting our unique historical atmosphere, convenient location as well as the professionalism and prompt response of our team.

Thank you for choosing us for your recent stay, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Prague.

Best wishes,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We were delayed in arriving at the hotel due to bad weather and didn't arrive until midnight without luggage as the airline left it in Frankfurt the hotel staff couldn't do enough for us they gave us an emergency pack PJ's toothbrush razor etc room service was spot on everything we ordered we got the hotel itself is an old Monastery and the rooms are luxurious everything you would expect from a Hotel of this calibre would definatley here again when in Prague

Helpful?
1 Thank PaulBarrett430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A family of 8 stayed in July of 2014. The hotel structure is a renovated monastery and is located in Lesser Town. The staff could not have been more accommodating. Every single request was handled so thoroughly. The rooms are spacious and quiet. The breakfast buffet offers something for everyone. The concierge was fantastic in finding restaurants within walking distance for casual and fine dining. The hotel's proximity to The Castle - 15 minute walk - makes it all the better. 10-15 minutes in the other direction takes you over the Charles Bridge and into Old Town. In summary, we could not have asked for a better stay.

Room Tip: The inside courtyard rooms are extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadisonDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Dan,

Thank you for the generous review of your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Prague and for sharing it with the TripAdvisor community.

You made an excellent choice staying at Mandarin Oriental, Prague for your family’s special affair, it was a real pleasure having you as our guests. Thank you for highlighting our hotel’s wonderful and convenient location, attentive and professional service and our relaxed and comfortable rooms.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Prague, and we could not have asked for more wonderful guests.

With my warmest regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Close to the Charles Bridge but tucked away on a quiet street, you have easy access to many points of interest and restaurants while still being able to quickly retreat to peace and calm when you need to. Moreover, the staff is as attentive and helpful as possible leaving no question unanswered or cappucino unserved. The room was spotless; slippers and water were bedside on a nightly basis; and linens were changed daily unless you requested otherwise. When we returned from our daily activities, we relaxed and rejuvenated without worry. This Mandarin is not your typical one. It is more European boutique-ish with better rooms than big biz or resort. Best place we stayed on our trip. Enough said.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LongLiveRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your positive review of your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Prague and for sharing it with the TripAdvisor community.

Thank you for highlighting how much you had enjoyed your stay including our splendid location, attentive service, and overall superb and relaxing atmosphere.
It was a great pleasure having you as our guests, and I look forward to welcoming you back to our ‘little jewel’.

With my warmest regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Prague was a bucket list visit - and with my hubby and two kids in tow, we took the train connecting Vienna to Prague and arrived from what we thought was a side entrance to the Mandarin Oriental. In the back of my mind, I thought - it would be difficult to equal the service standard that has been set so impeccably by its sister hotels in Hong Kong (ie. The Landmark Mandarin & The Mandarin Oriental HK). I was wrong!

We got the garden terrace units - interconnecting rooms and in the kids' room, they got popcorn, soda, and a Rubik Cube as a gift. What a nice touch & they even equipped the bathroom with children shampoo and bath gel.

Housed in an ancient monastery, the hotel has such a grand feel to it but it is the exemplary service that puts this hotel a notch above the rest. Our 4 nights were spent so comfortably there were two nights we actually dined on room service. Food-wise, we had little to complain. Breakfast at Essensia was always good ... one had a choice of the buffet or a selection from the ala carte menu.

In all, this Mandarin has now become one of our favourites!

Room Tip: The garden terrace rooms are superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LenaYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear LenaYong,

I am honored to read your generous review of Mandarin Oriental, Prague.
I would like to specially thank you for your positive comments on our superior service that lives up to the Mandarin Oriental standard and utmost suitability for a stay with children. Also, thank you for your kind review of your dining experience both at the comfort of your suite and at our restaurant. You can count on our team to make you feel home away from home next you will come visit us.

Thank you for choosing us for your recent stay, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Prague.

With my warmest regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Prague

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Address: Nebovidska 459/1 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Prague
#7 Business Hotel in Prague
#14 Family Hotel in Prague
#23 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#28 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Prague is an intimate hotel located in a former Dominican monastery set amidst the palaces and gardens of Prague's historic Mala Strana district. With a former Renaissance chapel housing the award-winning Spa, an inventive selection of delicious Asian dishes and mouth-watering cocktails at Spices Restaurant and Bar, and understated contemporary design blending local history with modern luxury, the hotel is a private oasis of sophistication and style in the very heart of Central Europe's most beautiful city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Mandarin Oriental, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Prague Hotel Prague
Mandarin Prague
Prague Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing