We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Prague Hotel Away From the Crowds” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Prague

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Ranked #33 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Prague Hotel Away From the Crowds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

Great hotel tucked away on a quet street in a converted 16th century monastery. We were debating between here and the Four Season's but this one keeps you somewhat away from the crowds. A quick walk to the St. Charles Bridge and about a 10-15 minute walk to the square. Go for the breakfast special if you have the option as well as taking a garden front room. I've heard some of the others. We rented a car for a day and drove out to Karlovy Vary which was a very manageable day trip and Avis dropped and picked up the car right at the hotel. I'd recommend this hotel for either business or leisure travel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nscarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,029
    177
    43
    16
    9
See reviews for
224
605
58
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

We came to Prague wanting a nice location (it's less than 5 mins from the charles bridge and only a few more to the castle) and a bit of luxury. We were definitely disappointed with the latter. While the hotel is nicely decorated and stylish the lack of attention (or even a reasonably positive attitude like "good morning!") by the staff is a huge miss and sets the overall tone. Sadly it starts at check in and doesn't end....as a brand the MO should know better. The food is fine - nothing special and VERY expensive. In room dining is a better option than the restaurant. We were upgraded to a junior suite that was in the older spa building and was realy just two tiny rooms put together and a tiny bath. The bed was really comfortable but the room was not practical - no place to hang a coat, no hook in the bathroom for a robe and no real closet just a small wardrobe.

All in all there are better places to stay.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

Last month I was in Prague for a bit of R&R and was recommended by a friend to try the “Unique Signature” spa treatment at the Spa Mandarin Oriental, Prague. And I must say I was initially weary as the price was a little more that what I was expecting to pay…… but it was well worth every penny.

As soon as I stepped through the spa doors I was treated like royalty (even though I was not saying at the Mandarin Oriental, Prague). I was embraced by a relaxing and warm atmosphere and exceptionally welcoming and professional staff. I have ventured to spas in the past, but can say that the quality of the treatments and the professionalism of the therapists were outstanding. The tightness of the muscles melted away like butter in the sun, and the stresses of the city lifted gently leaving the mind, body and soul relaxed and calm. I could have been cocooned in this wonderfully pampered state forever! I had an amazing and memorable time, and am already making plans for another visit, this time I think I will stay at the Mandarin Oriental Prague.

A big thank you to Anna and her team

I would also like to thank Lucie for taking the time to have a brief chat to me about the hotel and things to do while having a coffee in the Monastery Lounge before my most exquisite experience in the spa.

Again thank you all.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lerouxlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

I only stayed here for one night but it was a great experience. The hotel is tucked away down a narrow side-street but is in an excellent location and has a lovely boutique feel to it. It is a little pricey but I think what makes it is the service, which is exceptional - staff are incredibly helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel itself is gorgeous, with lovely touches in the rooms, and I would recommend the restaurant - my lunch was exceptional.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiInPimlico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honolulu
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

An amazing hotel. Standard room much better than Four Seasons...great bed, bathroom and shower!!! Perfect and quiet location right off the Charles Bridge. Walking distance to everything! Spa is unforgettable. Food was extraordinary and so was the service. Great workout facilty. Will only stay in here when in Prague.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmrgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2009

I managed to book the Mandarin Oriental on a weekend break at a really good price. I arrived to find a beautiful courtyard which the hotel is surrounded by. The hotel is central to Prague and there is easy access to most spots. The rooms are huge with king size beds and a balcony overlooking a beautiful garden courtyard. It was very quiet and perfect for a romantic break away. There is room service whenever you need it and the room service breakfasts were superb. If you manage to get a good deal for the weekend then this is definitely the place to stay at!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBerto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford CT
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

Just got back from 4 nights at the MO. We were choosing between here and the Four Seasons. While we did not go into the Four Seasons, the location of the MO (vs. Four Seasons) is hands down the best in the city if you want an elegant, relaxing, high class hotel. The bathroom was modern and spacious. The breakfast buffet, which was included in the price our room (through AmEx), was oustanding. If you want to be surrouned by hordes of tourists, you want lots of late nightlife, you should stay on the other side of the bridge. If you want elegance that is a stone's throw from all that other stuff, stay here. Service was outstanding. The concierge staff was superb - Gilles and Pavel really helped make our trip special. They listened to what we liked to do, made good suggestions, and helped guide us. This is "the" place to stay in Prague if you can afford it. Research their rates before you book because it really is not expensive, compared to an equivalent hotel in London, Paris, or Rome. We really loved this hotel and location.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank NaplesVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#39 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Prague

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Address: Nebovidska 459/1 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Prague
#7 Business Hotel in Prague
#14 Family Hotel in Prague
#28 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#29 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Prague is an intimate hotel located in a former Dominican monastery set amidst the palaces and gardens of Prague's historic Mala Strana district. With a former Renaissance chapel housing the award-winning Spa, an inventive selection of delicious Asian dishes and mouth-watering cocktails at Spices Restaurant and Bar, and understated contemporary design blending local history with modern luxury, the hotel is a private oasis of sophistication and style in the very heart of Central Europe's most beautiful city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Mandarin Oriental so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Prague Hotel Prague
Mandarin Prague
Prague Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing