We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel that I've ever been”
Review of Czech Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Czech Inn
Ranked #11 of 655 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best hostel that I've ever been”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I was staying in Prague for 3 days and 2 nights. This hostel was one of the reason that made Prague one of my favourite cities that I've ever been.

Considering the various choices of hostels in Prague, it took me quite a few days to actually decide to book a room here. But obviously Czech Inn was a great choice after all.

- Deluxe double room like a real hotel : comfortable bed, nice bathroom, great view, nice bar area and very reasonable price.

- Very useful and friendly staffs. They gave us good advices on free tours in Prague, which place to eat local foods, the easiest way to get to the sights ... Always smile and patiently respond to any question ! The last night we were there, we decided to have a few drinks at the bar to spend out last Cz money. Then we asked the bar tender when we should leave for our flight which would take place very early in the morning. She told us to wait and a few minutes later came back with a paper with detailed itinerations written on it (she actually spent time looking up on the transport site and printed it out for us !!).

- The only thing that gave me some doubt from the beginning was just because the hostel is not in the center. But when we arrived, I realized that it was not a big deal. 2 mins walking from a tram stop, you can go anywhere you want :). I would advise you to rent the monthly pass at the reception. It costs just 80 CZ per day (about 3 euros). If you go out late in the night, there are buses that go all night long to get there. Or in case you want to walk, the hostel is just 10 mins from the metro and about 20 mins to the center.

And REMEMBER : Don't change your money at the airport ! You would sell euro with an incredible cheap price and have to pay for the comission as well. You can buy ticket by euros at the airport. One option is to change the money at the hostel with a better price and you don't have to wait in the line. ;)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChipXu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    231
    52
    11
    9
See reviews for
19
145
162
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Only stayed here for one night but was a great hostel. Quite upmarket with comfy beds, nice bathrooms and a nice bar/breakfast area. Bathroom could have been a bit cleaner but on the whole well kept.

The staff were really helpful - offering advice on tours, best ways to get to sights etc. Was no problem leaving my stuff in the luggage room before check in and after check out. Breakfast was about 4 Euros from memory and there was a good selection of cereals, toast, pancakes and hard boiled eggs. Free wifi in rooms and lobby.

Tram stop very close which took you to main tourist spots or to Metro station for faster access to the Old Town - or a 10min walk to metro. About 20min into town all up.

Would recommend as a nice, cheap, friendly place to stay close to town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the private suite and it was extremely nice. The rain head shower was such a nice touch and the hotel staff was extremely helpful with dinner reservations and tour scheduling. We had drinks at the bar after dinner and it was great price and a quiet bar.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Utmolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The Czech Inn is a great hostel in Prague. Though not located in the centre of the city, the hostel had easy access to the tram which brought you just about anywhere. The hostel was modern with a great little cafe/bar which serves breakfast at a small cost. The staff was also really wonderful speaking multiple languages and knowing a lot about the city. We stayed in the apartments on the top floor of the building and they were really amazing.... lots of room, access to a rooftop patio and very clean... At first I was skeptical about our decision but overall it was great!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The Czech Inn is a hostel haven! The staff is the best in Prague and cater to your every need. We stayed in the apartment section a few nights which is a great price when split in two, the twin privates which are also a great value, and the dorms are just as comfortable. The breakfast is well worth the $6 and the bar has a great happy hour. It's not too far from town when you work out the tram and metro routes, about 15 minutes. Stay here and you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annieehyett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA / Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Title says it all. I'm nearly 40 years old but don't mind staying in hostels. I wasn't the oldest one there either! Everything was quite clean and they had just about anything you could want from a hostel: bar/cafe, movie night, game night, free wi-fi (best from the lobby), washing machine, etc. There were six beds in my room, with a sink. However, there were shared bathroom/showers for the whole floor. However, for just over 3 EUR per night, you seriously can't beat that! The location is out of the way for some people, but it took me only 15 minutes to get there from the train station (using the Metro (three stops) and then taking a tram (I think it was also 3 stops). Again though, for that price, it was totally worth it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_in_Slovakia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed for a few days in this hostel. It was adequate. When we first arrived in our room we were repulsed by a sickly smell of feet. This was not the hostel's fault, it was an inhabitant's fault as he left his old sneakers on the floor. The smell was overpowering and the staff allowed us to move to a nicer smelling room quite quickly.
The hostel is what you expect from a hostel I suppose. If you are not a backpacker I wouldn't recommend it - because, as with all hostels you get loud drunken noises.
The breakfast is not included but works out to be about $5 American dollars or so (it isn't too expensive) and is quite good for the price.
The hostel unfortunately has some kind of power setting on the showers where you have to keep pressing the button for hot water.

A towel is not included in the price of the hostel and you may (like I experienced) have someone take your towel - which means you have to forfeit your deposit.
The security isn't bad as there are large tubs to put your belongings. But you are expected to provide your own padlock or you have to pay at reception.

Reception has lots of things on offer to buy like tram tickets and the staff will give you in depth printed directions on how to get to the airport (I was quite impressed).

The staff seem quite friendly and there is a bar and cafe downstairs.

Unfortunately the wifi signal isn't very strong and the internal is a bit slow but there are computers downstairs you can use for a fee.

The beds seemed clean enough and there was a basin to be used. Although I was sharing with nine other people. However, for the price I was quite pleased.

A fine backpackers hotel in a good area (It seemed quite safe), near a tram stop.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelUrquhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#63 of 649 in Prague
2,046 reviews
Praha 5
Occidental Praha Five
Occidental Praha Five
#112 of 649 in Prague
1,450 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#97 of 649 in Prague
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#213 of 649 in Prague
342 reviews
Praha 5
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
#187 of 649 in Prague
1,567 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Ibis Praha Old Town
Ibis Praha Old Town
#158 of 649 in Prague
2,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Czech Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Czech Inn

Property: Czech Inn
Address: Francouzska 240/76, Prague 101 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Vinohrady & Vrsovice , Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 655 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Czech Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yes, you can afford to sleep in style and comfort! Czech Inn is a pioneer of modern design, hybrid hotel, hostel and apartment accommodation - truly offering something for everyone - and blending the comfort of a hotel and the social vibe of a hostel. The modern design and ultra-comfortable furnishings have created quite a stir in many publications such as The New York Times, The Guardian, The Washington Post, Hotel Design, Lonely Planet, Let's Go, Elle Magazine... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Czech Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Czech Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing