We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best option in Prague”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Ranked #22 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Great location in Mala Strana, more charming than on the other side of the river. The hotel combines the architecture of a monastery with modern elements and Asian touches in the decoration. It works well and creates an elegant, stylish and relaxing atmosphere.

I had a room (Mandarin Deluxe) in the new wing and it was great: high-class decoration, spacious, garden terrace, good lighting and HiFi, large limestone bathroom. The room looks much better than on the Web site (I think MO should rethink its Web site and brochures). Rooms in the old wings can be more quirky, unless you go for the top categories.

The fitness room is large and well equipped. The spa is in a separate building and the wet area is unfortunately only accessible if you book a treatment (expensive).

The hotel has a good and stylish bar. Lunch at Essentia was just fine, nothing special. The breakfast buffet was better and had a few good local dishes.

Service is as good as you will get in Eastern Europe, but this is not an Asian MO experience.

So far, the best hotel in Prague, better than the blander Four Seasons, the only other luxury option in town.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topsmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,022 - 1,028 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2009

There are not many words necessary, but two: exceptionally outstanding. - In every respect: location, rooms, atmosphere, food, staff, house keeping...
I honestly cannot imagine how this hotel can be topped.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uwe-leipzig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

This was a very nice hotel. Our suite was hugh more than 70 sqm with high ceiling and parquet flooring. I can't really complain on anything it is highly recommended. We have also stayed at Aria Hotel but MO is mutch nicer. Big difference.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claes71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2009

We spent an excellent three days between Wednesday March 19th and 22nd March 2009 in the hotel.

The location and history of the buildings are fascinating, and modern design complements its history. Our room was spacious and extremely comfortable.

The staff were all courteous, and did everything they could to ensure that our needs were met. The evening concierge was particularly helpful. The food both at breakfast and dinner was delicious and promptly served. The restaurant and bar staff were also helpful and friendly.

I would also like to draw particular attention to the private guided tour which was organized through the hotel. The guide, Dr Hubert Palan, was knowledgeable and his English was excellent. His tour was informative, and blended the complex history of this beautiful city with facts and figures about the Czech capital and its architecture. I learnt much about Prague, its rulers and religion. I walked around the city and took time to notice, and used public transport - activities that I would not have done by myself as a solo female (as my husband was working while I relaxed). I will certainly recommend his services to my friends when they next visit Prague.

I should also mention the Spa, which I used and thoroughly enjoyed. It was a truly relaxing experience. The therapy was cleansing and stimulating. I also felt that the design of the Spa facilities was both modern and sympathetic to the original religious order which first used the site.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynda002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2009

The Mandarin group are top class hotels and the one in Prague is up to that standard. The quality of the rooms and guest service is excellent. Staff could not do more for you including providing a tour of the hotel's renovations project which saw an historic monastary converted to a high standard modern hotel whilst retaining many artifacts and remnants of the historic building.

It has a top quality spa but we did not use that. The restaurant provided a very high quality meal on the one night we "ate in".

Location-wise - the hotel is about 5 minutes walk from the Charles Bridge in the Mala Strana quarter of the city and is also near to the tram services on Ujest St.

Quality of this level does not come cheap!! We benefited from a three nights for the price of two via Expedia. But excellent value.

We also used the Prague Airport Services pre-booked taxi service from and to the airport. This was excellent and spot-on timewise.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2009

A genuinely superb hotel in a great spot in Prague. As you would expect at this sort of price level, the service is absolutely first rate - all of the staff are charming and very attentive. We were even given an hour long tour of the hotel which is fascinating if you get the chance. Room was equally excellent and the building itself is stunning - very very tastefully done out.
We ate one night in Essensia which again was excellent and the only real gripe I could have is that the cost of drinks etc.. in the room and in the bar is eye watering to say the least. Then again, I suppose if you can afford to stay here... It is worth keeping an eye out for deals though - it was a definite treat for us but only managable through a 3 for 2 night offer on the room. All in all though, fantastic place for a special break.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gosforth_Ultra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2009

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Mandarin Oriental, Prague. The hotel is a converted monastery and the building exudes calm the moment you enter. The staff are extremely courteous and attentive, as you would expect from Mandarin Oriental. The rooms are modern and fresh. The buffet breakfast was excellent and their Indonesian dinner menu was divine. The hotel is in a quiet location just across the Charles Bridge, perfect for the visiting the castle, but only a 15 minute walk across the bridge to the old town square. This is a top class hotel and we loved every minute there.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The Grand Mark Prague
The Grand Mark Prague
#42 of 646 in Prague
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Prague

Address: Nebovidska 459/1 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Prague
#7 Business Hotel in Prague
#11 Family Hotel in Prague
#20 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#28 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £187 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Prague is an intimate hotel located in a former Dominican monastery set amidst the palaces and gardens of Prague's historic Mala Strana district. With a former Renaissance chapel housing the award-winning Spa, an inventive selection of delicious Asian dishes and mouth-watering cocktails at Spices Restaurant and Bar, and understated contemporary design blending local history with modern luxury, the hotel is a private oasis of sophistication and style in the very heart of Central Europe's most beautiful city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Prague Hotel Prague
Mandarin Prague
Prague Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing