We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Prague”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Ranked #26 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best of Prague”
Reviewed 3 July 2009

On my first visit to Prague I stayed at the MO and can only say I was impressed. The location is great and you can walk to all places. Good thing is that you are on the "right" side!
Rooms are fabulous, so is the service, drinks, food. Nothiong at all could be faulted.
Anyone visiting Prague should stay here.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thirteen_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,079
    181
    44
    16
    9
See reviews for
239
631
62
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
194 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

A beautifully converted building(s) and very close to the Charles Bridge. Know where you're going because there are no neon signs here, just a discreet wall sign. You are signed in and taken to your room very quickly - the rooms are quietly luxurious with lovely furniture and quality fabrics. One notices the little things - the strainless steel facings on the elevators are always gleaming - there are never any cleaning trollies anywhere. Mirrors and taps gleam. Towels are always dry and fresh and warm. The beds are comfortably firm. Concierge service was efficient and personable. Breakfasts were good if a little expensive and dinner in the restaurant is very expensive. Well why would i think it was going to be cheap.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeDaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Mandarin Oriental Prague was the best hotel we've ever been to - and we've stayed in several excellent ones before.

Incredibly quiet, the former monastery is a very harmonic, luxurious and elegant place. It's neither plushy nor cold, but gives a feeling of being welcome, safe and sound.

The staff is very professional and, at the same time, cordial and charming. Everyone seemed to be really interested in our well-being and was perfectly willing and able to answer to all our questions and wishes.

Restaurant and Bar are on top-level - the waitresses/waiters as well as food, wine and drinks.

The furniture is modern and comfortable, with very much taste. Rooms and Bathroom were beautiful and flawless. The bed-linen is a dream.

During our much-to-short stay, the weather was much to fine and our sightseeing programme much to packed to enjoy the high-praised spa. Next time, we will certainly use it.

Prague is a remarkable beautiful city with very much tourists. Its a bless to have a heavenly and quiet hotel in walking distance to all the beautiful places (Mala Strana/Kleinseite, Hradschin, Karlsbrücke, Staré Mesto/Altstadt, Jewish Quarter/Josefstadt, Nové mesto/Neustadt).

The surroundings of Mandarin Oriental Prague are the charming and narrow streets of Mala Strana - the perfect setting for a nice, relaxing and romantic stroll.

Mandarin Oriental Prague is a role model.
Thats how a ***** Hotel should be: Simply perfect!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

From arrival to departure, outstanding staff makes stay effortless. Concierge, Vaclav Jancarik suggestions for dining, from the conventional to the latest Czech food trends were a delight..

The overall feel of the hotel, as if you are the Lord of the Manor - so to speak, made for a most relaxing 5 day stay in wonderful Prague..

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guanajaycoruna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2009

Everything about the Mandarin Oriental Prague exceeded our expectations. We were traveling as new parents with our 2 month old son and were somewhat apprehensive given the new logistical challenges we faced. Luckily for us we picked the MO to stay in. Having contacted the hotel in advance to establish what facilities were available for babies we requested a crib and a kettle as well as an airport pickup. We were thrilled to find not only what we requested but much more (sterilising equipment, baby bath/lotion/shampoo/toy/extra water). I believe we have Ms. Simona Brejchova, the Executive Housekeeper, to thank for all that as she made some of these purchases especially for us. Thank you Simona!
We also availed of the baby sitting service which we were pleased with (a very pleasant student with excellent english).
WRT non-baby offerings, the hotel is extremely personable, the staff knowing who you are as you pass through the reception/lobby. The location is superb, a mere 3 mins meander to Charles Bridge, a nice walk to the Castle and is surrounded by fabulous buildings/ architecture. The buffet breakfast was fantastic and the spa, a must-visit! Would I stay here again? It goes without saying.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewMum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Ma
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2009

i stayed 4 days in Prague as part of a 10 day European trip with my wife and 15 year old daughter. We had an extraordianry time taking in all that Prague has to offer. The Mandarin Oriental was not only a perfect hotel to stay at, but their staff actually made our entire visit everything we could hope for. They arranged for the best giude we have ever had touring a city. We were picked up and taken to the airport with no delays. The house car was available on a moments notice to take and pick us up at dinner, the opera, and a few busienss meetings i had. Their recommendations for restaurants were right on the money.
The hotel was built in an old monastery. It was the perfect balance of old charm with modern amenities. We got a suite that was large, well appointed with a beautiful bathroom and really interesting in it's feel. The spa was great ( though a bit pricey). The staff spoke perfect English and couldn't have been more friendly and accomodating as i said above.
While we like to travel to new and exciting places, the Mandarin may just be a big enough draw to bring us back to Prague sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WSW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgium
Level Contributor
100 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Great location in Mala Strana, more charming than on the other side of the river. The hotel combines the architecture of a monastery with modern elements and Asian touches in the decoration. It works well and creates an elegant, stylish and relaxing atmosphere.

I had a room (Mandarin Deluxe) in the new wing and it was great: high-class decoration, spacious, garden terrace, good lighting and HiFi, large limestone bathroom. The room looks much better than on the Web site (I think MO should rethink its Web site and brochures). Rooms in the old wings can be more quirky, unless you go for the top categories.

The fitness room is large and well equipped. The spa is in a separate building and the wet area is unfortunately only accessible if you book a treatment (expensive).

The hotel has a good and stylish bar. Lunch at Essentia was just fine, nothing special. The breakfast buffet was better and had a few good local dishes.

Service is as good as you will get in Eastern Europe, but this is not an Asian MO experience.

So far, the best hotel in Prague, better than the blander Four Seasons, the only other luxury option in town.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topsmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The Grand Mark Prague
The Grand Mark Prague
#41 of 649 in Prague
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Prague

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Address: Nebovidska 459/1 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Prague
#7 Business Hotel in Prague
#14 Family Hotel in Prague
#23 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#28 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Prague is an intimate hotel located in a former Dominican monastery set amidst the palaces and gardens of Prague's historic Mala Strana district. With a former Renaissance chapel housing the award-winning Spa, an inventive selection of delicious Asian dishes and mouth-watering cocktails at Spices Restaurant and Bar, and understated contemporary design blending local history with modern luxury, the hotel is a private oasis of sophistication and style in the very heart of Central Europe's most beautiful city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Mandarin Oriental, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Prague Hotel Prague
Mandarin Prague
Prague Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing